April 2019 Blue Night: Crime novels which buck expectations

Book Cover: Blue Night
Cover © Orenda Books

Crime fiction isn’t necessarily always known for its sense of humour but Christopher Brookmyre’s darkly witty detective novels – focussing alternately on investigative journalist Jack Parlabane, and private investigator Jasmine Sharp – buck genre expectations for a number of reasons. There’s no question that they provide everything a reader might want from a good detective story: satisfying puzzles, a convincing backdrop (Brookmyre’s eye for details is often hilariously on point), plenty of twists and red herrings, and the assurance of an equally satisfying solution at the end of each book. Refreshingly though, particularly in the Jasmine Sharp mysteries, Brookmyre shies away from the cliché of detective as a cynical (typically male) lone wolf, confiding only in a single (typically female) associate. The result is a series of acerbic, fast-paced crime novels which offer surprises in all of the right places.

Fans of Brookmyre could do worse than checking out Simone Buchholz, a star of the German crime lit scene who has been deftly translated into English by Rachel Ward. Buchholz first appeared in English in 2017 with Blue Night, a Hamburg-based thriller following public prosecutor Chastity Riley, with the book’s sequel, Beton Rouge, just out now. In a genre more frequently dominated by doorstoppers, both books are surprisingly slight, just shy of 200 pages. Complex and tightly plotted though, they nonetheless pack plenty in.

Like Where the Bodies are Buried (the first of the Jasmine Sharp mysteries), Blue Night is motivated by drug smuggling and the murky politics of a city’s established gangs. And like Brookmyre’s detectives, Chastity Riley is a proverbial breath of fresh air against the model of the hardboiled and misanthropic fictional sleuth. Sure, she has an unhealthy tendency to drown her sorrows in alcohol, but Blue Night partly comes to life through Chastity’s network of relationships – a group of colleagues and friends who clearly care not just about but for each other. Even away from crime fiction, which continues to lean a bit too much on the Holmesian tradition of the solitary genius, it’s refreshing to find a novel which puts as much weight on friendships as it does on romantic relationships.

Blue Night is also startling for its use of language: sometimes witty, often gorgeous, always strikingly original. Ward’s translation manages that acrobatic trick of using enviably inventiveness in order to capture Buchholz’s voice – I particularly enjoyed the image of a heavy downpour easing off until “it’s only drizzling puppies and kittens now.” Ward also works in just enough of the German colloquialisms to give a taste of the Hamburg milieu, which feels particularly fitting given the setting in the city’s infamous Reeperbahn.

Interestingly, Blue Night is actually the sixth book in the Chastity Riley series, despite being the first to be translated. I really hope its predecessors soon follow it into English.
.

Back to the Book Blog

April 2019 Blaue Nacht: alles, was das Krimi-Herz begehrt

Book Cover: Blue Night
Cover © Orenda Books

Typischerweise sind Krimis nicht für ihren Witz bekannt, aber Christopher Brookmyres Detektivromane über den Enthüllungsjournalist Jack Parlabane oder die Privatdetektivin Jasmine Sharp (übersetzt ins Deutsche von Hannes Meyer) trotzen – voll schwarzem Humor – Konventionen auf vielfältige Weise. Zweifelsohne bieten sie alles, was das Krimi-Herz begehrt: faszinierende Rätsel, überzeugend düstere Kulissen (oft in Glasgow oder Edinburgh), viele Wendungen und falsche Fährten und die Sicherheit einer überzeugenden Lösung am Ende des Buches. Erfrischend aber ist, dass Brookmyre – vor allem in den Jasmine Sharp Geschichten – den klischeeartigen Detektiv als zynischen (häufig männlichen) Einzelkämpfer meidet, der sich nur einer einzelnen (häufig weiblichen) Kollegin anvertraut. Was entsteht, ist eine Reihe von geistreichen, rasanten Detektivgeschichten, die auf genau die richtige Art und Weise überraschen.

Wer Brookmyre gerne liest, könnte es schlechter treffen, als mit Simone Buchholz, die zweimal den Deutschen Krimi Preis gewonnen hat und die geschickt von Rachel Ward ins Englische übersetzt wird. 2017 erschien Buchholz zum ersten Mal auf Englisch mit dem Thriller Blaue Nacht, der in Hamburg spielt und der Staatsanwältin Chastity Riley folgt. Die Fortsetzung, Beton Rouge, ist 2019 erschienen. In einem Genre, in dem dicke Wälzer üblich sind, sind beide Romane überraschend kurz, knappe 200 Seiten; beide haben aber komplexe, dichte Handlungen.

Wie auch schon Wo die Leichen liegen (der erste Jasmine Sharp Roman) dreht sich Blaue Nacht um die Drogengeschäfte und die schmutzige Politik der mafiosen Gangs der Stadt. Und genau wie Brookmyres Detektive, kontert Chastity Riley den Stereotyp des abgebrühten und menschenfeindlichen Schnüfflers. Zwar neigt auch sie dazu, ihre Leiden im Alkohol zu ertränken, aber Blaue Nacht wird durch Chastitys Netzwerk an Freundschaften lebendig ausgestaltet: eine Gruppe von Kolleg_innen und Freund_innen, die sich nicht nur um-, sondern auch füreinander sorgen. Auch außerhalb des Krimi-Genres, das immer noch sehr der Holmes' schen Tradition des einsamen Genies folgt, ist es erfrischend, einen Roman zu lesen, der Freundschaften genauso ernst nimmt, wie romantische Beziehungen.

Ebenso eindrucksvoll an Blaue Nacht ist die Sprache: manchmal witzig, häufig umwerfend, immer beeindruckend originell. Rachel Ward vollbringt diese akrobatische Leistung, indem sie beneidenswerte Kreativität spielen lässt, um die Stimme von Buchholz wiederzugeben – und die Übersetzung glänzt. Ward übernimmt gerade genug deutsche Umgangssprache, um ein Gespür des Hamburger Milieus – und vor allem der berüchtigten Reeperbahn – zu geben.

Interessanterweise ist Blaue Nacht das sechste Buch in der Chastity Riley Reihe und wurde dennoch als erstes übersetzt. Ich hoffe sehr, dass auch seine Vorläufer demnächst auf Englisch erscheinen.

Zurück zum Buchblog