Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)


What is cultural heritage?

Sex Pistols
Cultural heritage? Hell No! The band Sex Pistols in the 1970s | Photo (detail): © picture-alliance/dpa

The Würzburg Residence and the Acropolis in Athens are considered cultural heritage, and have been recognized as such by UNESCO – a fairly undisputed decision. In England, however, scholars are currently debating whether Punk can also be considered a cultural heritage. A good occasion to get to the bottom of the question: What is cultural heritage?

By Nadine Berghausen

It will probably come as no surprise that the oldest surviving structures of the ancient world, like the Acropolis in Athens or the Pyramids of Giza in Egypt, are UNESCO world cultural heritage sites. But a completely different kind of cultural asset from the subculture par excellence, the provocative punk movement of the 1970s, is more likely to give some readers pause. Punk as cultural heritage, surly they’re having us on?

Yet British archaeologists are currently debating this very question: is the snotty, sometimes offensive graffiti Sex Pistols’ singer John Lydon doodled on the walls of number 6 Denmark Street in London in punk’s heyday cultural heritage or anti-cultural heritage, and is it worthy of protection?

Shrimp fishing with draft horses UNESCO has recognized the Belgian tradition of shrimp fishing with draft horses, here in the Channel in Flanders, as intangible cultural heritage of humanity | Photo (detail): A. Hartl © picture alliance / blickwinkel
We are currently in the midst of what seems like a cultural heritage boom. Along with the highly controversially award process for listing renowned cultural sites, the new UNESCO “digital heritage” and “intangible heritage” categories are the headline darlings of the feuilletons. The more curious, intangible cultural assets, such as shrimp fishing on horseback in Belgium, can be hot-button topics. But how is world heritage actually defined? What criteria have to be met for something to be listed as a protected site?  

The “World Cultural Heritage” title

According to UNESCO, testimony of past civilizations, artistic masterpieces and unique natural landscapes all meet the cultural heritage criteria if, “their destruction would represent an irreplaceable loss for all of humanity. Safeguarding them is not the sole responsibility of a single state; it is the responsibility of the international community.” Ten criteria were set out in the World Heritage Convention– among them artistic uniqueness, historical significance, and superlative natural phenomenon – and a potential candidate must fulfil at least one to be listed.  
 
The countries that have signed the World Heritage Convention can apply to UNESCO to have cultural assets recognized as World Heritage sites. By requesting this status, the state agrees to preserve the site or work of art for future generations. UNESCO’s objective is to globalize the conservation of culture and nature, and safeguard cultural diversity. Particular attention is paid to world heritage threatened by natural disasters, wars or decay. As such, UNESCO also employs cultural heritage status as cultural policy instrument.

While a national delegation submits the actual application, individuals, communities and organizations frequently initiate and support a bid for listed status. Applications undergo a standardized review process in which an international committee decides whether to award a “UNESCO World Cultural Heritage” title. UNESCO tries to maintain geographical and thematic balance as part of the process. Inclusion in the list of cultural heritage sites is a desirable honour that promises fame and an increase in tourism that advertising “World Cultural Heritage” status can bring.
 
Akropolis in Athen A World Cultural Heritage list mainstay: the Acropolis in Athens numbers among the most famous structures built by the ancient Greeks | Photo (detail): Kay Nietfeld © picture-alliance / dpa / dpaweb
It is important to distinguish between the UNESCO-authorized “World Cultural Heritage” label and sites citizens views and protect as cultural heritage because of their historical or memorial value, even if they aren’t on the UNESCO list. For the people of Freiburg, for example, Freiburg Cathedral a cultural heritage site worthy of preservation, even if the medieval church has not been officially recognized. And UNESCO is not the only standard-setting organization: many countries have a national body that defines cultural heritage and confers protective status on historical buildings and monuments, for example.

What doesn’t make the cut?

Things can get quite interesting when UNESCO rejects an application. The country and citizen’s initiatives behind the bid often respond with incredulity and outrage, and demand to know why their important site not good enough to be included on UNESCO’s long list.
 
Before making the grade in 2016, the work of Swiss-French architect Le Corbusier had to weather a few rejections and answer questions about the oeuvre’s universal significance. The serial nature of the proposal also proved problematic. The application addressed a coherent series of buildings and the experts on the UNESCO Committee feared that this might water down the tangible concept of a monument. But the Fondation Le Corbusier, which initiated the application, determinedly pursued an “all or nothing” strategy. The application-rejection cycle continued for a while, but doggedness won out in the end. The application by a select group of European spas towns labelled the “Great Spas of Europe” is a particularly complicated case. All these towns triggered a veritable boom in spa tourism in the 19th and 20th centuries, and include Baden-Baden, Bad Ems and Bad Kissingen (Germany), Baden (Austria), Montecatini Terme (Italy), Vichy (France), Spa (Belgium), Bath (Great Britain), and Františkovy Lázně, Mariánské Lázně and Karlovy Vary (Czech Republic). Here protected status would not affect an individual building, city, or landscape, but a group of component parts located in different countries. Transnational and serial applications present challenges because UNESCO requires coordinated management plans for serial nominations, and the sheer number of locations and countries involve can lead to delays and complications. The parties involved have worked on the application for a number of years and plan to submit it in 2019.

