Germany’s Presidency of the Council of the European Union 2020
The Disappearing Wall – Belfast

The interactive art installation Disappearing Wall was set up across Europe between autumn 2020 and spring 2021. Built from 6,000 wooden blocks inscribed with quotes from European high and pop culture, the walls represented the diversity of the continent. Set up in Belfast and 15 other European cities, the pan-European project travelled through overall 10 countries, celebrating the European identity with all its facets of languages and ideas.
Visitors of the Disappearing Wall were invited to remove the blocks inscribed with their favourite quotes from the installations and take them home. As more and more blocks were being removed, the walls gradually "disappeared". A project full of symbolism!

#GoetheForEurope #GoetheFürEuropa
#DisappearingWall
#EU2020DE

Whether a quote from Hannah Arendt, a lyric from a Beatles song, a line from the film Amélie, or a statement by the Hungarian Nobel Prize winner Imre Kertész: the quotes by intellectuals, artists and cultural practitioners collected across Europe in early 2020 illustrated the diversity of ideas and languages in Europe.
Based on an idea proposed by Maria Jablonina in a workshop carried out by the architect and engineer Werner Sobek, the installation was first initiated by the Goethe-Institut.
 
In Belfast the Disappearing Wall was installed on the Titanic Slipways from 21 October until 6 November 2020, inviting everyone from Belfast and beyond to get outside and engage with this public art installation. Commissioned by the Goethe-Institut London, the installation was implemented in collaboration with Belfast-based Catalyst Arts and Urban Scale Interventions. The project was accompanied by four workshops with local artists engaging in different areas of the city and celebrating the diversity of Belfast through stories, shared experiences and collective history.

Workshop Series: Collectivity, Community and Diversity

Looking at possibilities of re-mapping Belfast beyond geography, Catalyst Arts developed and presented a series of engagement workshops inviting Belfastonians to share their lived experiences of Belfast. Four workshops held by professional artists in the Catalyst Arts Gallery and various spaces across the city encouraged participants to think creatively and engage with their surroundings. Throughout the event series every workshop complied with Covid-19 restrictions on public gatherings.

Watch the video playlist on our Youtube channel!

"Ealaín Means Art" – Aoife O’Reilly: Irish Language Workshop at the Disappearing Wall Belfast © Catalyst Arts | Goethe-Institut

Workshop Series "Disappearing Wall" Belfast
"Ealaín means Art" – Aoife O’Reilly

The workshop introduced a less conventional, more artistic approach to Irish language learning. The video from 19 September 2020 shows how participants got to know the Irish languague through movement, crafting and music.

"Tales of Embodiment" - Janie Doherty: Exploring the Narrative of the Body Workshop, Disappearing Wall © Catalyst Arts | Goethe-Institut

Workshop Series "Disappearing Wall" Belfast
"Tales of Embodiment" – Janie Doherty

In this exhibition project and workshop lead by artist Janie Doherty at Catalyst Art Gallery on 1st October 2020, a group of women from New Lodge Estate explored the narrative of the body. Together with workshop participants they filled the gallery space with stories, singing and many rounds of Bingo.

"Listen to My Ears" – John D’Arcy: #7 Exploring the Hearing Workshop, Disappearing Wall © Catalyst Arts | Goethe-Institut

Workshop Series "Disappearing Wall" Belfast
"Listen to My Ears" – John D’Arcy

Participants explored their own hearing through listening and sound-making activities in this workshop lead by John D’Arcy. The video recorded on 3rd October 2020 shows how sounds of bodies, objects and cities and the lack thereof, were explored within the Gallery space and the city of Belfast.

"Jaunt" - Phillip McCrilly: Fermantation and Foraging Workshop Disappearing Wall © Catalyst Arts | Goethe-Institut

Workshop Series "Disappearing Wall" Belfast
"Jaunt" – Phillip McCrilly

A queer reading of Belfast’s history and an alternative mapping of South Belfast was offered by artist Phillip McCrilly in their fermentation & foraging workshop on 6th October 2020. The video shows how workshop participants cruise around the city on bike, exploring unknown and unnoticed corners of Belfasts South. 


