Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Vladimir Arsenijević, Serbia
Roxy Music: A song for Europa

„A Song for Europe" already creates a very majestic atmosphere with its title, but many interpret a heavy melancholy in the song. For Vladimir Arsenijevic that is just a question of perspective.

It was in the tender age of 13 that I obtained the licensed Yugoslav edition of the Roxy Music Greatest Hits LP. The year was 1978 and I was a budding angry punk rocker, stuck in the hopelessly provincial Belgrade and yet thoroughly transformed by the Sex Pistols, hypnotized by The Stranglers and in love with The Clash. It is, I guess, easy to understand why the Roxy Music with their gender-neutral high camp looks and their intellectually charged avant-garde brand of glam rock did not exactly fit the expectations of this fierce teenage rebel in the making. But hey, the choice of available records in the socialist Yugoslavia was fairly limited. You had to make do with what was on offer and so stretching ones musical choice was in a way a must.

So here it was - Roxy Music Greatest Hits LP blasting from the turntable of my Traviata record player. All irony and experiment, weirdly angular guitars, screeching saxophone, those early bubbling and burping synth sounds flying seemingly from nowhere and on top of it all the singers voice lingering over this unusual musical concoction in a way that resembled emotional crooning of a chanson singer dead drunk on absinth, but with far less pathos and much more irony.

There was something distinctly European about Roxy Music and their, well, music. Particularly if by "European" we agree to understand "self-consciously artistic". And nowhere was this distinct continental intensity communicated in a better way then on the third song on the side B of this marvelous collection. Not least of all because of the sheer grandness of its title - A Song for Europe.

Rare are the songs, indeed, with such majestic atmosphere. So strong and so vulnerable simultaneously, A Song for Europe builds up to the climax in a way that I never heard before. It unmistakably gave me goosebumps every time I listened to it and I did listen to it on the daily basis.
 



It starts with a beautiful piano and a singer singing in low key about how he sits alone in an empty cafe by the river Seine thinking about a love that he lost. The story and the song develop quickly into a pure drama of the most wonderful saxophone solo my ears have ever heard and the singers voice that follows sounding as genuine and serious as possible, now with not a trace of irony lingering in the overtones. And when he lifts his voice an octave higher in a statement that there is "Now only sorrow, no tomorrow, there's no today for us, nothing is there, for us to share, but yesterday", it is clear that this particular "no tomorrow" that he is preaching here is equally dramatic and yet significantly different from the nihilistic "No future" prophecy of The Sex Pistols that I was enchanted with so much.

Sure, A Song for Europe can be interpreted as an anthem dedicated to the loss of the loved one. But it can also be interpreted in numerous different ways just as all great poetry can. My feeling and understanding what it is all about changed over the years but what was always undeniably there was this underlying divine melancholy for something that could have been but is sadly gone never to return again. All those moments, as the singer wails, lost in wonder that we'll never find again.

Forty years ago, back in 1978, Europe was a bipolar continent with a slight glitch somewhere in its southeastern side - the Socialist Federative Republic of Yugoslavia that was neither East nor West or it was either East or West or maybe it was both bloody things in the same time, depending on how and from which perspective you looked at it. The point is that this dichotomy proved to be unsustainable, that it failed to live up to its own expectations and the process of its disintegration (if only that word was not so cold and feelingless!) hurt much more than one could possibly imagine.

Nowadays we sadly fear that the same applies to the idea and the reality of Europe. So when I play A Song for Europe today, when we have no idea where we are and even less so where we are heading, I actually keep hearing a wholly different message. But I turn up the volume nevertheless, close my eyes and let the song fill me to the brim.

Tous ces moments, croons the singer in his somewhat ridiculous but grand French accent, perdus dans l`enchantement qui ne reviendront jamais...

Jamais jamais jamais jamais jamais! he goes on and on.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Vladimir Arsenijevic, Serbien
Roxy Music: A song for Europe

„A Song for Europe" schafft bereits mit seinem Titel eine sehr majestätische Atmosphäre. Viele deuten in dem Song aber eine schwere Melancholie. Für Vladimir Arsenijevic alles eine Frage der Perspektive. 

Im zarten Alter von 13 Jahren bekam ich die lizenzierte jugoslawische Platten-Ausgabe der Greatest Hits der Gruppe Roxy Music. Ich war ein vielversprechender böser Punk-Rocker, der im hoffnungslosen provinziellen Belgrad steckte und bereits von den Sex Pistols umgewandelt, von The Stranglers hypnotisiert und in The Clash verliebt war. Ich denke, es ist leicht zu verstehen, warum Roxy Music mit ihren geschlechtsneutralen High-Camp-Looks und ihrer intellektuell aufgeladenen Avantgarde-Marke des Glam-Rock nicht genau den Erwartungen dieses wilden Teenager-Rebellen entsprach. Aber die Auswahl der erhältlichen Platten im damals sozialistischen Jugoslawien war ziemlich begrenzt. Man musste sich mit dem begnügen, was angeboten wurde, und so war es in gewisser Weise ein Muss, die eigene Musikwahl flexibel zu halten.

