Publishers

Publishers © CC0 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0)

In 1967 Penguin’s founder started a hardback imprint under his own name, Allen Lane.

Allen Lane is now one of the leading publishers in the UK of bestselling serious non-fiction, covering a range of subjects including history, science, politics, economics, philosophy, psychology, language and current affairs.After initial publication in hardback, Allen Lane books appear as Penguin Press orange spine Paperbacks.

Publisher's Website
Alma Books was set up in October 2005 by Alessandro Gallenzi and Elisabetta Minervini, the founders of Hesperus Press.

Publishing from twenty to twenty-five titles a year, mainly in the field of contemporary literary fiction, Alma takes around half of its titles from English-language originals, while the rest are translations from other languages such as French, Spanish, Italian, German and Japanese. Alma also publishes two or three non-fiction titles each year. In 2013 Alma won Independent Publisher of the Year at the Bookseller Industry Awards.

Website des Verlags
It was the realisation that many exceptional foreign authors had not yet been published in English which led translator Stefan Tobler to found And other stories in 2010.

With support from the Arts Council and other private members, the publishing house strives to publish artful literature in translation. The choice of works to be translated is, in part, strongly influenced by members who can suggest their favourites at Book Clubs organised by the publisher. Juan Pablo Villalobos, Iosi Havilio, Deborah Levy and Clemens Meyer are amongst the authors having been published so far.

Publisher's Website
Andersen Press, based in London, was founded in 1976. Named after Hans Christian Andersen it specialises in literature for children and young adults.

Its programme for children includes well known characters such as Elmer the patchwork elephant by David McKee or the Little Princess by Tony Ross. The catalogue for young adults includes fiction by Hazel Townson, Henning Mankell and Beate Teresa Hanika.

Publisher's Website
Angel Classics is an imprint of Angel Books and was founded in London in 1982. Antony Wood, publisher, editor and translator of Russian and German works, devotes this publishing house exclusively to translations of literary fiction and poetry.

The main focal point has become the classical works of European authors who have often been neglected by larger publishing houses, with the result that they have been largely unknown to the English-speaking public. In future it’s planned to expand the list to include works by non-European writers. Due to the large amount of care and attention required to translate and produce each title, the books are published in correspondingly small quantities. The guiding principle of the publishing house is quality before quantity. Translations published by Angel Classics include works by authors such as Heinrich Heine, Adalbert Stifter and Fjodor Dostojewski. Recent publications include translations of titles by the north German author Theodor Fontane (On Tangled Paths and No Way Back).

Publisher's Website
Arcade was launched in 1988 and has published about 500 works by 300 authors from 34 different countries including literary giants such as Samuel Beckett, E. M. Cioran and Leo Tolstoy, but also new voices like Andreï Makine and Ismail Kadare. In 2012 the Chinese novelist Mo Yan, one of the authors Arcade publishes, was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.
Since 2010 Arcade has been an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing.

Publisher's Website
Ashgate is an academic book and journal publisher based in Surrey and was founden in 1967. Over the past 40 years, Ashgate has grown to become one of the world’s leading publishing houses. All books published within the Ashgate list are subject to peer review by recognized authorities in the field.

Ashgate publishes over 700 titles a year in Humanities and Social Science subject areas, has well-established reprint Reference series, and is the publisher of the highly regarded Variorum series. Over 75 per cent of titles are published simultaneously in print and e-book editions.

Publisher's Website
Atlantic Books is an independent British publishing house. It was founded by Toby Mundy in February 2000 and published its first book in May 2001.

It has since developed a list that has a world-wide reputation for quality, originality and breadth, and includes fiction, history, politics, memoir and current affairs. It won 'Imprint and Editor of the Year' at the British Books Awards in 2005 and 2009, and was 'Independent Publisher of the Year' in 2009.

Publisher's Website
 
Atlas Press is a relatively small London based publishing house which was founded in 1983. In spite or rather thanks to its size the publishing house is able to concentrate on its topics of choice: These include Surrealism, Dadaism, `Pataphysics, Expressionism and avant-garde works from 1890 to today.

