Graphic Novels from Germany

Barbara Yelin und Rosie Goldsmith © Goethe-Institut London

Based on true stories

Reinhard Kleist’s graphic novel An Olympic Dream and Barbara Yelin’s Irmina have two things in common: they tackle difficult topics and are based on true stories. Watch the interviews and find out what motivated these authors to create these illustrated novels.
 

In An Olympic Dream Reinhard Kleist tells the story of Samia Yusuf Omar, a refugee from Somalia who dreams of becoming an Olympic athlete to support her family -– but tragically dies trying on her journey to reach Europe.

Barbara Yelin’s Irmina takes inspiration from her grandmother’s life story. Set in the 1930s, it tells the story of a young German woman who ends her affair with a black student in London and returns to Germany after the political situation has changed due to the rise of Hitler.
 
What made the authors want to convey these particular stories? And what happened after their publication? Watch the interviews with BBC journalist Rosie Goldsmith and find out!

Barbara Yelin © Goethe-Institut

Interview with Barbara Yelin

Reinhard Kleist © Goethe-Institut

Interview with Reinhard Kleist

Graphic Novels from Germany

Barbara Yelin und Rosie Goldsmith © Goethe-Institut London

Nach einer wahren Begebenheit

Reinhard Kleists Graphic Novel Der Traum von Olympia und Barbara Yelins Irmina haben zwei Dinge gemeinsam: Sie beschäftigen sich mit schwierigen Themen und basieren auf einer wahren Begebenheit. Im Videointerview berichten Kleist und Yelin über die Intention hinter ihren Werken.

In Der Traum von Olympia erzählt Reinhard Kleist die Geschichte von Samia Yusuf Omar, einer jungen Frau, die davon träumt, olympische Athletin zu werden, um ihre Familie zu unterstützen. Doch sie stirbt bei dem Versuch, das Mittelmeer zu überqueren, um ihren Traum in Europa zu verwirklichen.

Barbara Yelins Graphic Novel Irmina basiert auf biografischem Material vom Leben ihrer Großmutter. Die erzählt die Geschichte einer jungen deutschen Frau in den 1930ern. Irmina beendet ihre Beziehung zu einem schwarzen Studenten in London, nachdem sich die politische Situation in Deutschland unter Adolf Hitler zuspitzt.
 
Was hat die beiden Autoren motiviert, die Geschichten dieser Personen zu erzählen? Was ist nach der Veröffentlichung passiert? Finden Sie es heraus – im Interview mit BBC-Journalistin Rosie Goldsmith.

Barbara Yelin © Goethe-Institut

Interview mit Barbara Yelin

Reinhard Kleist © Goethe-Institut

Interview mit Reinhard Kleist