Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Traces of Restistance
Preface: From Hyde Park to Holloway

If this was then, then you’d be here.

In the preface to his notes on walking the Hackney Brooke, one of London’s many underground rivers, the author follows the water paths from Hydepark to Holloway via Regent’s Canal until the waters finally dissappear.

 

01

Mother sighed with exasperation. ›Look, there aren't any people in charge of death. When you die you move to another part of London, that's all there is to it. Period.‹

Will Self – The Quantity Theory of Insanity

 

02

»Going down« – each time the elevator announces its prophecy, a little shudder hits me. For what we know it will go down, break through the hotel’s floor, the car park’s unflattering concrete shell and deeper, through the bones and the gravel, the smiling teeth of witnesses that didn’t get to speak, down to compressed plants and animals united in revery, crouched together, awaiting the approaching abyss and, layer over layer, progressed into the future that it is now. Ground floor. All off. I lift the curtain, open the door, the sun hits me, it commands: I look down.

 

03

The ice age is coming, the sun is zooming in / Engines stop running, the wheat is growin' thin / A nuclear era, but I have no fear / ‘Cause London is drowning, and I, I live by the river.

The Clash – London Calling

04

In 1928, the Great Flood of London flooded big parts of the inner city. Mostly working class and the poor, living in cramped basements close to the river, fell victim to it. It sparks first planning ideas of a barrier on the Thames. Only in 1974 constructions took off. The Thames Barrier has been in operation since 1982. It is these barriers that make the land safe enough for the rich.

 

05

Long Water leading up to Hyde Park. A map: You are here. Hide and Seek.

The old trees are fenced, the little green parrots dream of summer. Follow a horde of tourists into the bushes.

A group of trees and fluffy white clouds form an atomic mushroom.

The Physical Energy Statue where Watts didn’t choose the rider as carefully as the horse. Allegoric phantasm of the patriarchy, blinded by the sun. The dictates of the sun: The horse rears up. A nuclear era, but I have no fear.

Kensington Gardens. A sanctuary for waterfowls and moths.

Please do not feed the squirrels; […] Grey squirrels cause extensive damage to trees by stripping bark from the main stem and branches.

The Cinnabar moth caterpillars can turn cannibalistic. This is mainly due to lack of food. Often, very few survive the pupal stage, mainly due to finishing the food source before reaching maturity; many will die from starvation.

06

Pass the Peter Pan statue. When Peter has faith in his ability to fly, he is able to escape through the window of his London home and returns to Kensington Gardens. A crow lets him know him that he is still more of a human than a bird and somehow stuck in between – »Betwixt-and-Between«. Only now that he knows, only now that he stops believing, he is stranded in the gardens. He discovers a world of magical inhabitants that appear after »Lock-Out-Time«.
 

07

Further North, before leaving the park, a bench reads:
For Geraldine Charles - Forever Young

 

08

I leave the gardens, pass Paddington station and walk towards Regent’s Canal.
Construction sites: Waterfront living with the world at your feet.
Renderings of things to come.
Christmas music everywhere.
Holidays are coming. This is the season, it’s always the real thing.
A line of tourists buses, one of them named Collins, I misread it as COFFINS first.

09

It’s only in the Rembrandt Gardens of Little Venice (a cropped image on a tourist’s digital camera; the impudence of the claim) where I really enter the wetlands of London: Smells of fresh leaves on the ground, fresh paint coming from the boats, fresh weed from under the bridges.

Danger Deep Water

A bench: Derek Caves’ Friends Have Placed This Here for you to enjoy watching the little Venice he loved so much.

Please help keep the Gardens clean and attractive by observing the following.

 

10

The Jubilee Greenway along the Regent’s Canal.
Cyclists Dismount
Warning: Razorwire
Social housing up on the other shore.
Low grey-blue skies, palm trees to the left, houseboats to the right.
 

11

According to the city of London, the waterways are home to at least 4,000 to 5,000 residential boats. About 10,000 people live on the water. While some use these boats for luxurious short-term stays, others, unable to afford London’s rents, live on them in desperate conditions; a dozen on one small boat, sharing one chemical toilet and limited access to electricity.


Traces of resistance 12-2 © Fabian Saul

12

Crossing Edgware Road.
National grid
St. John’s Wood 275kV Substation.
Danger 275.000 Volts

A small pathway between old brick walls and cables that transport energy leads down to the
canal: Lisson Grove.
Semi-public spaces, the backyard of the boats, at land.
A tree trunk on a deck.
The name of the boat is Romulus.