By specialising in these themes the publisher caters for a niche audience which is often overlooked by bigger publishers. Since its foundation, it has published over 100 titles in various series that are available in select book stores and are gradually being offered for direct purchase via the internet.

Publisher's Website
Bitter Lemon Press is an independent publisher specialising in crime fiction. Founded in London in 2003, this enterprise quickly made a name for itself amongst afficionados by offering a diverse selection of crime fiction.

In addition to English language writers, Bitter Lemon Press publishes a wide variety of translated works, in particular from Europe and Latin America. For many of the prizewinning authors these translations have been the first to appear on the English language book market. These authors include Jörg Fauser (Germany), Alice Ferney (France) and Zygmunt Miloszewski (Poland).

Publisher's Website
Blank Slate is the leading publisher for comics and graphic novels in the UK and also publishes translated work from all over Europe. Among the publications are artists like Oliver East, Peggy Adam, Randall C. or Mawil, one of the most famous comic artists in Germany. The translation of Love looks away by Line Hoven has recently been published.

Publisher's Website
Bloomsbury Publishing was founded in 1986 by Nigel Newton on the principle of publishing books of the highest quality and bringing quality to the mass market.

The company is an independent, worldwide publishing house of fiction and non-fiction with its headquarters in the London Borough of Camden, and publishing offices in London, New York, Sydney, and Delhi. Its four divisions include Bloomsbury Academic and Professional, Bloomsbury Information, Bloomsbury Adult Publishing and Bloomsbury Children's Publishing. One of the publisher’s greatest successes was the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.

Publisher's Website
Brill is a long-standing, internationally active scientific publisher from the Netherlands with a branch in Boston, Massachusetts. It publishes around 100 academic magazines and 500 new titles a year.

Its main focus lies on the following topics: History of the Middle East and Egypt, Asian and Islamic studies, medieval and early modern history, religious science, classical antiquity, social science, art history, natural science and biology, human rights and common rights of humanity as well as international law.

Publisher's Website
Cambridge University Press claims to have been established in the year 1584, thus making it the oldest publishing house in the world.

Due to its close connection to the university it originally specialised in the fields of science and religion - two subjects in which it has made a respectable name for itself over the last centuries. During the last decades, the range on offer has been consistently broadened in response to permanently increasing demand especially in the field of scientific literature. It has also expanded logistically with over 50 offices worldwide.

Publisher's Website
Chicken House Publishing Ltd was founded in 2000 on the initiative of Barry Cunningham, the “discoverer” of Harry Potter, and his colleague Rachel Hickmann.

It specialises in literature for children and young adults and strives to promote emerging authors and illustrators. The publishing house rose to international fame by publishing works from German children´s book author Cornelia Funke. In 2005 Chicken House became part of the Scholastic publishing group.

Publisher's Website
Clerkenwell Press is an imprint of the publisher Profile Books. Profile was founded in 1996 to publish stimulating non-fiction in a wide range of fields, including history and current affairs, business and economics, science and biography, with a sprinkling of humour.

Publisher's Website
Professor Pádraig Ó Snodaigh founded the Irish book publishing company Coiscéim 30 years ago in 1980. To date Coiscéim have published over 1,000 books in the Irish language. There are novels, poetry books, history books, drama, translated works from German, French, Chinese, English, Italian, Urdu and many other language.

Other book titles include folklore, Books for children, teenagers, adults and love stories. Coiscéim is based in Irelands capital city - Baile Átha Cliath (Dublin)."Coiscéim does an extraordinary service in publishing these trilingual collections of the work of European poets". (Books Ireland, April 2012)

Publisher's Website
Comma Press is a non-profit publishing initiative dedicated to promoting new fiction and poetry, with emphasis on short stories -  it is currently the most prolific publisher of short story hardbacks in Great Britain.

Founded in 2002, Comma began by building on Ra Page's Manchester Stories series, published in conjunction with City Life magazine, with a series of short story booklets set in four cities across the North of England. This project has now developed into a series of book-length anthologies, starting with The Book of Leeds and The Book of Liverpool. In 2007 Comma launched a new translation imprint (again specialising in short stories) to introduce new masters of the form to British readers.

