Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Knud Romer, Denmark
Roxy Music: Song for Europe

Knud Romer grew up in the dark Danish province during the Cold War. His only window to Europe: the radio. Between marching music, news and espionage codes, one song stood out for him and opened up a new perspective for him.

By Knud Romer

I grew up so far out in the country that it was in the water. I hardly knew where I was and what year it was. It was the darkest province. When the sun went down, you couldn't see the hand in front of your face, it was that dark on Falster.

My only connection to the outside world was via the thin wire coming from a small Phillips plastic transistor radio. I hid under the duvet at night and kept up with the short-wave and medium-wave and explored the cosmos, and stations emerged from the noise, Westdeutscher Rundfunk, ORF, Voice of America and ‘This is BBC World News’.

Foreign broadcasts were constantly slipping in, and Russian announcers and marching music alternated with German folk singers and American news and mixed into a sea of voices. They would drown each other - and I was on their trail, searching for something and not knowing what.
 



The creepiest was the woman’s voice which reeled off numbers – vacantly and monotonously – non-stop. ‘Achtung, Achtung’ she said and counted ‘1234567890’ – Eins, Zwei, Drei and so on – and there was Austrian folk music with yodelling, then it started all over again and continued.

I knew right away what it was, and it unsettled me. It was during the Cold War, and the numbers were codes with secret messages to spies. They were found everywhere on the short and medium-waves – German and English and Russian broadcasters – and there was a lone woman’s voice saying ‘Papa November, Papa November’, over and over again with a hectic snake charmer’s flute in the background – then she started to reel off in German, ‘406, 422, 438, 448, 462’ – and other stations were called Papa Zulu, Charlie November, Sierra Tango, Foxtrot Bravo.

The most chilling of them played some notes on a music box, Swedish Rhapsody. After a while, a girl’s voice began to say the numbers in a sweet, innocent German voice – and they became my nursery rhymes that I listened to on the radio and fell asleep to during the Cold War.

But one night there was an eruption in my ears on 208 kHz: Radio Luxemburg – and it was the most beautiful thing I had heard and impossible to resist. There was music and adverts and jingles and sound effects and people who called in from Amsterdam and Düsseldorf. The disc jockey – Rob Jones – spoke faster than you could follow, and smoothly and tunefully when he announced the next song.

I thought it couldn't be true, but it was. We wrote the year 1973 and I had escaped the province and the Cold War - and knew exactly where I was and what I wanted in life. I wanted to travel away and find myself in all the countries from my transistor radio that had been opened to me by the sounds of "Song for Europe" by Roxy Music:
 
Here as I sit
At this empty café
Thinking of you
I remember
All those moments
Lost in wonder
That we'll never
Find again
Though the world
Is my oyster
It's only a shell
Full of memories
And here by the Seine
Notre-Dame casts
A long lonely shadow

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Knud Romer, Dänemark
Roxy Music: Song for Europe

Knud RomerDK
Knud RomerDK | Foto: ©ThomasA.

Knud Romer wuchs während des Kalten Kriegs in der dänischen Provinz auf. Sein einziges Fenster nach Europa: das Radio. Zwischen Marschmusik, Nachrichten und Spionage-Codes stach für ihn ein Song besonders hervor und eröffnete ihm eine neue Perspektive.
 

Von Knud Romer

Ich bin so weit draußen auf dem Land aufgewachsen, dass es schon im Wasser lag. Ich wusste kaum, wo ich mich befand und welches Jahr wir hatten. Es war die finsterste Provinz. Wenn die Sonne unterging, sah man die Hand nicht mehr vor Augen, so dunkel war es auf Falster.

Meine einzige Verbindung mit der Außenwelt war der dünne Draht an einem kleinen Transistorradio aus Plastik, Marke Philips. Ich versteckte mich nachts unter der Bettdecke und lauschte auf Kurzwelle und Mittelwelle in den Weltraum, bis aus dem Rauschen eine Station auftauchte, Westdeutscher Rundfunk, ORF, Voice of America und „This is BBC World News“.

Ständig glitten fremde Signale herein, russische Sprecher und Marschmusik lösten sich mit deutschen Volksliedern und amerikanischen Nachrichten ab und mischten sich zu einem Meer aus Stimmen. Sie ertränkten sich gegenseitig – und ich war ihnen auf der Spur, suchte nach etwas und wusste nicht, was.
 


Am unheimlichsten war die Frauenstimme, die Zahlen aufzählte – leer und monoton – bis ins Unendliche. „Achtung, Achtung“, sagte sie auf Deutsch und dann „1234567890“ – und es gab österreichische Volksmusik mit Jodeln und dann begann es von vorn und ging weiter.

Ich wusste sofort, was das war, und es ließ mich schaudern. Es war Kalter Krieg, die Zahlen waren Codes mit heimlichen Mitteilungen für Spione. Das gab es überall auf Kurz- und Mittelwelle – deutsche, englische und russische Sender –, es war eine einsame Frauenstimme, die vor dem Hintergrund einer hektischen Schlangenbeschwörerflöte immer und immer wieder „Papa November, Papa November“ sagte. Dann begann sie auf Deutsch Zahlen herunterzuleiern: „406, 422, 438, 448, 462“. Andere Stationen hießen Papa Zulu, Charlie November, Sierra Tango, Foxtrot Bravo.

Am meisten Furcht flößte mir die Station ein, die einige Töne von einer Spieldose abspielte, Swedish Rhapsody. Nach einer Weile begann eine Mädchenstimme die Zahlen in süßem, unschuldigem Deutsch aufzusagen – das waren dann meine Kinderreime, die ich im Radio hörte, und ich fiel während des Kalten Kriegs in den Schlaf.

Eines Nachts brach auf 208 kHz etwas in meinen Ohren los: Radio Luxemburg – das war das Schönste, was ich je gehört hatte, ganz unwiderstehlich. Da gab es Musik und Reklamespots und Jingles und Klangeffekte und Leute, die aus Amsterdam und Düsseldorf anriefen. Der Diskjockey – Rob Jones – redete schneller, als man ihm folgen konnte, flüssig und melodisch, wenn er das nächste Stück ankündigte.

Ich dachte, das kann nicht wahr sein, war es aber. Wir schrieben das Jahr 1973 und ich war der Provinz und dem Kalten Krieg entkommen – und wusste genau, wo ich war und was ich im Leben wollte. Ich wollte fortreisen und mich selbst in all den Ländern aus dem Transistorradio wiederfinden, die sich mir zu den Klängen von „Song for Europe“ von Roxy Music eröffnet hatten:
 
Here as I sit
At this empty café
Thinking of you
I remember
All those moments
Lost in wonder
That we'll never
Find again
Though the world
Is my oyster
It's only a shell
Full of memories
And here by the Seine
Notre-Dame casts
A long lonely shado

Top