 

13

The road at Lisson Grove was once one of the main Roman thoroughfares. When the Romans arrived, the broad grassy way had already been used by the Britons for centuries, linking the English Channel with the inland. The Romans paved the road and set it up it for centuries to come. It was used as a boundary of many historic administrative units. After industrialisation, Lisson Grove became an unloading point for barges delivering coal to the adjacent electricity station.

 

14

More signs, they are not a threat, they are a warning:

Danger of Death
Danger 415 Volts
Danger 240 Volts

15

When the area developed into a crossroads for goods and passengers during the industrialisation of the 19th century, it became one of the extremely poor, run-down neighbourhoods of London, known for crime, drinking, and prostitution.

16

The character Eliza Doolittle in George Bernard Shaw’s play Pygmalion that inspired the musical version My Fair Lady was born and raised in Lisson Grove, living in a room that »wasn’t fit for a pig to live in«.


Traces of resistance 15-2 © Fabian Saul

17

In 1885 the case of Eliza Armstrong, a 13-year-old who is sold to a brothel keeper in Lisson Grove for £5 caused a public outcry. The deal was staged by investigative journalist W. T. Stead in order to get a new criminal act for the protection of girls and women passed. While the criminal act got passed, Stead himself got imprisoned in the aftermath. The street in Lisson Grove where  Eliza Armstrong lived at got renamed in order to restore its reputation. W. T. Stead died 27 years later when the Titanic sank.


 

18

Until the 21st century, Lisson Grove remained a territory of rivalling gangs, Lisson Green Mandem believed to be on the earliest of them. In 2007, after the murder of Jevon Henry, most likely connected to gang rivalry, five gang members of Lisson Grove have been jailed for life.
 

19

A grove is a group of trees that grow close together. It is an old English word dating as far back as 1,000 years ago. The origin of the word is unknown. In pagan, pre-Christian Germanic, Nordic and Celtic cultures, groves were considered sacred.


Traces of resistance 8 © Fabian Saul

20

Metal bridges hanging low, townhouses to the left.
Trespassers will be prosecuted / Guard dogs on Patrol
In the woods on the other side of the river, a tent and fragments of emergency blankets.
Traces of the former rope grooves, like guarding marks along the banks.
No Skating / No Cycling
Columns hold up the bridge, a rectangular coffin-shaped cardboard box, abandoned on the other bank.


 

21

Onwards, pass the great Mosque, the biosphere reserve of the Zoo, leading up to Camden, up the canals, the sad tourist markets, and overcrowded bridges, until they are left behind. Further North, inland, the water disappears.



  go to Part I: Holloway

  go to overview: Traces of Resistance

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Traces of Restistance
Vorwort: Vom Hyde Park zum Holloway

If this was then, then you’d be here.

Im Vorwort zu seinen Notizen über den Hackney Brooke, einer der vielen unterirdischen Flüsse Londons, folgt der Autor den Wasserwegen vom Hyde Park nach Holloway entlang des Regent's Canal, bis das Wasser schließlich verschwindet.

 

01

Mutter seufzte genervt: Schau, es gibt keine Menschen, die für den Tod verantwortlich sind. Wenn du stirbst, ziehst du in einen anderen Teil von London, das ist alles. Punkt.

Will Self, Die Quantitätstheorie des Irrsinns

 

02

„Nach unten“ – jedes Mal, wenn der Aufzug seine Prophezeiung spricht, überkommt mich ein Schauder. Denn wir wissen, dass er durch den Boden des Hotels brechen wird, durch die unschmeichelhafte Betonschale des Parkhauses und tiefer durch die Knochen und den Schotter, die lächelnden Zähne von Zeugen, die nie sprechen konnten, bis hin zu den komprimierten Pflanzen und Tieren, vereint in Träumerei, zusammengekauert und auf den Abgrund wartend, der kam und Schicht für Schicht die Zukunft aufhäufte, die jetzt ist. Erdgeschoss. Alle raus. Ich schiebe den Vorhang zur Seite, öffne die Tür, die Sonne trifft mich, diktiert: Ich schaue nach unten.

