Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

André Wilkens, Germany
The Clash: Should I stay or should I go

For André Wilkens "Should I stay or should I go" is the soundtrack for Brexit. In his contribution to the European Songbook, the director of the European Cultural Foundation pleads above all for one thing: Let's stay friends.

By André Wilkens

Lately I've been listening to "The Clash" and their song “Should I stay or should I go” more often.
The song describes a relationship that has seen better days. They quarrel, get annoyed, some days are good, others are bad. He feels oppressed by her, has the feeling she wants to see him on his knees. She doesn't even like his clothes anymore, probably too eccentric. She used to be into them, or was it just an act? Does she even want to ditch him? He just doesn't know what to do. He calls her darling. Does she still love him? Does he still love her? Have they ever loved each other? If only she would tell him to stay, he would do it, even until the end of time, it says in the song. He knows, no matter what he decides, it will be difficult. If he leaves, there'll be trouble, and if he stays, probably more.
The Clash wrote the soundtrack for Brexit with "Should I stay or should I go".
 


On 23 June 2016, 52 percent of British citizens voted in a referendum to leave the EU. 48 percent of British citizens preferred to stay, especially the young, better educated, urbanites, the Scots and the Northern Irish. It was close, the proponents of “Go” fought hard, lied, stoked nationalism. An MP on the “Stay” side was mur-dered. Facts were discredited as unnecessary frills. After the referendum it became clear that the “Go” side had no plan whatsoever for the time afterwards. It was all about egos, time-worn nostalgia, anger and the pleasure of teaching those "up there" a lesson. Some of them probably also felt a hankering for "Anarchy in
2 the UK". This is why divorces usually occur, not through calm, rational calculation as to whether a separation
would be more practical or not. Separation and divorce are emotional. The 52 percent were more emotional.
The gut KO’d the brain.
Divorce hurts. On both sides. In this case, too. There's a lot to do after living together for 43 years, building
the house together, making rules, producing children. Unraveling it all will be hard work.
Let's get a decent divorce, as between adults, as far as possible. And damn it, let's stay friends.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

André Wilkens, Deutschland
The Clash: Should I stay or should I go

Für André Wilkens ist „Should I stay or should I go“ der Soundtrack für den Brexit. In seinem Beitrag plädiert der Direktor der European Cultural Foundation vor allem für eins: Lasst uns Freunde bleiben.
 

Von André Wilkens

In letzter Zeit habe ich wieder öfter „The Clash“ und ihren Song ‚Should I stay or should I go‘ gehört.
 
Der Song beschreibt eine Beziehung, die schon mal bessere Zeiten gesehen hat. Es wird gezankt, man nervt sich, mancher Tag ist gut, der nächste schlecht. Er fühlt sich von ihr unterdrückt, hat das Gefühl, dass sie ihn auf den Knien sehen will. Sogar seine Klamotten gefallen ihr nicht mehr, wahrscheinlich zu exzentrisch. Früher stand sie mal drauf, oder war das auch nur gespielt? Will sie ihn gar loswerden? Er weiß einfach nicht weiter. Er nennt sie Darling. Liebt sie ihn noch? Liebt er sie noch? Haben sie sich jemals geliebt? Wenn sie ihm nur sagen würde, dass er bleiben solle, er würde es tun, sogar bis ans Ende aller Zeit, heißt es im Lied. Er weiß, egal wie er sich entscheidet, es wird schwierig bleiben. Wenn er geht, wird es Ärger geben, und wenn er bleibt, wahrscheinlich noch mehr.
The Clash hat mit „Should I stay or should I go“ den Soundtrack für den Brexit geschrieben. 
 


 
Am 23. Juni 2016 haben 52 Prozent der Britten in einer Volksbefragung dafür gestimmt zu gehen, die EU zu verlassen. 48 Prozent der Britten wollten lieber bleiben, vor allem die jüngeren, die besser gebildeten, die Städter, die Schotten und die Nordiren. Es war eng, die Befürworter von ‚Go‘ haben mit harten Bandagen gekämpft, gelogen, Nationalismen angeheizt. Eine Abgeordnete der „Stay“-Seite wurde ermordet. Fakten wurden als unnötiger Firlefanz diskreditiert. Nach dem Referendum wurde klar, dass die Go-Seite überhaupt keinen Plan hat für die Zeit danach. Es ging um Egos, um verstaubte Nostalgie, um die Wut und den Spaß, es denen da oben mal zu zeigen. Bei manch einem hat wohl auch die Lust auf „Anarchy in the UK“ mitgespielt. So kommt es ja auch meist zu Scheidungen, und nicht indem man sich ruhig und rational vorrechnet, ob eine Trennung nun praktischer wäre oder nicht. Trennung und Scheidung sind emotional. Die 52 Prozent waren emotionaler. Der Bauch hat über den Kopf gewonnen.
 
Scheidung tun weh. Auf beiden Seiten. Auch in diesem Falle. Da gibt es viel zu regeln, nachdem man 43 Jahre zusammengelebt hat, gemeinsam am Haus gebaut hat, Regeln erstellt, Kinder gezeugt hat. Das alles auseinander zu fummeln, wird eine Fleißarbeit sein.
 
Lasst uns eine vernünftige Scheidung hinbekommen, wie unter Erwachsenen, so weit möglich. Und verdammt, lasst uns Freunde bleiben.
 

Top