Fiona Rintoul

Fiona Rintoul © Fiona Rintoul Fiona Rintoul was born in Glasgow and studied French and German at the University of St Andrews. She began writing and translating fiction after completing an MLitt in creative writing at the University of Glasgow in 2008.

Prior to that she worked as a magazine editor in London, translating financial and art texts as part of her job. She has a particular interest in East Germany. Her first novel, The Leipzig Affair, which was shortlisted for the Saltire first book of the year award and broadcast on BBC R4’s Book at Bedtime, is set in the former GDR.




 

Three questions to Fiona Rintoul

Why did you choose to become a translator? Is it the profession you always wanted?

During the last few years I have translated some German poetry. Then I had the chance to translate Zweig’s "Erziehung vor Verdun". It was a difficult book to start with but also very satisfying, since the book was so great.
Which German book do you like the best and why?

My favourite German book from my time at university is Der Schimmelreiter by Theodor Storm. I can’t say exactly why. I really liked the atmosphere of this novel and the landscape Storm describes. Recently I very much enjoyed In Zeiten des abnehmenden Lichts by Eugen Ruge and Heimsuchung by Jenny Erpenbeck. Both these novels deal with the German past in different ways and both do it very successfully in my view.
Is there a particular book you would like to translate?

I would have liked to translate In Zeiten des abnehmenden Lichts, but that has already been done really well. As I loved Erziehung vor Verdun I would like to translate Junge Frau von 1914, which belongs to the same cycle of novels. But I would also love to translate a new novel by a contemporary author.

Selection of translated titles

  • Arnold Zweig: Outside Verdun (Erziehung vor Verdun). Freight Books, 2014
  • Gutter Magazine, Spring 2011. (Übersetzung der Gedichte  Gangart zwei: Richtung Schöhauser Allee von Johannes Jansen und Die Würfel sind gefallen von Gabriele Stötzer)

Fiona Rintoul

Fiona Rintoul © Fiona Rintoul Fiona Rintoul ist in Glasgow geboren und studierte Französisch und Deutsch an der Universität von St Andrews. Sie begann das Übersetzten von Belletristik, nachdem sie einen MLitt in Kreativen Schreiben an der Universität von Glasgow abgeschlossen hatte. 

Zusätzlich hat sie für Magazine in London gearbeitet, wo sie hauptsächlich Finanz- und Kunsttexte übersetzte. Sie hat besonderes Interesse an dem Thema 'Ost Deutschland'. Ihr erster Roman ,'Die Leipzig Affaire', welches für den Saltire first book of the year award nominiert war und auf BBC R4's Book at Bedtime vorgestellt wurde, spielt in der ehemaligen DDR.


 

Drei Fragen an Fiona Rintoul

War Übersetzer Ihr Traumberuf? Warum sind Sie Übersetzer geworden?

In den letzten paar Jahren habe ich ein bisschen deutsche Lyrik übersetzt. Dann hatte ich die Möglichkeit Zweigs "Erziehung vor Verdun" zu übersetzen. Das war ein schwerer Anfang aber auch sehr zufriedenstellend, weil das Buch so toll ist.
Welches ist Ihr deutsches Lieblingsbuch und warum?

Mein deutsches Lieblingsbuch aus der Studienzeit ist Der Schimmelreiter von Theodor Storm. Ich kann nicht genau sagen warum. Die Atmosphäre dieser Novelle und die von Storm beschriebene Landschaft haben mir sehr gefallen. In Zeiten des Abnehmenden Lichts von Eugen Ruge und Heimsuchung von Jenny Erpenbeck haben mir neuerdings sehr gefallen. Diese beiden Romane setzen sich auf unterschiedliche Weisen und meiner Meinung nach sehr erfolgreich, mit der deutschen Vergangenheit auseinander.
Gibt es ein Buch, das Sie unbedingt übersetzen wollen?

In Zeit des Abnehmenden Lichts hätte ich gerne übersetzt, aber das ist schon erledigt, und zwar auf sehr tolle Weise. Da ich Erziehung vor Verdun so toll fand, würde ich gerne Junge Frau von 1914 übersetzen, der zu dem selben Romanzyklus gehört. Aber ich möchte auch gerne mal einen neuen Roman von einem Schriftsteller der Gegenwartsliteratur übersetzen.

Auswahl an übersetzten Titeln

  • Arnold Zweig: Outside Verdun (Erziehung vor Verdun). Freight Books, 2014
  • Gutter Magazine, Spring 2011. (Übersetzung der Gedichte  Gangart zwei: Richtung Schöhauser Allee von Johannes Jansen und Die Würfel sind gefallen von Gabriele Stötzer)