 

03

The ice age is coming, the sun is zooming in / Engines stop running, the wheat is growin' thin / A nuclear era, but I have no fear / ‘Cause London is drowning, and I, I live by the river.

The Clash – London Calling

(Die Eiszeit steht vor der Tür, die Sonne scheint herein / Die Motoren laufen nicht mehr weiter, der Weizen wird dünner / Eine nukleare Ära, aber ich habe keine Angst /Denn London ertrinkt und ich, ich lebe am Fluss.)

04

Im Jahr 1928 überschwemmt die Great Flood von London große Teile der Innenstadt. Vor allem die Arbeiterklasse und arme Menschen, die in engen Kellern in der Nähe des Flusses leben, fallen ihr zum Opfer. Es gibt schnell erste Planungsideen für eine Flutsperre an der Themse. Doch erst 1974 beginnt der Bau. Die Thames Barrier ist seit 1982 in Betrieb. Die beweglichen Tore sind die Barrieren, die das Land sicher genug für die Reichen machen.

 

05

Am Long Water durch den Hyde Park. Eine Karte. Sie sind hier. Versteckspiel.

Die alten Bäume sind eingezäunt, die kleinen grünen Papageien träumen vom Sommer. Ich folge einer Horde Touristen.

Eine Gruppe Bäume vor weißen Wolken bildet einen Atompilz.

Die Statue Physical Energy, bei der Watts den Reiter nicht so sorgfältig ausgewählt hat wie das Pferd. Allegorisches Phantasma des Patriarchats, geblendet von der Sonne. Das Pferd bäumt sich auf. A nuclear era, but I have no fear.

Kensington Gardens. Ein Zufluchtsort für Wasservögel und Motten.

Please do not feed the squirrels; […] Grey squirrels cause extensive damage to trees by stripping bark from the main stem and branches.

Die Raupen der Zinnobermotte können sich kannibalisch verhalten. Dies ist vor allem auf Lebensmittelmangel zurückzuführen. Oft überleben nur sehr wenige Raupen das Puppenstadium, weil sie die Nahrungsquelle vor dem Erreichen der Reife vollständig verbrauchen. Viele sterben an Hunger.

06

An der Peter-Pan-Statue vorbei. Als Peter an seine Fähigkeit zu fliegen glaubt, kann er aus dem Fenster seines Londoner Hauses fliehen und kehrt in die Kensington Gardens zurück. Eine Krähe lehrt ihn, dass er immer noch kein Vogel ist, sondern eher ein Mensch und irgendwie dazwischen – »Betwixt-and-Between«. Erst jetzt, da er es weiß, erst jetzt, da er aufhört zu glauben, sitzt er im Park fest. Er entdeckt eine Welt magischer Bewohner, die nach der Sperrzeit erscheinen.
 

07

Weiter nördlich, vor dem Verlassen des Parks, eine Bank:
Für Geraldine Charles - Forever Young

 

08

Ich verlasse die Gärten, komme am Bahnhof Paddington vorbei und gehe in Richtung Regent's Canal.
Baustellen: Waterfront living with the world at your feet.
Renderings von Dingen, die kommen werden.
Weihnachtsmusik überall.
Holidays are coming. This is the season, it’s always the real thing.
Eine Reihe von Touristenbussen, lese COFFINS auf einem von ihnen namens Collins.

09

Erst in den Rembrandt Gardens in Little Venice (ein beschnittenes Bild auf einer Digitalkamera eines Touristen, die Unverschämtheit der Behauptung) betrete ich wirklich feuchtes Gebiet in London: Gerüche von frischen Blättern auf dem Boden, frische Farbe von den Booten, frisches Gras unter den Brücken.

Danger Deep Water

Eine Bank: Derek Caves’ Friends Have Placed This Here for you to enjoy watching the little Venice he loved so much.

Please help keep the Gardens clean and attractive by observing the following.
 

10

Den Jubilee Greenway den Regent's Canal hinauf.
Radfahrer bitte absteigen.
Warning: Razorwire
Sozialwohnungen am anderen Ufer.
Niedriger grau-blauer Himmel, Palmen links, Hausboote rechts.
 

11

Nach Angaben der Stadt London beherbergen die Wasserstraßen mindestens 4.000 bis 5.000 Hausboote. Etwa 10.000 Menschen leben auf dem Wasser. Während einige dieser Boote für luxuriöse Kurzaufenthalte genutzt werden, leben andere, die sich die Mieten in London nicht leisten können, in widrigen Verhältnissen: ein Dutzend auf einem kleinen Boot, mit einer chemischen Toilette und Elektrizität nur in Rationen.