Also kam sie hier – die Roxy Music-LP „Greatest Hits” dröhnte vom Plattenteller meines Traviata Schallplattenspielers. Alle Ironie und Experimente, seltsam schräge Gitarren, ein quietschendes Saxophon, diese frühen blubbernden und rülpsenden Synthiesounds, die aus dem Nichts fliegen, und über all dem die Stimme des Sängers, die über diesem ungewöhnlichen musikalischen Mischmasch auf eine Art nachklingt, als würde ein Chansonsänger im Vollrausch des Absinths schmachtend singen, aber mit weit weniger Pathos und viel mehr Ironie.


Es gab etwas deutlich Europäisches bei Roxy Music und in ihrer, nun ja, Musik. Besonders, wenn wir unter „europäisch“ „selbstbewusst künstlerisch“ verstehen können. Und nirgendwo kam diese ausgeprägte kontinentale Intensität besser zum Vorschein als beim dritten Song auf der Seite B dieser wunderbaren Sammlung. Nicht zuletzt wegen der schieren Großartigkeit des Titels – A Song for Europe. Songs mit dieser majestätischen Atmosphäre sind in der Tat selten. So stark und zugleich so verletzlich war A Song for Europe, dass er auf einem Höhepunkt gipfelte, wie ich ihn noch nie zuvor gehört hatte. Unverwechselbar bekam ich jedes Mal Gänsehaut, wenn ich es hörte und ich hörte es täglich.
 



Es fängt mit einem schönen Klaviersolo an und ein Sänger singt unaufdringlich davon, wie er allein in einem leeren Café an der Seine sitzt und an eine verlorene Liebe denkt. Die Geschichte und der Song entwickeln sich schnell zu einem dramatischen Saxophon-Solo, das Schönste, das meine Ohren je gehört haben, und die Sängerstimme, die ihm folgt, klingt so authentisch und ernst wie möglich, jetzt ganz ohne ironischen Beiklang. Und wenn er seine Stimme eine Oktave höher schwingt mit dem Statement „Now only sorrow, no tomorrow, there's no today for us, nothing is there, for us to share, but yesterday” (jetzt gibt es nur Kummer, kein Morgen, es gibt kein Heute für uns, nichts können wir mehr teilen, nur das Gestern), dann ist klar, dass besonders dieses „no tomorrow“ ebenso dramatisch wie deutlich gegensätzlich zu dem nihilistischen „no future“ der Sex Pistols ist, das mich so mitgerissen hatte.

Natürlich kann A Song for Europe als Hymne über den Verlust des geliebten Menschen interpretiert werden. Aber wie viele andere große Gedichte kann es auch auf verschiedene andere Arten interpretiert werden. Mein Gefühl und mein Verständnis, worum es dabei geht, haben sich im Laufe der Jahre verändert. Aber es war immer unbestreitbar, dass dieser göttlichen Melancholie etwas zugrunde liegt, das hätte sein können, aber leider nie wieder zurückkehren wird.

1978, vierzig Jahre zurück, war Europa ein bipolarer Kontinent mit einer unbedeutenden Störung irgendwo an seiner südöstlichen Seite – der Sozialistischen Föderativen Republik Jugoslawien, die weder Osten noch Westen war, oder es war entweder Ost oder West oder vielleicht waren es zwei verdammte Dinge gleichzeitig, je nachdem, wie und aus welcher Perspektive man es betrachtete. Der Punkt ist, dass diese Gegensätzlichkeit sich als nicht nachhaltig erwies, dass sie nicht ihren eigenen Erwartungen entsprach und der Prozess ihres Zerfalls (wenn nur dieses Wort nicht so kalt und gefühllos wäre!) mehr weh tat, als man es sich jemals vorstellen konnte.

Heutzutage befürchten wir leider, dass dasselbe für die europäische Idee und Realität gilt. Wenn ich also heute A Song for Europe abspiele, wenn wir keine Ahnung haben, wo wir sind und noch weniger, wohin wir gehen, höre ich eigentlich eine völlig andere Botschaft. Aber ich drehe die Lautstärke auf, schließe die Augen und lasse mich randvoll von dem Song erfüllen.

Tous ces moments, schmachtet der Sänger in seinem irgendwie seltsamen, aber großartigen französischen Akzent, perdus dans l`enchantement qui ne reviendront jamais...

Jamais jamais jamais jamais jamais! macht er weiter und weiter.
 

Top