Publisher's Website
Bloomsbury Continuum is a distinctive non-fiction imprint tucked in happily under the Bloomsbury publishing umbrella. The publisher is benefiting from the enormous sales and marketing strengths of this large publishing house.

The imprint publishes adult non-fiction, covering areas such as history, politics, philosophy, religion, travel and biography. The aim is to publish serious books for the widest audience possible.

Several titles of authors such as Roger Scruton, Jonathan Sacks, Frank Furedi, Christopher Booker, Rowan Williams, Mark Bostridge, Desmond Tutu and Timothy Radcliffe were published by Continuum.

Publisher's Website
Corsair is the fiction imprint of Constable & Robinson, an independent publisher founded in 1795 which publishes a varied list of fiction and non-fiction titles as hardbacks, paperbacks and ebooks.

The non-fiction list includes current affairs, history and biography, psychology, self-help and illustrated titles while the fiction includes literary novels and a growing selection of genre fiction from Corsair and Canvas, with a smaller collection of young adult fiction from Much-in-Little.

Publisher's Website
Dalkey Archive Press was founded in 1984 in Chicago and today has offices in Illinois, Dublin and London. Starting out as a literary magazine, founded by Irish writer John O’Brian and committed to cover the writers who were being excluded in literary criticism.

Dalkey Press Archive had the aim of reprinting a few books that were perfect examples of the kind of fiction that the Review was championing. Among the first few books were Gilbert Sorrentino’s Splendide-Hôtel, Nicholas Mosley’s Impossible Object, and Douglas Woolf’s Wall to Wall.

Publisher's Website
Dedalus Press was founded in 1985 and publishes the best in contemporary poetry from Ireland and poetry in translation from around the world. Currently run by poet/editor Pat Boran, it has been called "one of the most outward-looking poetry presses in Ireland and the UK" by UNESCO.org.

And recent publications include work translated from the German, Greek, and Spanish, as well as a volume of poems by first and second generation immigrant poets now living in Ireland. Dedalus organises regular poetry readings and book launches in Dublin, publishes about 10 titles a year and is distributed in the US and UK and well as in Ireland.

Publisher's Website
Over the course of several decades, Drawn & Quarterly has grown from a single-issue magazine to an internationally renowned publisher of the world's best cartoonists. D+Q has published many North American luminaries of the medium including Adrian Tomine, Lynda Barry, Daniel Clowes, Chris Ware, Kate Beaton, Chester Brown, and Seth, as well as international authors including Tove Jansson (Finland); Guy Delisle (France); Tom Gauld (UK); Astrid Lindgren (Sweden); Yoshihiro Tatsumi (Japan); Rutu Modan (Israel); Shigeru Mizuki (Japan); and many more cartoonists from across the globe.

The company's dedication to high production values, editorial integrity, and artistic autonomy has led to it being described by Time as “the most elegant comics publisher in North America.” The company operates a storefront, Librairie D+Q, in the Mile End neighbourhood of Montreal, the very same neighbourhood where the company was founded in 1989 by Chris Oliveros.Drawn & Quarterly books are distributed by Farrar, Straus & Giroux in the United States, Raincoast Books in Canada, Publishers Group UK in the United Kingdom, and internationally by Macmillan.

Publisher's Website

Verlage

Verlage © CC0 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0)

1967 startete der Penguin-Gründer ein gebundenes Imprint unter seinem eigenen Namen, Allen Lane.

Heute ist Allen Lane der führende Verleger von erfolgreichen, seriösen Sachbüchern im Vereinigten Königreich und deckt vielfältige Themen wie Geschichte, Politik, Volkswirtschaft, Philosophie, Psychologie, Sprache und Zeitgeschehen ab.Nachdem zunächst nur gebundene Bücher publiziert wurden, erscheinen Allen Lane Bücher heute als Penguin Press ‚Orange Spine‘ Taschenbücher. 