Traces of resistance 12-2 © Fabian Saul

12

Ich überquere die Edgware Road.
National grid
St. John’s Wood 275kV Substation.
Danger 275.000 Volts

Ein kleiner Pfad zwischen alten Ziegelmauern und den Kabeln, die die Energie transportieren, führt zum Kanal hinunter: Lisson Grove.
Halböffentliche Räume, der Hinterhof der Boote, an Land.
Ein Baumstamm auf einem Deck.
Das Boot heißt Romulus.


 

13

Die Straße an der Lisson Grove ist eine der wichtigsten römischen Verbindungsstraßen. Als die Römer ankamen, war der breite Grasweg bereits seit Jahrhunderten von den Briten benutzt worden, um den Ärmelkanal mit dem Binnenland zu verbinden. Die Römer pflastern die Straße und manifestieren sie für Jahrhunderte. Sie wird als Grenze vieler historischer Verwaltungseinheiten verwendet. Nach der Industrialisierung wird Lisson Grove zur Entladestation für Binnenschiffe, die Kohle an das angrenzende Elektrizitätswerk liefern.

 

14

Schilder – keine Drohung, eine Warnung:

Danger of Death
Danger 415 Volts
Danger 240 Volts

15

Als sich das Gebiet während der Industrialisierung im 19. Jahrhundert zu einem Knotenpunkt für Güter und Passagiere entwickelt, entsteht einer der äußerst armen, heruntergekommenen Stadtteile Londons, die für Kriminalität, Alkoholkonsum und Prostitution bekannt werden.

16

Die Figur Eliza Doolittle, die aus George Bernard Shaws Schauspiel Pygmalion stammt und das Musical My Fair Lady inspirierte, ist in Lisson Grove geboren und aufgewachsen und lebt in einem Raum, in dem „nicht einmal ein Schwein leben kann“.


Traces of resistance 15-2 © Fabian Saul

17

Im Jahr 1885 löst der Fall von Eliza Armstrong, einer 13-Jährigen, die für fünf Pfund an einen Bordellhalter in Lisson Grove verkauft wird, einen öffentlichen Aufschrei aus. Der Deal wird vom investigativen Journalisten W. T. Stead inszeniert, um ein neues Gesetz zum Schutz von Mädchen und Frauen im Parlament durchzubringen. Das Gesetz wird verabschiedet, Stead selbst später verurteilt. Die Straße, in der Eliza Armstrong in Lisson Grove lebt, wird umbenannt, um ihren Ruf wiederherzustellen. W. T. Stead stirbt 27 Jahre später, als die Titanic sinkt.


 

18

Lisson Grove ist bis zum 21. Jahrhundert ein Territorium rivalisierender Banden. Lisson Green Mandem war vermutlich die erste von ihnen. Im Jahr 2007 werden nach dem Mord an Jevon Henry fünf Bandenmitglieder von Lisson Grove lebenslänglich inhaftiert.
 

19

Ein „Grove“ ist eine Gruppe von Bäumen, die dicht zusammenwachsen, ein Hain. Es ist ein altes englisches Wort, das bereits vor 1.000 Jahren verwendet wurde. Der Ursprung ist unbekannt. In heidnischen, vorchristlichen germanischen, nordischen und keltischen Kulturen gelten Haine als heilig.


Traces of resistance 8 © Fabian Saul

20

Tief hängende Metallbrücken, links Reihenhäuser.
Trespassers will be prosecuted / Guard dogs on Patrol
Zwischen den Bäumen auf der anderen Seite des Flusses ein Zelt und Fragmente von Notdecken.
Spuren der alten Seilrillen wie Orientierungsmarken entlang des Ufers.
No Skating / No Cycling
Säulen halten die Brücke, ein rechteckiger Karton in Sargform am anderen Ufer.


 

21

Weiter an der großen Moschee vorbei, dem Biosphärenreservat des Zoos, in Richtung Camden, über die Kanäle, die traurigen Touristenmärkte und überfüllten Brücken, bis auch die zurückbleiben. Weiter nördlich, im Landesinneren, verschwindet das Wasser.



  zum Part I: Holloway

  zur Übersicht: Traces of Resistance

Top