Susan Bernofsky

Susan Bernofsky © Susan Bernofsky Beginning her studies in 1984, Susan Bernofsky attended several universities in Germany, Switzerland and America, where in 1998 she gained a PhD in Comparative Literature. Having worked as a lecturer at various universities in America she currently teaches literary translation in the MFA Writing Program of the Columbia University School of the Arts, where she serves as Director of Literary Translation at Columbia. She is a 2014 Guggenheim Fellow.

In addition to her teaching work she publishes her own research material and works as a literary translator. Her particular interest lies in the relation between German thought in the 18th and 19th Century and contemporary German language literature. Amongst her numerous awards she has two honours from the PEN Translation Fund Award (2005, 2007) as well as the Helen and Kurt Wolff Translation Prize (2006). She lives in New York, but refers to Berlin as her second home.
 

Three questions to Susan Bernofsky

Why did you choose to become a translator? Is it the profession you always wanted?

I began trying to translate literature as a teenager because I was learning to write fiction and happened to be studying German. The combination seemed to open up all sorts of interesting opportunities for experimentation, especially because I was so excited by the literature I was reading in German. I never intended to become a professional translator, it's just something I wound up always doing a bit of on the side because I enjoyed the challenges of translating and the way it made me see the English language from the outside.
 
Which German book do you like the best and why?

There are so many books I love that it's hard to pick just one, but I must admit that I have a deep and irrational love of Uwe Johnson's novel Jahrestage (Anniversaries), which is set in New York City in 1967/68. I've read it twice, which is really saying something when you consider that it's 1900 pages long (in German anyhow - the English translation is much abridged). It moves me deeply every time I pick it up to read a page or two at random. I love the narrator Gesine Cresspahl and really identify with all the difficulties she goes through as a twofold cultural transplant (from East to West, from German to English). I love how Johnson sees and describes the world, his prose style, and the way he weaves together the strands of his narrative. Gesine is afraid that her daughter Marie will grow up to be just an American, so she is constantly telling her German stories: about her childhood in East Germany and her father's childhood under National Socialism. These stories are interspersed with accounts of Gesine's own adventures and clippings from the New York Times: the Vietnam War, the assassinations of Robert F. Kennedy and Martin Luther King, Jr. Uwe Johnson shares my birthday and died far too young, in 1984. If he were alive today, he would be only 76 years old.
Is there a particular book you would like to translate?

I would love to translate Franz Hessel's 1913 novel Der Kramladen des Glücks, a childhood story that is also a sort of love poem to Berlin. Hessel is an undeservedly forgotten writer who was known as a feuilletonist and intersected with both Walter Benjamin and Robert Walser.

  • Yoko Tawada: Memoirs of a Polar Bear. New York: New Directions and London Portobello, 2016
  • Robert Walser: Looking at Pictures: New York: Christine Burgin/New Directions, 2015
  • Jenny Erpenbeck:The End of Days. New York: New Directions and London: Portobello, 2014
  • Franz Kafk:The Metamorphosis; Norton Critical Edition. New York: Norton, 2015
  • Paul Scheerbart: Perpetual Motion; in Glass! Love! Perpetual Motion! New York: Christine Burgin/Chicago UP, 2014
  • Emanuel Schikaneder: The Magic Flute. Opera Theatre of St. Louis, 2014
  • Franz Kafka:The Metamorphosis, Introduction by David Cronenberg. New York: Norton,2014
  • Jeremias Gotthelf: The black Spider. New York: New York Review Books Classics, 2013
  • Robert Walser: The walker, translated by Christopher Middletonwith Susan Bernofsky. New York: New Directions, June 2012
  • Robert Walser: Berlin Stories. New York Review Books Classics, Frühjahr 2012
  • Jenny Erpenbeck: Visitation (Heimsuchung). New Directions (NY); Portobello (London), September 2010
  • Yoko Tawada: The Naked Eye (Das Nackte Auge). New Directions, 2009
  • Jenny Erpenbeck: The Book of Words (Wörterbuch). New Directions (NY); Portobello (London), 2007
  • Hermann Hesse: Siddhartha. Foreword by Tom Robbins. Modern Library, 2006

Susan Bernofsky

Susan Bernofsky © Susan Bernofsky Susan Bernofsky studierte seit 1984 an mehreren Universitäten in Deutschland, der Schweiz und in Amerika, wo sie 1998 mit einem Doktor in vergleichender Literaturwissenschaft abschloss. Nachdem sie als Dozentin an verschiedenen amerikanischen Universitäten gearbeitet hat, unterrichtet sie derzeit Literarische Übersetzung im MFA Writing Programme an der Columbia University School of Arts, an der sie (auch) als Direktor für Literarische Übersetzungen tätig ist.

Neben ihrer Lehrtätigkeit veröffentlicht sie eigenes Forschungsmaterial und ist als literarische Übersetzerin tätig. Ihr besonderes Interesse liegt in der Beziehung zwischen deutschem Gedankengut des 18. und 19. Jahrhundert und zeitgenössischer deutschsprachiger Literatur.