Cultural heritage: yes or hell no?

To circle back to the question posed at the outset: is punk cultural heritage? The British Ministry of Culture (Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport) has answered with a resounding ‘yes!’ by placing number 6 Denmark Street with its graffiti under Grade II listing status. The residents of Denmark Street and old punks would likely disagree with an equally resounding ‘hell no!’ Worried about mainstream appropriation and the punk movement mouldering away in the bowels of a museum, punk fans have threatened drastic countermeasures. In 2016, former punk and son of the Sex Pistols’ manager at the time Joe Corré torched punk memorabilia allegedly worth six million euros. As the flames took hold, he told onlookers: “Punk was never, never meant to be nostalgic!”

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)


Was ist Kulturerbe?

Sex Pistols
Kulturerbe? Hell No! Die Band Sex Pistols in den 1970er-Jahren | Foto (Ausschnitt): © picture-alliance / dpa

Die Würzburger Residenz und die Akropolis in Athen gelten als Kulturerbe, und wurden als solches von der UNESCO anerkannt – eine ziemlich unumstrittene Entscheidung. In England aber debattieren Wissenschaftler darüber, ob auch der Punk als Kulturerbe gelten kann. Ein guter Anlass, einmal der Frage auf den Grund zu gehen: Was ist eigentlich Kulturerbe? 

Von Nadine Berghausen

Dass bedeutende Bauwerke wie die Akropolis in Athen oder die Pyramiden von Gizeh in Ägypten von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt wurden, wird kaum jemanden verwundern. Doch stellen wir diesen renommierten Stätten mal eine ganz andere Art von Kulturgut gegenüber: zum Beispiel den provozierenden Punk der Siebzigerjahre, die Subkultur schlechthin. Hier mögen Kulturinteressierte leicht verdutzt innehalten: Punk? Kulturerbe?

Aber tatsächlich diskutieren britische Archäologen gerade darüber, ob es sich bei den rotzigen, teils anstößigen Graffitis des Sex-Pistols-Sängers John Lydon, die der Musiker in den Siebzigerjahren auf den Wänden eines Gebäudes in der Denmark Street, Hausnummer 6, in London hinterließ, um Kultur- oder Anti-Kulturerbe handle – und inwieweit dies schützenswert sei.
 

Krabbenfischen mit Kaltblutpferden Die belgische Tradition des Krabbenfischens mit Kaltblutpferden, wie hier am Ärmelkanal in Flandern, ist immaterielles Kulturerbe der UNESCO | Foto (Ausschnitt): A. Hartl © picture alliance / blickwinkel
Man könnte dieser Tage fast von einem Kulturerbe-Boom sprechen. So sind neben kontrovers diskutierten Vergabeverfahren um renommierte Kulturstätten auch die neuen Kategorien der UNESCO „digitales Erbe“ und „immaterielles Erbe“ ein ständiges Thema in den Feuilletons. Denn so manche kuriosen immateriellen Kulturgüter, wie das Krabbenfischen zu Pferd in Belgien, sorgen immer wieder für ordentlich Gesprächsstoff. Doch wie definiert sich eigentlich Weltkulturerbe? Welche Kriterien müssen erfüllt sein, um in die Liste der zu schützenden Stätten aufgenommen zu werden?

Das Prädikat „Weltkulturerbe“

Laut der UNESCO gehören Zeugnisse vergangener Kulturen, künstlerische Meisterwerke und einzigartige Naturlandschaften zum Kulturerbe, wenn „deren Untergang ein unersetzlicher Verlust für die gesamte Menschheit wären. Sie zu schützen obliegt nicht allein in der Verantwortung eines einzelnen Staates, sondern ist Aufgabe der Völkergemeinschaft.“ In der Welterbekonvention hat sie zehn Kriterien definiert – darunter unter anderem künstlerische Einzigartigkeit, geschichtliche Bedeutung oder überragende Naturerscheinung –, von denen mindestens eines erfüllt sein muss.
 
Staaten, die die Welterbekonventionen unterschrieben haben, können bei der UNESCO Anträge auf Anerkennung von Kulturgütern als Weltkulturerbe stellen. Wird dieses Prädikat zugesprochen, verpflichten sie sich damit zugleich, diese Orte und Kunstwerke für künftige Generationen zu bewahren. So will die UNESCO Kultur- und Naturschutz globalisieren und kulturelle Vielfalt schützen. Ein besonderes Augenmerk legt sie auf Welterbe, das durch Naturkatastrophen, Kriege oder Verfall gefährdet ist. In dieser Hinsicht ist Kulturerbe auch ein kulturpolitisches Instrument der UNESCO.