Website des Verlags
Alma Books wurde im Oktober 2005 von Alessandro Gallenzi und Elisabetta Minervini, Gründer von Hesperus Press, gegründet.

Alma veröffentlicht im Jahr 20 bis 25 Titel, hauptsächlich im Bereich zeitgenössischer Belletristik. Rund die Hälfte der Veröffentlichungen sind englischsprachige Originale, die andere Hälfte sind Übersetzungen aus anderen Sprachen wie Französisch, Spanisch, Italienisch, Deutsch und Japanisch. Alma publiziert auch zwei oder drei sachliterarische Bücher pro Jahr. 2013 gewann Alma den Preis „Independent Publisher of the Year“ bei den Bookseller Industry Awards.

Publisher's Website
Die Erkenntnis, dass viele herausragende Autoren aus anderen Ländern nicht in englischer Übersetzung erscheinen, führte 2010 zur Gründung von And Other Stories durch den Übersetzer Stefan Tobler.

Mit der Unterstützung des Arts Council und privater Mitglieder verfolgt der Verlag das Ziel, insbesondere schöne Literatur in Übersetzung zu veröffentlichen. Die Auswahl der Titel wird zum Teil stark von den Mitgliedern beeinflusst, die durch vom Verlag organisierte Lesegruppen eigene Favouriten vorschlagen können. Zu den bisher veröffentlichten Autoren gehören unter anderem Juan Pablo Villalobos, Iosi Havilio, Deborah Levy und Clemens Meyer.

Website des Verlags
Der Verlag Andersen Press wurde 1976 in London gegründet. Gemäß seines Namensgebers Hans Christian Andersen spezialisiert er sich auf die Veröffentlichung von Kinder- und Jugendliteratur.

Das Verlagsprogramm für Kinder enthält bekannte Figuren wie zum Beispiel den Elefanten Elmar von David McKee oder Die Kleine Prinzessin von Tony Ross. Das Angebot für Jugendliche umfasst Romane unter anderem von Hazel Townson, Henning Mankell und Beate Teresa Hanika.

Website des Verlags
Angel Classics, ein Imprint von Angel Books, wurde 1982 in London gegründet. Antony Wood, Verleger und selbst Herausgeber und Übersetzer von Schriften aus dem Russischen und Deutschen, widmet diesen Verlag ausschließlich Übersetzungen von Belletristik und Gedichten.

Schwerpunkt bilden hierbei klassische Werke europäischer Autoren, die oftmals von großen Verlagen unberücksichtigt bleiben und somit dem englischsprachigen Publikum weitgehend unbekannt sind. Die Liste der übersetzten Literatur wird in Zukunft mit nicht-europäischen Schriftstellern ergänzt werden. Aufgrund der großen Sorgfalt, die auf die Übersetzung und Herstellung jedes Titels verwendet wird, erscheinen die Werke in verhältnismäßig kleiner Auflage. Leitgebendes Motto der Verlages ist: Qualität vor Quantität. Zum ausgewählten Verlagsprogramm gehören Autoren wie zum Beispiel Heinrich Heine, Adalbert Stifter und Fjodor Dostojewski. Zuletzt erschienen sind Übersetzungen des norddeutschen Schriftstellers Theodor Fontane (On Tangled Paths und No Way Back).

Website des Verlags
Arcade wurde 1988 gegründet und hat mittlerweile 300 Autoren aus 34 Ländern und 500 Titel verlegt, neben Hochkaräter wie Samuel Beckett, E. M. Cioran und Leo Tolstoy, auch neue Autoren wie Andreï Makine und Ismail Kadare. 2012 durfte der Verlag die Auszeichnung des chinesischen Romanautoren Mo Yan mit dem Literaturnobelpreis feiern.
Seit 2010 ist Arcade ein Imprint von Skyhorse Publishing.

Website des Verlags
In den vergangenen 40 Jahren hat sich Ashgate zu einem der führenden Verlagshäuser der Welt entwickelt. Alle veröffentlichten Bücher werden von anerkannten Autoritäten des Fachs begutachtet.

