Peter James Bowman

Peter James Bowman © Peter James Bowman Peter James Bowman was born in 1971 and studied both at Oxford and Cambridge, where he wrote his doctoral thesis about the German 19th Century writer, Theodor Fontane. In addition to teaching duties at Cambridge University, he wrote and had published a large number of journal articles on Fontane. Since 2002 Bowman has worked on his own research projects such as his recently published work The Fortune Hunter, about the Prussian landscape architect Hermann von Pückler-Muskau. His first published translation from German into English was On Tangled Paths, a translation of Fontane’s Irrungen, Wirrungen. P J Bowman lives in Ely, Cambridgeshire.



 

Three questions to Peter James Bowman

Why did you choose to become a translator? Is it the profession you always wanted?

I completed a PhD on Theodor Fontane in 2000, and so when Antony Wood of Angel Books was looking to commission translations of two of Fontane's novels I was introduced to him as a potential translator of one of them. We eventually decided that I should tackle 'Irrungen, Wirrungen'.
 
Which German book do you like the best and why?

My favourite German novel is Fontane's 'Der Stechlin'. It is his last novel and in a way a literary testament, with the author's philosophy expressed and exemplified by various characters. It is also, I think, the most perfect specimen of the famous 'Fontane tone'.
Is there a particular book you would like to translate?

'Der Stechlin'! There is already an English translation of it, but to my mind it doesn't quite do justice to the original.

Selection of translated titles

  • Theodor Fontane: On Tangled Paths (Irrungen, Wirrungen). Angel Classics, 2010
  • Stefan Zweig: A Game of Chess and Other Stories (Richmond, Surrey: Alma, 2016)
  • Johanna Spyri: Heidi: Lessons at Home and Abroad (Richmond, Surrey: Alma; October 2017)

Peter James Bowman

Peter James Bowman © Peter James Bowman Peter James Bowman wurde 1971 geboren und studierte sowohl in Oxford als auch in Cambridge, wo er sein Studium mit einer Doktorarbeit zu Theodor Fontane abschloss. Neben einer Lehrtätigkeit an der Universität Cambridge veröffentlichte er zahlreiche Artikel und übersetzte aus dem Französischen. Seit 2002 arbeitet Peter James Bowman an eigenen Forschungsprojekten, wie seinem 2010 erschienen Werk über den preußischen Landschaftsarchitekten Hermann von Pückler-Muskau, The Fortune Hunter. Sein Debüt als Übersetzer aus dem Deutschen machte er mit Fontanes Werk On Tangled Paths. Er lebt in Ely, Cambridgeshire.



 

Drei Fragen an Peter James Bowman

War Übersetzer Ihr Traumberuf? Warum sind Sie Übersetzer geworden?

Ich beendete mein Doktorat mit einer Arbeit über Theodor Fontane im Jahr 2000. Als Antony Wood von Angel Books die Übersetzung von zwei Fontane-Titeln plante, wurde ich ihm als ein möglicher Übersetzer für eines dieser Werke vorgestellt. Wir entschlossen uns schließlich, dass ich mich an der Novelle „Irrungen, Wirrungen“ versuche.
 
Was ist Ihr deutsches Lieblingsbuch und warum?

Mein Lieblingsroman ist Fontanes „Der Stechlin“. Es ist sein letzter Roman und in seinesgleichen ein literarisches Testament, da er die Lebensphilosophie des Autors in seinen Charakteren wiederspiegelt. Meiner Ansicht nach ist es außerdem ein perfektes Beispiel für den typischen „Fontane-Ton“, der seine Werke so unnachahmlich macht.
Gibt es ein bestimmtes Buch, das Sie gerne übersetzen wollen?

„Der Stechlin“! Es gibt bereits eine englische Übersetzung des Buches, doch für meinen Geschmack wird sie dem Original nicht ausreichend gerecht.

Auswahl an übersetzten Titeln

  • Theodor Fontane: On Tangled Paths (Irrungen, Wirrungen). Angel Classics, 2010
  • Stefan Zweig: A Game of Chess and Other Stories (Richmond, Surrey: Alma, 2016)
  • Johanna Spyri: Heidi: Lessons at Home and Abroad (Richmond, Surrey: Alma; October 2017)