Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp

Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp

Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp © C. Pleasant Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp is a British literary translator who translates from German, Russian and Arabic into English. She has an MA from Oxford University, an MA in Translation and Interpreting from Bath University and a Postgraduate Diploma in Translation in all three of her language combinations.
 
She has translated novels by Hanna Winter, Yulia Yakovleva, Fadi Zaghmout and Kathrin Rohmann, and non-fiction books on nature, history, politics, civil rights, child psychology, linguistics, art history and literary criticism.
 
She is the translator of the Goethe Institut-funded non-fiction title, Farewell to the Horse: The Final Century of Our Relationship by Ulrich Raulff (Allen Lane), which was BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week in May 2017 and Sunday Times History Book of the Year 2017. Her translation of Apple Cake and Baklava, Kathrin Rohmann’s middle grade novel about a Syrian girl settling into school in Germany, was also awarded Goethe-Institut funding.
 
Ruth is the co-translator with Nashwa Gowanlock of The Crossing: My Journey to the Shattered Heart of Syria by Samar Yazbek (Rider Books), which The Times Literary Supplement described as ‘beautifully translated… with virtuosic prose’.  She has also translated plays from Russia, Syria and Lebanon, and several short stories and children’s books.

THREE QUESTIONS TO RUTH AHMEDZAI KEMP

Why did you choose to become a translator? Is it the profession you always wanted?

I think I knew I wanted to be a translator even before I’d taken my GCSEs! Initially I imagined myself at the UN or the EU – inspired by school exchange trips to Strasbourg – but I realised during my Masters that I actually had the wrong language combination, and that with my love of books I was much more suited to literary translation, although I had no idea at that stage how I could make a career of it.
 
Which German book do you like the best and why?
 
So many German novels have left an impression on me over the years: Drei Kameraden by Erich Maria Remarque, everything by Günter Grass (particularly Katz und Maus), Ingeborg Bachmann’s Malina, Heinrich Böll’s Das Brot der frühen Jahre… I can’t imagine choosing a favourite!
 
Is there a particular book you would like to translate?
 
I have a very long wish list! I would especially love to finish a fascinating novel which I started translating as part of the New Books in German Emerging Translators scheme: Die undankbare Fremde (The Thankless Stranger) by Irena Brežná, a Slovak-Swiss writer and journalist. It’s a lovely novel about emigrating from Czechoslovakia to Switzerland, about culture shock and homesickness, about identity and rebellion. It also has a strand about public service interpreting, a topic close to my heart!
Besides fiction, I would dearly love to translate more popular history, travel and nature writing. One book I read last year which I’d love to translate is Dirk Liesemer’s Lexikon der Phantominseln (Lexicon of Phantom Islands). And I adored Ewald Frie’s Geschichte der Welt (History of the World) – the most expansive and objective global history I’ve come across, written with superb clarity and conciseness; it makes a refreshing departure from European perspectives. Another important historical text I’d love to translate is Lager (Camp) by Angela Rohr (1890-1985) – a memoir of her experiences as a prisoner and a doctor in the Soviet Gulag

  • Peter Wohlleben, The Forest Manual (Rider Books, 2019)
  • Peter Wohlleben, The Weather Detective: Rediscovering Nature’s Secret Signs (Rider Books, 2018)
  • Kathrin Rohmann, Apple Cake and Baklava (Darf Publishing, 2018) 
  • Thomas Bärnthaler, Now Make This! (co-translation with Jessica West, Phaidon,  2017) 
  • Ulrich Raulff, Farewell to the Horse: The Final Century of Our Relationship (Allen Lane, 2017) 
  • Hanna Winter, Sacrifice (Manilla, 2016)

Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp

Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp

Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp © C. Pleasant Die britische Übersetzerin Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp überträgt literarische Texte aus dem Deutschen, Russischen und Arabischen ins Englische.  Sie hat einen Masters Abschluss der Universität Oxford, einen Masters in Übersetzen und Dolmetschen von der Universität Bath und ein Postgraduierten-Diplom in Übersetzung für alle ihrer drei Sprachkombinationen.
 
Ruth hat Romane von Hanna Winter, Yulia Yakovleva, Fadi Zaghmout und Kathrin Rohmann übersetzt, sowie Sachbücher zu Natur, Geschichte, Politik, Bürgerrechten, Kinderpsychologie, Linguistik, Kunstgeschichte und Literaturwissenschaft.
 