Zu ihren zahlreichen Auszeichnungen gehören zwei Ehrungen durch den PEN Translation Fund Award (2005, 2007) sowie der Helen and Kurt Wolff Translation Prize (2006). Sie lebt in New York, bezeichnet aber Berlin als ihre zweite Heimat.
 

Drei Fragen an Susan Bernofsky

War Übersetzer Ihr Traumberuf? Warum sind Sie Übersetzerin geworden?

Ich begann schon als Teenager Literatur zu übersetzen, da ich gerade lernte, Schöne Literatur zu schreiben und zudem Deutsch studierte. Diese Kombination eröffnete mir eine Vielzahl an interessanten Möglichkeiten zum Experimentieren, besonders deshalb, weil ich so fasziniert war von der deutschen Literatur, die ich zu diesem Zeitpunkt las. Ich hatte nie vor, eine professionelle Übersetzerin zu werden. Es ist einfach etwas, das ich nebenher mache, weil mich die Herausforderung des Übersetzens reizt und es mir den Blick auf die englische Sprache von außen eröffnet.
 
Welches ist Ihr deutsches Lieblingsbuch und warum?

Es gibt so viele Bücher, die ich liebe, dass es mir schwer fällt, nur ein Einzelnes auszusuchen. Dabei muss ich allerdings zugeben, dass ich eine tiefe und unerklärliche Zuneigung zu dem Roman Jahrestage von Uwe Johnson hege, dessen Handlung im New York City in den Jahren 1967/68 spielt. Ich habe es schon zweimal gelesen, und das will schon was heissen, angesichts der Tatsache, dass es 1900 Seiten umfasst (zumindest im Deutschen – die englische Version ist stark verkürzt). Es rührt mich jedes Mal, selbst wenn ich nur ein oder zwei zufällige Seiten daraus lese. Ich bewundere die Erzählerin Gesine Cresspahl und kann mich vollkommen mit all ihren Schwierigkeiten identifizieren, die ihr als doppelt-kulturelles Transplantat begegnen (vom Osten nach Westen, vom Deutschen zum Englischen). Ich liebe es, wie Johnson die Welt sieht und beschreibt, seinen Erzählstil und die Art und Weise, wie er die einzelnen Handlungsstränge miteinander verwebt. Gesine befürchtet, dass ihre Tochter Marie ohne jeglichen Bezug zur Herkunft ihrer Mutter heranwächst. Daher erzählt sie ihr viele Geschichten aus ihrer Vergangenheit: über ihre Kindheit in Ostdeutschland und das Leben ihres Vaters im Nationalsozialismus. Vermischt werden die Geschichten mit Gesines eigenen Abenteuern sowie Zeitungsberichten aus der New York Times: dem Vietnam-Krieg, der Ermordung Robert F. Kennedys und Martin Luther King Jr.
Uwe Johnson hat am selben Tag Geburtstag wie ich, starb aber leider viel zu jung 1984. Dieses Jahr wäre er 76 Jahre alt geworden.
Gibt es ein Buch, das Sie unbedingt übersetzen wollen?

Ich würde gerne den Roman Der Kramladen des Glücks von Franz Hessel übersetzen. Er ist 1913 erschienen und erzählt die Geschichte einer Kindheit, ist aber gleichzeitig auch eine Liebeserklärung an Berlin. Hessel ist ein leider in Vergessenheit geratener Schriftsteller, der als Verfasser von Feuilletons bekannt war und sowohl mit Walter Benjamin als auch Robert Walser zusammenarbeitete.

  • Yoko Tawada: Memoirs of a Polar Bear. New York: New Directions and London Portobello, 2016
  • Robert Walser: Looking at Pictures: New York: Christine Burgin/New Directions, 2015
  • Jenny Erpenbeck:The End of Days. New York: New Directions and London: Portobello, 2014
  • Franz Kafk:The Metamorphosis; Norton Critical Edition. New York: Norton, 2015
  • Paul Scheerbart: Perpetual Motion; in Glass! Love! Perpetual Motion! New York: Christine Burgin/Chicago UP, 2014
  • Emanuel Schikaneder: The Magic Flute. Opera Theatre of St. Louis, 2014
  • Franz Kafka:The Metamorphosis, Introduction by David Cronenberg. New York: Norton,2014
  • Jeremias Gotthelf: The black Spider. New York: New York Review Books Classics, 2013
  • Robert Walser: The walker, translated by Christopher Middletonwith Susan Bernofsky. New York: New Directions, June 2012
  • Robert Walser: Berlin Stories. New York Review Books Classics, Frühjahr 2012
  • Jenny Erpenbeck: Visitation (Heimsuchung). New Directions (NY); Portobello (London), September 2010
  • Yoko Tawada: The Naked Eye (Das Nackte Auge). New Directions, 2009
  • Jenny Erpenbeck: The Book of Words (Wörterbuch). New Directions (NY); Portobello (London), 2007
  • Hermann Hesse: Siddhartha. Foreword by Tom Robbins. Modern Library, 2006