Ashgate publiziert über 700 Titel im Jahr in den Geisteswissenschaften und Sozialwissenschaften, unterhält eine fest etablierte Referenz-Serie, und ist der Verleger der hoch angesehenen Variorum-Serie. Über 75 Prozent der Titel werden sowohl als Druckausgabe, als auch als eBook veröffentlicht.

Website des Verlags
Atlantic Books ist ein unabhängiges britisches Verlagshaus. Es wurde im Februar 2000 von Toby Mundy gegründet und veröffentlichte das erste Buch im Mai 2001.

Seitdem hat es eine Publikationsliste erarbeitet, welche eine weltweite Reputation für Qualität, Originalität und Tiefe erworben hat, und Belletristik, Geschichte, Politik, Memoiren und Zeitgeschehen beinhaltet. Der Verlag wurde bei den British Books Awards 2005 und 2009 mit ‚Imprint und Verleger des Jahres‘ ausgezeichnet, und war 2009 ‚Unabhängiger Verlag des Jahres‘.

Website des Verlags
 
Atlas Press ist ein relative kleiner Verlag, der 1983 in London gegründet wurde.
Trotz oder gerade aufgrund seiner Größe kann sich der Verlag auf die von ihm gewählten Thematiken konzentrieren: u. a. Surrealismus, Dadaismus, `Pataphysik, Expressionismus und Schriften der Avantgarde von 1890 bis zur Gegenwart.

Durch die Spezialisierung auf diese Themen deckt der Verlag eine Nische ab, die von größeren Verlagshäusern oft nicht berücksichtigt wird. Seit der Gründung sind über 100 Titel in mehreren Serien veröffentlicht worden, die man in ausgewählten Buchläden und immer mehr über den Verlag selbst bzw. das Internet beziehen kann.

Website des Verlags
Bitter Lemon Press ist ein unabhängiger Verlag, der sich auf Kriminalliteratur spezialisiert. Gegründet 2003 in London, hat er sich durch sein breit gefächertes Angebot in Fachkreisen schnell profiliert.

Neben englischsprachigen Autoren bietet das Programm eine große Auswahl an Übersetzungsliteratur insbes. aus Europa und Lateinamerika. Für viele der preisgekrönten Autoren ist es die erste Übersetzung ihres Werkes auf dem englischen Buchmarkt. Zu ihnen gehören unter anderem Jörg Fauser (Deutschland), Alice Ferney (Frankreich) und Zygmunt Miloszewski (Polen).

Website des Verlags
Blank Slate ist der führende Verlag in Großbritannien für Comics und Graphic Novels, und führt auch europäische Vertreter dieses Genres im Programm. Das Angebot umfasst unter anderem Comics von Künstlern wie Oliver East, Peggy Adam, Randall C. oder auch Mawil, einem der erfolgreichsten Comic-Künstler aus Deutschland. Die Übersetzung von Line Hovens Graphic Novel "Liebe schaut weg" ist kürzlich bei Blank Slate erschienen.

Website des Verlags
Bloomsbury Publishing wurde 1986 von Nigel Newton mit der Idee gegründet, qualitativ hochwertige Bücher für eine breite Öffentlichkeit zu veröffentlichen.

Das Unternehmen ist ein unabhängiger, weltweit operierender Verlag für Belletristik und Sachliteratur mit seiner Hauptgeschäftsstelle in London Borough of Camden und Verlagshäusern in London, New York, Sydney und Delhi. Der Verlag unterteilt sich in vier Bereiche: Bloomsbury Academic and Professional, Bloomsbury Information, Bloomsbury Adult Publishing und Bloomsbury Children's Publishing. Einer der größten Erfolge des Verlagshauses war die Harry Potter-Reihe von J.K. Rowling.

Website des Verlags
Brill ist ein traditionsreicher, international tätiger Wissenschaftsverlag in den Niederlanden und einer Niederlassung in Boston, Massachusetts (USA). Jährlich werden über 100 akademische Zeitschriften und rund 500 neue Titel publiziert.