Ihre Übersetzung des Sachbuches Das letzte Jahrhundert der Pferde von Ulrich Raulff (Allen Lane Verlag) erhielt Förderung vom Goethe-Institut. Das Buch wurde im Mai 2017 zum BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week sowie zum Sunday Times History Book of the Year 2017 gekürt. Ebenfalls vom Goethe-Institut gefördert wurde Ruths Übersetzung von Kathrin Rohmanns Kinderbuch Apfelkuchen und Baklava, das von der Eingewöhnung eines syrischen Mädchens an einer deutschen Schule handelt.
 
Gemeinsam mit Nashwa Gowanlock übersetzte Ruth The Crossing: My Journey to the Shattered Heart of Syria von Samar Yazbek (Rider Books). The Times Literary Supplement schrieb darüber, es sei ‘wunderschön übersetzt… ein virtuoser Erzählstil’. Ruth hat auch Theaterstücke aus Russland, Syrien und dem Libanon, sowie mehrere Kurzgeschichten und Kinderbücher übersetzt.

Drei Fragen an Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp

Warum sind Sie Übersetzerin geworden? War das schon immer Ihr Berufswunsch?

Ich glaube, ich wusste schon vor meiner GCSE Prüfung (also im Alter von etwa 16 Jahren, Anm.d.Ü), dass ich Übersetzerin werden wollte. Anfangs sah ich mich im Geiste bei der UN oder der EU – dazu hatte mich der Schüleraustausch nach Straßburg verleitet -  aber als ich meinen Masters machte, wurde mir klar, dass meine Sprachenkombination nicht geeignet war und meine Liebe zur Literatur mich eigentlich zur Literaturübersetzerin prädestinierte. Ich wusste nur noch nicht, wie sich daraus ein Beruf machen lässt.
 
Welches ist Ihr deutsches Lieblingsbuch und warum?

Es gibt so viele deutsche Bücher, die mich über die Jahre hinweg tief beeindruckt haben: Drei Kameraden von Erich Maria Remarque, alles von Günter Grass (besonders Katz und Maus), Ingeborg Bachmanns Malina, Heinrich Bölls Das Brot der frühen Jahre… es ist völlig unmöglich, nur ein Lieblingsbuch zu nennen!
 
Gibt es ein Buch, das Sie gerne übersetzen würden?

Eine lange Liste! Besonders gerne würde ich die Übersetzungsarbeit an dem fesselnden Roman Die undankbare Fremde von Irena Brežná abschließen. Begonnen hatte ich damit unter dem New Books in German Emerging Translators Programm. Die slowakisch-schweizerische Schriftstellerin und Journalistin schreibt in diesem wunderbaren Roman über die Emigration aus der Tschechischen Republik in die Schweiz, über Kulturschock und Heimweh, über Identität und Rebellion. Ein Handlungsstrang befasst sich auch mit dem Dolmetschen im öffentlichen Dienst, ein Thema, das mir sehr am Herzen liegt!

Außer Belletristik würde ich aber gerne auch mehr Schriften zu Geschichte, Reisen und Natur übersetzen. Ein Buch, das ich letztes Jahr gelesen habe und liebend gerne übersetzen würde, ist Dirk Liesemers Lexikon der Phantominseln. Und ich bewundere Ewald Fries Geschichte der Welt: eine so ausführliche und objektive Weltgeschichte hatte ich bis dato noch nicht gelesen, dabei bietet sie auch eine willkommene Abweichung von europäischen Perspektiven. Und das Buch ist außerordentlich klar und präzise geschrieben. Ein weiterer geschichtlicher Text, den ich gerne übersetzen würde ist  Lager von Angela Rohr (1890-1985), eine Erinnerung an ihre Erlebnisse als Gefangene und Ärztin in einem sowjetischen Gulag

  • Peter Wohlleben, The Forest Manual (Rider Books, 2019)
  • Peter Wohlleben, The Weather Detective: Rediscovering Nature’s Secret Signs (Rider Books, 2018)
  • Kathrin Rohmann, Apple Cake and Baklava (Darf Publishing, 2018) 
  • Thomas Bärnthaler, Now Make This! (co-translation with Jessica West, Phaidon,  2017) 
  • Ulrich Raulff, Farewell to the Horse: The Final Century of Our Relationship (Allen Lane, 2017) 
  • Hanna Winter, Sacrifice (Manilla, 2016)