Christine Shuttleworth

Christine Shuttleworth © Christine Shuttleworth Christine Shuttleworth is the daughter of the Austrian author Hilde Spiel. She studied at Oxford University where she attained a BA (Hons) degree in English Language and Literature. After her studies she worked as an editorial assistant for several magazines (including `Country Life´). She has worked as a freelance indexer for a variety of British publishers and was for five years executive editor of the journal The Indexer. 

Inspired by her mother, she began to work on translations of non-fiction and specialist publications, from German into English. She is a member of various literary organisations including the PEN English Centre and the Royal Society of Literature. Christine Shuttleworth lives and works in London.

 

Three questions to Christine Shuttleworth

Why did you choose to become a translator? Is it the profession you always wanted?

As the daughter of two émigré German-speaking writers (Hilde Spiel and Peter de Mendelssohn), perhaps it was my fate to become a translator! It was my mother's idea that I should translate her favourite among her own books, a biography of Fanny von Arnstein, into English and, having done this, I was spurred on to pursue translation as a professional skill.
Which German book do you like the best and why?

Apart from my mother's books, I have fond memories of the German books I read as a child: Erich Kästner's stories and Wilhelm Hauff's Märchen among others.
Is there a particular book you would like to translate?

Not one particular book, but I would love the opportunity to translate a novel, as I have mostly translated non-fiction up to now.

  • Hilde Spiel: Return to Vienna: A Journal, Ariadne Press, 2011
  • O. F. Bollnow: Human Space (Mensch und Raum). Hyphen Press, 2011
  • Erdmut Wizisla: Walter Benjamin and Bertolt Brecht: the Story of a Friendship (Benjamin und Brecht : die Geschichte einer Freundschaft). Libris, 2009
  • Hilde Spiel: The Dark and the Bright: Memoirs 1911-1989 (Die hellen und die finsteren Zeiten). Ariadne, 2007
  • Andreas Volwahsen: Splendours of Imperial India (Indien). Prestel, 2003
  • Hilde Spiel: Fanny von Arnstein (Fanny von Arnstein oder die Emanzipation). Berg Publishing, 1991

Christine Shuttleworth

Christine Shuttleworth © Christine Shuttleworth Christine Shuttleworth ist die Tochter der österreichischen Schriftstellerin Hilde Spiel. Sie studierte Anglistik an der Universität in Oxford, wo sie mit einem Bachelor abschloss. Nach dem Studium war sie Mitherausgeberin mehrerer Zeitschriften (unter anderem `Country Life´) und arbeitete als freischaffende Indexiererin für eine Vielzahl von britischen Verlagen.

Animiert durch ihre Mutter begann sie ebenfalls die Tätigkeit des Übersetzens, bisher überwiegend von Sach- bzw. Fachliteratur vom Deutschen ins Englische. Sie ist Mitglied mehrerer literarischer Verbände, zum Beispiel des PEN English Centre und der Royal Society of Literature. Christine Shuttleworth lebt und arbeitet in London.

 

Drei Fragen an Christine Shuttleworth

War Übersetzer Ihr Traumberuf? Warum sind Sie Übersetzer geworden?

Als Tochter von zwei ausgewanderten deutschsprachigen Schriftstellern (Hilde Spiel und Peter de Mendelssohn) war es vielleicht mein Schicksal, Übersetzerin zu werden! Meine Mutter hatte die Idee, dass ich eines ihrer Lieblingsbücher, eine Biografie von Fanny von Arnstein, ins Englische übertragen sollte. Die Bewältigung dieser Aufgabe hat mich ermutigt, das Übersetzen zu meinem Beruf zu machen.
Welches ist Ihr deutsches Lieblingsbuch und warum?

Abgesehen von den Büchern meiner Mutter erinnere ich mich sehr gerne an die deutschen Bücher, die ich als Kind gelesen habe, unter anderem die Geschichten von Erich Kästner sowie Wilhelm Hauffs Märchen.
Gibt es ein Buch, das Sie unbedingt übersetzen wollen?

Es gibt kein spezielles Buch, doch ich würde sehr gerne einen Roman übersetzen, da ich bisher fast ausschließlich mit Sachliteratur gearbeitet habe.

  • Hilde Spiel: Return to Vienna: A Journal, Ariadne Press, 2011
  • O. F. Bollnow: Human Space (Mensch und Raum). Hyphen Press, 2011
  • Erdmut Wizisla: Walter Benjamin and Bertolt Brecht: the Story of a Friendship (Benjamin und Brecht : die Geschichte einer Freundschaft). Libris, 2009
  • Hilde Spiel: The Dark and the Bright: Memoirs 1911-1989 (Die hellen und die finsteren Zeiten). Ariadne, 2007
  • Andreas Volwahsen: Splendours of Imperial India (Indien). Prestel, 2003
  • Hilde Spiel: Fanny von Arnstein (Fanny von Arnstein oder die Emanzipation). Berg Publishing, 1991