Lyn Marven

Lyn Marven studied German at Oxford University where she went on to gain a doctorate and to teach for three years. Her research-related travels took her to various cities including Berlin and Manchester. Since 2007 she has taught at the University of Liverpool where she has focused on contemporary literature, especially authors from the former GDR and other Eastern Block countries, gender roles, and the body image in literature. Her current research project deals with the image of Berlin from a variety of viewpoints. In addition to her teaching activities she publishes her research and translates contemporary German literature into English.


 

Three questions to Lyn Marven

Why did you choose to become a translator? Is it the profession you always wanted?

I became a translator because I've been involved in German literature for years as a University Lecturer, and want to bring the interesting books I've studied to a wider English-speaking public. For me translation represents a different approach to literature – and also it's fun!
Which German book do you like the best and why?

My favorite German book is Irmtraud Morgner's Leben und Abenteuer der Trobadora Beatriz nach Zeugnisen ihrer Spielfrau Laura ('The Life and Adventures of Trobadora Beatrice as Chronicled by Her Minstrel Laura') (1974). I read it first when I was 20 and it completely won me over to German literature! Comical, imaginative, historical, literary, erotic, utopian, 'a bible for feminists' – the book has everything…
Is there a particular book you would like to translate?

Well, where should I start!? Trobadora Beatriz has already been translated (by Jeanette Clausen), but the other books by Morgner haven't yet been translated… otherwise my dream projects would be Annett Gröschner's Moskauer Eis (2000) and Ulrike Draesner's Mitgift (2002). I wish I could write like that!

Selection of translated titles

  • Larissa Boehning: Swallow Summer (Schwalbensommer). Comma Press, 2016
  • Helen Constantine: Berlin Tales. Oxford University Press, 2009
  • Maike Wetzel: Long Days (Lange Tage). Comma Press, 2008
  • Larissa Boehning: Something for Nothing (Zaungäste) in Decapolis (S. 101-118). Comma Press, 2006

Lyn Marven

Lyn Marven studierte Germanistik an der Universität Oxford, wo sie nach dem Erreichen der Doktorwürde drei Jahre unterrichtete. Ihre Forschungen führten sie dabei unter anderem nach Berlin und Manchester. Seit 2007 lehrt sie an der Universität Liverpool, wo sie sich vor allem mit den Themen Gegenwartsliteratur, insbesondere Autoren aus der ehemaligen DDR bzw. des Ostblocks, Geschlechterrollen und das Körperbild in der Literatur auseinandersetzt. In ihrem aktuellen Forschungsprojekt untersucht sie das Bild der Stadt Berlin aus unterschiedlichen Gesichtspunkten. Neben ihrer Lehrtätigkeit veröffentlicht sie eigene Forschungsergebnisse und übersetzt deutsche Gegenwartsliteratur ins Englische.


 

Drei Fragen an Lyn Marven

War Übersetzer Ihr Traumberuf? Warum sind Sie Übersetzer geworden?

Ich bin Übersetzerin geworden, weil ich mich als University Lecturer seit Jahren mit der deutschen Literatur beschäftige und die interessanten Bücher, die ich wissenschaftlich untersuche, an ein breiteres, englischsprachiges Publikum bringen will. Übersetzung ist also für mich eine andere Art von Auseinandersetzung mit der Literatur. Ausserdem macht das Übersetzen Spass!
Welches ist Ihr deutsches Lieblingsbuch und warum?

Mein deutsches Lieblingsbuch ist Irmtraud Morgners Leben und Abenteuer der Trobadora Beatriz nach Zeugnissen ihrer Spielfrau Laura (1974) – ich habe es zum ersten Mal mit 20 Jahren gelesen, und es hat mich damals für die deutsche Literatur gewonnen! Komisch, phantastisch, historisch, literarisch, erotisch, utopisch, ‘eine Bibel für Feministen’ – das Buch hat alles…
Gibt es ein Buch, das Sie unbedingt übersetzen wollen?

Tja, wo soll ich denn anfangen? Trobadora Beatriz ist schon übersetzt worden (von Jeanette Clausen), die anderen Bücher von Morgner aber noch nicht… ansonsten wären meine Lieblingsprojekte Annett Gröschners Moskauer Eis (2000) und Ulrike Draesners Mitgift (2002) – ich wünschte, ich könnte so schreiben wie sie!

Auswahl an übersetzten Titeln

  • Larissa Boehning: Swallow Summer (Schwalbensommer). Comma Press, 2016
  • Helen Constantine: Berlin Tales. Oxford University Press, 2009
  • Maike Wetzel: Long Days (Lange Tage). Comma Press, 2008
  • Larissa Boehning: Something for Nothing (Zaungäste) in Decapolis (S. 101-118). Comma Press, 2006