Die Anträge werden von Staaten eingereicht, oft sind es aber Einzelpersonen, Gemeinschaften oder Organisationen, die den Prozess anstoßen und unterstützen. Die Bewerbungen durchlaufen ein standardisiertes Prüfverfahren, bei dem ein internationales Komitee über die Vergabe des Prädikats „UNESCO Weltkulturerbe“ entscheidet. Dabei versucht die UNESCO, für eine geografische und thematische Ausgeglichenheit zu sorgen. Erstrebenswert ist die Aufnahme in die Kulturerbe-Liste allemal; sie verspricht Ruhm und Ehre, denn mit dem Prädikat „Weltkulturerbe“ kann geworben und der Tourismus gefördert werden.
 
Akropolis in Athen Darf in der Liste des Weltkulturerbes natürlich nicht fehlen: Die Akropolis in Athen gehört zu den bekanntesten Bauwerken des antiken Griechenlands | Foto (Ausschnitt): Kay Nietfeld © picture-alliance / dpa / dpaweb
Allerdings muss zwischen dem durch die UNESCO autorisierten Label „Weltkulturerbe“ und solchen Stätten unterschieden werden, die zwar nicht von der UNESCO gelistet sind, für viele Bürger aber dennoch wegen ihres historischen oder gedächtniskulturellen Werts als Kulturerbe verstanden und geschützt werden. So begreifen etwa die Menschen in Freiburg das Freiburger Münster als Kulturerbe, das es zu bewahren gilt – auch wenn es sich bei dem mittelalterlichen Kirchenbau nicht um offiziell anerkanntes Kulturerbe handelt. Unabhängig von den Standards der UNESCO gibt es zudem auf nationalstaatlicher Ebene Instanzen wie den Denkmalschutz, die ebenfalls Kulturerbe auszeichnen können.

Wer schafft es nicht?

Spannend wird es, wenn ein Antrag negativ beschieden wird. Eine Ablehnung seitens der UNESCO stößt bei den Bewerbern, die oft von Bürgerinitiativen unterstützt werden, nicht selten auf Unverständnis. Häufig wird empört die Frage gestellt: Warum sollte ausgerechnet unsere bedeutsame Stätte keinen Platz auf der langen Liste der UNESCO finden?
 
Beispielsweise musste das Gesamtwerk des schweizerisch-französischen Architekten Le Corbusier bis zu seiner Aufnahme im Jahr 2016 einige Ablehnungen hinnehmen, da die universale Bedeutung seines Werks in Frage gestellt wurde. Hier erwies sich unter anderem ein serieller Antrag als Problem: Der Antrag wurde für die kohärente Werkreihe gestellt und Experten des UNESCO-Komitees fürchteten, der handfeste Begriff des Denkmals könnte so verwässern. „Ganz oder gar nicht“ lautete jedoch die Devise der Fondation Le Corbusier, die die Bewerbung angestoßen hatte. Es folgten weitere Bewerbungen, weitere Ablehnungen, trotzdem wurde sich weiterhin beworben – letztendlich mit Erfolg. Eine besonders komplizierte Bewerbung stellt der Antrag verschiedener europäischer Kurorte dar, die sich als „Great Spas of Europe“ bezeichnen und im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert einen regelrechten Kur-Tourismus auslösten. Neben Baden-Baden sind dies die Kurorte Bad Ems, Bad Kissingen (Deutschland), Baden (Österreich), Montecatini (Italien), Vichy (Frankreich), Spa (Belgien), Bath (Großbritannien), Franzensbad, Marienbad und Karlsbad (Tschechien). In diesem Fall geht es nicht nur um ein einzelnes Bauwerk, eine Stadt oder eine Landschaft, sondern um eine Gruppe von Städten in verschiedenen Ländern. Eine solch transnationale und serielle Bewerbung stellt sich als schwierig dar, da die UNESCO für serielle Nominierungen abgestimmte Managementpläne verlangt – in Anbetracht der Anzahl unterschiedlicher Orte und Länder kann dies zu Verzögerungen und Komplikationen führen. Seit mehreren Jahren schon bereiten die Beteiligten die Bewerbung vor, die 2019 eingereicht werden soll.

Kulturerbe? Ja! Hell no!

Doch zurück zu der am Anfang gestellten Frage: Ist Punk Kulturerbe? Das britische Kultusministerium (Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport) bejaht dies eindeutig: Es setzte das Haus in der Denmark Street mitsamt der Graffitis national unter Denkmalschutz. Würde man aber die Bewohner der Denmark Street oder Alt-Punks dazu befragen, würde die Antwort wohl lauten: Hell no! Punk-Fans, die das Establishment und das Vergammeln der Punk-Bewegung im Museum fürchten, drohten mit drastischen Maßnahmen. Joe Corré, Ex-Punk und Sohn des damaligen Sex-Pistols-Managers, verbrannte 2016 Punk Memorabilia im Wert von angeblich sechs Millionen Euro. „Nie, nie sollte der Punk nostalgisch werden!“

Top