Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Johan Gijsen, Niederlande
Jackson Browne – The Load-Out/Stay

To this day, this song gives me so much positive energy, says Johan Gijsen, when he thinks of the song "The Load-Out / Stay". A song about traveling and the freedom in Europe.

I first heard Jackson Browne’s The Load-Out/Stay as a teenager. Often it was the last song played at my local tavern, the TomTom, before closing time. I was one of the youngest regulars, and I always looked up to some of the elders there. Everyone was welcome at the TomTom, and it became a formative place for me, a second home. The owner, Frits, introduced me to some of my biggest musical inspirations.
 
First of all, ‘The Load-Out’ is just a gorgeous song. It starts off as a piano ballad, and very gradually, the music becomes more arranged and builds up more pace. Once Browne sings the line Now we got country and western on the bus // R&B, we got disco in eight tracks and cassettes in stereo the entire song just accelerates into this tremendous swing. That’s when the entire bar started rocking out.
 
The song is an ode to Jackson Browne’s crew: the people who haul the flight cases, connect the cables and hang the lights, who bust their tail make a rock show possible. They are the first to arrive at the venue, and the last ones to leave. And do the exact same thing at the next destination.
 


 
‘The Load-Out’ transitions seamlessly into ‘Stay’, a Maurice Williams cover, on which Browne’s lap steel player David Lindley takes over the lead vocal. Lyrically the song was tweaked a bit, as it was originally a love song. But it’s such an euphoric piece of music, and I can vividly recall that we swung our fists and beer bottles triumphantly in the air during this part, bellowing every word along. Singing ‘Stay’ before closing time instilled this sheer joy from within, a feeling that I still struggle to describe properly. I still get goosebumps just reminiscing about those nights.
 
To this day, the song gives me so much positive energy. When I left for Utrecht to become a live music programmer, I was confronted every day with the song’s theme. It helped me appreciate crew members in a different light. I always feel like the crew deserves a warm welcome too, not just the musicians. At Tivoli, if our own crew and the artist crew clicked, that would always make a show better. Thanks to the song, I’ve always been acutely aware of that.
 
That’s a huge reason why I’ve picked ‘The Load-Out/Stay’. With European Songbook, there’s a strong emphasis on traveling: in America, you travel from one state to another, and in  Europe from one country to another. So the song also stresses the importance of being able to go wherever we please in the world.
 
 
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Johan Gijsen, Niederlande
Jackson Browne – The Load-Out/Stay

Bis heute spendet mir dieser Song so viel positive Energie, sagt Johan Gijsen, wenn er an den Song „The Load-Out/Stay" denkt. Ein Lied über das Reisen und die Freiheit in Europa. 

Als Teenager hörte ich zum ersten Mal Jackson Brownes „The Load-Out/Stay“. Häufig war es der letzte Song, der im TomTom, meiner damaligen Stammkneipe, gespielt wurde, bevor sie schlossen. Ich war einer der jüngsten Stammgäste dort und sah immer zu einigen der Ältesten auf. Jeder war im TomTom willkommen, und so wurde dieser prägende Ort mein zweites Zuhause. Der Besitzer, Frits, machte mich mit einigen meiner größten musikalischen Inspirationen bekannt.

„The Load-Out“ ist zunächst einmal ein großartiger Song. Er beginnt als Piano-Ballade und nach und nach wird die Musik stärker arrangiert und bekommt mehr Tempo.
Sobald Browne singt: Nun haben wir Country und Western im Bus // R & B, wir haben Disco in acht Tracks und Kassetten in Stereo, bekommt der gesamte Song einfach diesen enormen Schwung. Dann fing bei uns die ganze Kneipe an zu rocken.

Der Song ist eine Ode an Jackson Brownes Tournee-Crew: Die Leute, die die Kisten schleppen, die Kabel verlegen und die Beleuchtung installieren, die sich krummlegen, um eine Rockshow möglich zu machen. Sie sind die ersten, die am Veranstaltungsort ankommen, und die letzten, die wieder gehen. Und bei der nächsten Bühne machen sie exakt die gleichen Dinge.
 


 
„The Load-Out" geht nahtlos in „Stay" über, ein Cover von Maurice Williams, auf dem David Lindley, Brownes Hawaii-Gitarrenspieler, den Lead-Gesang übernimmt. Textlich wurde das Lied etwas optimiert, da es ursprünglich ein Liebeslied war. Aber es ist so ein begeisterndes Stück Musik, und ich kann mich lebhaft daran erinnern, dass wir dazu unsere Fäuste und Bierflaschen triumphierend in die Luft schwangen und jedes Wort mitgrölten. Das Singen von „Stay" vor der Sperrstunde erzeugte dieses pure innere Glücksgefühl, das ich bis heute nur schwer beschreiben kann. Bei der Erinnerung an diese Nächte bekomme ich noch immer Gänsehaut.
 
Bis heute spendet mir dieser Song so viel positive Energie. Als ich nach Utrecht kam, um Livemusik-Programmierer zu werden, wurde ich jeden Tag mit dem Thema des Songs konfrontiert. Es half mir, die Crew-Mitglieder in einem anderen Licht zu sehen. Ich habe immer das Gefühl, dass auch die Crew ein herzliches Willkommen verdient, nicht nur die Musiker. Wenn in unserem Tivoli unsere eigene Crew und die Musiker-Crew sich auf Anhieb verstehen, verbessert es immer die Show. Dank des Songs bin ich mir dessen immer sehr bewusst gewesen.
 
Das ist ein Hauptgrund, warum ich „The Load-Out / Stay" gewählt habe. Beim European Songbook liegt der Schwerpunkt auf dem Reisen: In Amerika reist man von einem State in den nächsten und in Europa von einem Land in das Andere. Das Lied zeigt also auch, wie wichtig es ist, überall in der Welt hingehen zu können, wohin wir wollen.
 

Top