Jane Dewhurst

Jane Dewhurst © Jane Dewhurst Born in Preston, Lancashire in 1975, Jane Dewhurst studied Translation (English<->German, English<->French) in Cambridge and Berlin as well as Comparative Literature with a focus on the German language of the Middle-Ages. She worked in Germany and taught German in France during her studies.

She later worked as a translator for various German publishing houses where she was responsible for editing English material. Since 2002, she has also been working as a lecturer for Applied Languages, Translation and Cultural Studies at various universities in Germany and Switzerland. Alongside work on her own publications in the area of Linguistics, Jane Dewhurst works as a translator for specialised literature.

 

Three questions to Jane Dewhurst

Why did you chose to become a translator? Is it the profession you always wanted?

Not, not really. I was aiming for a job in the field of German Studies in England, while taking a keen interest in translation on the side. But it was only after I had changed my mind about my profession (I interrupted my PhD, moved to Germany and later Switzerland to work as an English lecturer) that translation became a possible side job.
Which German book do you like the best and why?

As a student I especially liked plays by Georg Büchner and Heinrich von Kleist. I am currently reading Sommerhaus, später by Judith Hermann with great delight. I can’t think of anything else!
Is there a particular book you would like to translate?

I would like to try my hand at translating children’s books such as Janosch or Die Karlchen-Geschichten by Rotraut Susanne Berner. The language used in children’s books is often surprisingly complicated. It contains a lot of dialogue, outdated expressions and omissions which have to be filled using one’s imagination. It is often extremely difficult to translate them idiomatically, as I realise every time I attempt to spontaneously translate German books for my son.

Selection of translated titles

  • Klaus Bergdolt: Wellbeing. A cultural history of healthy living (Leib und Seele). Polity Press, 2008
  • Ansgar und Vera Nünning: An introduction to the study of English and American literature (Grundkurs Literaturwissenschaft). Klett Sprachen, 2004

Jane Dewhurst

Jane Dewhurst © Jane Dewhurst Geboren 1975 in Preston (England), Jane Dewhurst studierte in Cambridge und Berlin Übersetzen (Englisch<->Deutsch, Englisch<->Französisch) sowie Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaften mit besonderem Interesse an der deutschen Sprache des Mittelalters. Schon während des Studiums arbeitete sie in Deutschland und Frankreich als Deutschlehrerin. 

Weitere Tätigkeiten als Übersetzerin führte sie zu verschiedenen deutschen Verlagen, wo sie unter anderem als Redakteurin für die englischsprachigen Inhalte verantwortlich war.  Seit 2002 arbeitet sie außerdem als Lektorin für Sprachpraxis, Übersetzung und Landeskunde an verschiedenen Universitäten in Deutschland und in der Schweiz.  Neben der Arbeit an eigenen Veröffentlichungen im Bereich der Sprachwissenschaften ist Jane Dewhurst als Übersetzerin von Fachliteratur tätig.
 

Drei Fragen an Jane Dewhurst

War Übersetzer Ihr Traumberuf? Warum sind Sie Übersetzer geworden?

Nein, nicht wirklich. Ich habe einen Beruf in der Germanistik in England angestrebt, habe mich aber auch nebenher für die Übersetzung interessiert. Nur nach einer beruflichen Umorientierung (Abbruch meines Promotionsstudiengangs, neue Tätigkeit als Lektorin für Englisch, damit auch Auswanderung nach Deutschland und danach, in die Schweiz) hat sich die Übersetzung als nebenberufliche Tätigkeit angeboten.
Welches ist Ihr deutsches Lieblingsbuch und warum?

Ich habe als Student für die Theaterstücke von Georg Büchner und Heinrich von Kleist geschwärmt. Ich lese momentan Sommerhaus, später von Judith Hermann mit grosser Begeisterung. Mir fällt aber sonst nichts ein!
Gibt es ein Buch, das Sie unbedingt übersetzen wollen?

Ich würde gerne versuchen, Kinderliteratur zu übersetzen, z.B. von Janosch, oder die Karlchen-Geschichten von Rotraut Susanne Berner. In Kinderbücher findet man häufig eine überraschend schwierige Sprache: viel Dialog, aber auch häufig viele veraltete Formulierungen oder Lücken, die man mit der Fantasie ausfüllen soll. Sie idiomatisch zu übersetzen ist manchmal recht schwer, wie ich immer feststellen muss, wenn ich versuche, deutschsprachige Bücher spontan für meinen Sohn zu übersetzen.

Auswahl an übersetzten Titeln

  • Klaus Bergdolt: Wellbeing. A cultural history of healthy living (Leib und Seele). Polity Press, 2008
  • Ansgar und Vera Nünning: An introduction to the study of English and American literature (Grundkurs Literaturwissenschaft). Klett Sprachen, 2004