Themenschwerpunkte des Verlags sind Geschichte des Mittleren Ostens und Ägyptens, Asiatische und Islamische Studien, Geschichte des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit, Religionswissenschaften, Klassisches Altertum, Sozialwissenschaften, Kunstgeschichte, Naturwissenschaft und Biologie, Menschenrechte und Humanitätsrecht und Internationales Recht/Völkerrecht.

Website des Verlags
Nach Angaben dieses Verlages erschien die erste Publikation im Jahre 1584, weshalb sich Cambridge University Press als ältester Verlag der Welt versteht.

Durch die Anbindung an die Universität spezialisierte er sich zunächst auf die Bereiche Wissenschaft und Religion - Themen, für die sich der Verlag über die Jahrhunderte einen respektablen Namen gemacht hat. Im Laufe der Jahrzehnte wurde das Verlagsprogramm stetig erweitert, um der steigenden Nachfrage insbesondere nach wissenschaftlicher Literatur nachzukommen. Auch logistisch weitete CUP seinen Einflussbereich aus und unterhält heutzutage über 50 Büros weltweit.

Website des Verlags
Der Verlag Chicken House entstand im Jahr 2000 durch die Initiative von Barry Cunningham, dem "Entdecker" von Harry Potter, und Rachel Hickmann.

Er spezialisiert sich auf Kinder- und Jugendliteratur und ist bestrebt, kreative neue Autoren und Illustratoren zu fördern. Durch die Veröffentlichung der deutschen Kinderbuchautorin Cornelia Funke erlangte der Verlag internationale Bekanntheit. 2005 wurde Chicken House in die Verlagsgruppe Scholastic eingegliedert.

Website des Verlags
Clerkenwell Press ist ein Imprint des Verlages Profile Books. Profile Books wurde 1996 gegründet um anregende Sachliteratur eines breiten Fachspektrums zu veröffentlichen, darunter Geschichte und Zeitgeschehen, Handel und Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Biographie, sowie einige wenige Titel aus dem Bereich Humor.

Website des Verlags
Der irische Verlag Coiscéim wurde 1980 von Professor Pádraig Ó Snodaigh gegründet. Bis heute hat er über 1000 Bücher in der irischen Sprache veröffentlicht. Das Verlagsprogramm umfasst Belletristik, Lyrik, Geschichtsbücher, Drama, sowie Folklore und Kinder- und Jugendbücher.

Zu Werken aus anderen Sprachen zählen Übersetzungen aus dem Deutschen, Französischen, Chinesischen, Englischen, Italienischen und aus der Urdu-Sprache. Coiscéim ist in Irlands Hauptstadt Baile Átha Cliath (Dublin) angesiedelt."Coiscéim does an extraordinary service in publishing these trilingual collections of the work of European poets". (Books Ireland, April 2012)

Website des Verlags
Comma Press ist eine gemeinnützige Verlags-Initiative, die neue Belletristik und Dichtung fördert und dabei einen Schwerpunkt auf Kurzgeschichten legt. Comma Press hat sich als Herausgeber von Kurzgeschichten als Hardcoverausgaben in Großbritannien einen Namen gemacht.

2002 gegründet, hat Comma Press damit begonnen, die Kurzgeschichten-Serie Ra Page’s Manchester Stories aufzubauen, die in Verbindung mit dem City Life-Magazin in vier Städten im Norden Englands herausgegeben wurde. Dieses Projekt hat sich nun in buchlange Anthologien weiterentwickelt, angefangen mit The Book of Leeds und The Book of Liverpool. 2007 hat Comma Press ein neues Imprint für Übersetzungen (ebenfalls spezialisiert auf Kurzgeschichten) eingeführt, um den britischen Lesern neue Meister dieser Form näherzubringen.

Website des Verlags
Bloomsbury Continuum ist ein Verlag für Sachliteratur und ist ein Tochterunternehmen von Bloomsbury Publishing. Der Verlag profitiert enorm von den Verkaufs- und Marketingstrategien von diesem großen Verlagshaus.

Der Verlag publiziert Bücher über Sachliteratur, Geschichte, Politik, Philosophie, Religion, Reisen und Biographien. Das Ziel dabei ist seriöse Bücher für eine große Leserschaft zu publizieren.

