Katy Derbyshire

Katy Derbyshire © Katy Derbyshire Katy Derbyshire was born in London in 1973. After studying German at Birmingham University, she continued her education at the University of London and attained a Diploma in Translation there in 2001. In 1996 she moved to Berlin where she worked in various jobs including teaching English to children, until taking maternity leave in 2001. Since 2002 she has worked as a freelance translator of German into English and in 2008 she founded a blog called love german books.






 

Three questions to Katy Derbyshire

Why did you chose to become a translator? Is it the profession you always wanted?

I studied German literature and it's a marvellous way to bring readers and books together. Initially it was a pragmatic choice - I'm based in Berlin and there isn't much you can do with a British degree here. But as I got more interesting clients and jobs and started branching out into literary translation, I began really enjoying the challenge.
Which German book do you like the best and why?

It's hard to choose a single one, but at a pinch I'd have to say it's Selim Özdogan's Die Tochter des Schmieds. It's a simple story of a family in rural Turkey, in which the daughter moves to Germany as a "guest worker" at the end. It's beautifully written, full of affection and very inspiring, and it carefully evades many of the stereotypes people have about Turkish women. The writer and I have become friends and I've translated some of his work for catalogues, online projects, etc.
Is there a particular book you would like to translate?

It would have to be the one above.

Katy Derbyshire

Katy Derbyshire © Katy Derbyshire Katy Derbyshire wurde 1973 in London geboren. Nach dem Studium der Germanistik an der Universität in Birmingham setzte sie ihre Ausbildung an der Universität in London fort und schloss dort 2001 als Diplom-Übersetzerin ab. 1996 zog sie nach Berlin, wo sie bis zu ihrem Mutterschutz 2001 u. a. als Englischlehrerin für Kinder arbeitete. Seit 2002 ist sie als freiberufliche Übersetzerin vom Deutschen ins Englische tätig und moderiert den 2008 gegründeten Blog love german books.





 

Drei Fragen an Katy Derbyshire

War Übersetzer Ihr Traumberuf? Warum sind Sie Übersetzer geworden?

Ich habe deutsche Literatur studiert, was eine ausgezeichnete Möglichkeit ist, Leser und Bücher zusammen zu bringen. Anfangs war es eine rein praktische Entscheidung – ich lebe in Berlin und es ist sehr schwierig, hier mit einem britischen Abschluss Arbeit zu finden. Doch als ich mehr und mehr interessante Aufträge erhielte und meinen Arbeitsbereich durch Literaturübersetzungen erweiterte, begannen mich die neuen Herausforderungen zu reizen.
Welches ist Ihr deutsches Lieblingsbuch und warum?

Es ist nicht einfach, sich ein einzelnes Buch auszuwählen. Doch spontan würde ich mich für Selim Özdogans Die Tochter des Schmieds entscheiden. Die Geschichte handelt von einer türkischen Familie vom Lande, deren Tochter schießlich als Gastarbeiterin nach Deutschland zieht. Es ist sehr schön geschrieben, voller Warmherzigkeit und sehr inspirierend. Zudem vermeidet es viele der Klischees, die Menschen über türkische Frauen haben. Der Schriftsteller und ich sind Freunde geworden, und ich habe einige seiner Arbeiten für Kataloge, Internetprojekte etc. übersetzt.
Gibt es ein Buch, das Sie unbedingt übersetzen wollen?

Es käme nur das oben beschriebene Buch in Frage.