Werke der Autoren Roger Scruton, Jonathan Sacks, Frank Furedi, Christopher Booker, Rowan Williams, Mark Bostridge, Desmond Tutu and Timothy Radcliffe wurden bereits von dem Verlag veröffentlicht.

Website des Verlags
Corsair ist das Imprint für Belletristik von Constable & Robinson, einem unabhängigen Verlag, der 1795 gegründet wurde und welcher eine abwechslungsreiche Liste an belletristischen und nicht-belletristischen Titeln im Hardcover, Taschenbuch oder ebook-Format veröffentlicht.

Die nicht-belletristische Liste beinhaltet Zeitgeschehen, Geschichte und Biographie, Psychologie, Selbsthilfe und illustrierte Titel, während die Belletristik Romane und eine wachsende Sammlung von Genre-Fiktion von Corsair und Canvas enthält, mit einer kleineren Sammlung von Jugendliteratur von Much-in-Little.

Website des Verlags
Dalkey Archive Press wurde 1984 in Chicago gegründet und hat heute Niederlassungen in Illinois, Dublin und London. John O’Brian startete den Verlag als Literaturmagazin, das sich der Auseinandersetzung mit Autorinnen und Autoren verschrieb, die von der Literaturkritik vernachlässigt wurden.

Dalkey Archive Press hatte das Ziel, einige Bücher neu aufzulegen, die der Art von Literatur entsprachen, die das Magazin behandelte. Unter den ersten Büchern waren Splendide-Hôtel von Gilbert Sorrentino, Impossible Object von Nicholas Mosley und Wall to Wall von Douglas Woolf.

Website des Verlags
Dedalus Press wurde 1985 gegründet. Der Focus des Verlags liegt auf anspruchsvoller zeitgenössischer Lyrik aus Irland sowie Übersetzungen von Lyrik aus aller Welt. Unter der derzeitigen Leitung des irischen Lyrikers Pat Boran hat die UNESCO den Verlag als eines der weltoffensten Lyrikhäuser in Irland und Großbritannien bezeichnet.

Zu den Veröffentlichungen der neueren Zeit gehören Werke, die aus dem Deutschen, Griechischen und Spanischen übersetzt wurden, sowie eine Ausgabe mit Lyrik von eingewanderten Autoren, die in der ersten und zweiten Generation in Irland leben. Dedalus Press veranstaltet regelmäßig Lyriklesungen und Buchvorstellungen in Dublin und veröffentlicht etwa 10 Titel pro Jahr. Seine Bücher werden in den USA, in Großbritannien und in Irland vertrieben.

Website des Verlags
Drawn & Quarterly, ein kanadischer Verlag mit Sitz in Montreal, entwickelte sich innerhalb weniger Jahrzehnte zu einem international renommierten Verlag für Comics. So haben die Stars der nordamerikanischen Comicszene bei D+Q veröffentlicht, darunter Adrian Tomine, Lynda Barry, Daniel Clowes, Chris Ware, Kate Beaton, Chester Brown und Seth, aber auch internationale Autoren wie etwas Tove Jansson (Finnland), Guy Delisle (Frankreich), Tom Gauld (Großbritannien), Astrid Lindgren (Schweden), Yoshihiro Tatsumi (Japan), Rutu Modan (Israel), Shigeru Mizuki (Japan) und viele andere.

Hohe Qualitätsansprüche an Produktion und Lektorat, sowie das Zulassen von künstlerischen Freiheiten haben dazu geführt, dass die Time D+Q als „den elegantesten Comicverlag Nordamerikas“ beschrieben hat. Der Verlag betreibt mit Librairie D+Q ein Geschäft im Montrealer Stadtteil Mile End und damit in der Gegend, wo 1989 das Unternehmen durch Chris Oliveros gegründet wurde. Die Bücher von Drawn & Quarterly werden in den USA von Farrar, Straus & Giroux vertrieben, von Raincoast Books in Kanada, in Großbritannien von der Publishers Group UK und international von Macmillan.

Website des Verlags