Impressions from Social Media

Instagram

Cooperation Partners

Catalyst Arts

Catalyst Arts
Catalyst Arts (CA) is an artist-led organisation based in Belfast. Established in 1993 it has built a reputation as an innovative and experimental space for contemporary art, through its gallery programme, public projects, artists commissions and pioneering Live Art Biennale. The organisation has consistently attracted high calibre artists, curators and producers from across NI and internationally. Their mission is to promote the production of works by emerging, mid-career and established artists through the provision of resources, exhibitions, residencies, and events. In addition, they aim to advance the training of cultural practitioners in NI through critical dialogue and mentoring within our programme.

Urban Scale Interventions (USI)

Urban Scale Interventions (USI)

USI support public and private organisations in people centred design innovation taking a holistic and challenge-led approach to tackling issues in the places we live, work and play.
 

Top

Deutschlands Präsidentschaft im Rat der Europäischen Union 2020
Die Verschwindende Wand – Belfast

Die interaktive Wandinstallation Verschwindende Wand wurde zwischen Herbst 2020 und Frühjahr 2021 europaweit aufgestellt. Mit ihren 6.000 Holzblöcken mit eingravierten Zitaten aus der europäischen Hoch- und Popkultur repräsentierten die Wände die Vielfalt des Kontinents. Das in Belfast und 15 weiteren Städten ausgestellte Projekt erstreckte sich über insgesamt zehn Länder und feierte die europäische Identität mit all ihrem Facettenreichtum an Sprachen und Ideen.
Besucher*innen der Verschwindenden Wand durften Blöcke mit ihren Lieblingszitaten aus den Installationen entfernen und mit nach Hause nehmen. Mit den Holzblöcken „verschwanden“ nach und nach auch die Wände. Ein Projekt voller Symbolik!

#GoetheForEurope #GoetheFürEuropa
#DisappearingWall
#EU2020DE

Ob es sich um ein Zitat von Hannah Arendt, eine Lyrik aus einem Beatles-Stück, eine Zeile aus dem Film Amélie oder um einen Satz des ungarischen Nobelpreisträgers Imre Kertész handelt: die Anfang 2020 in ganz Europa gesammelten Zitate von Intellektuellen, Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffenden sind vielfältig an Sprachen und Ideen.
Entworfen von Maria Jablonina in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Architekten und Ingenieur Werner Sobek, wurde die Installation initiiert vom Goethe-Institut.
 
In Belfast wurde die Verschwindende Wand vom 1. bis 12. Oktober 2020 auf den Titanic Slipways gezeigt. Menschen aus Belfast und darüber hinaus waren dazu eingeladen, nach draußen zu gehen und sich mit der öffentlichen Installation zu beschäftigen. Die Kunstinstallation wurde vom Goethe-Institut London in Zusammenarbeit mit den in Belfast ansässigen Organisationen Catalyst Arts und Urban Scale Interventions entwickelt. Das Projekt wurde darüber hinaus von vier Workshops mit lokalen Künstler*innen begleitet, die sich in verschiedenen Teilen der Stadt engagieren. So wurde die Vielfalt Belfasts durch Erinnerungen, geteilte Erfahrungen und eine gemeinsame Geschichte gefeiert.

Workshops: Kollektiv, gemeinschaftlich und divers

Um Belfast abseits geografischer Gegebenheiten neu zu kartieren, entwickelte Catalyst Arts eine Reihe von Engagement-Workshops, in denen Menschen aus Belfast eingeladen waren, ihre Erfahrungen der Stadt zu teilen. Vier Workshops, angeleitet von professionellen Künstler*innen in der Catalyst Arts Gallery und an verschiedenen Orten der Stadt dienten den Teilnehmenden als Anregung, kreativ zu denken und sich aktiv mit ihrer Umgebung auseinanderzusetzen. Während der gesamten Veranstaltungsreihe entsprach jeder Workshop den Covid-19-Beschränkungen für öffentliche Versammlungen.

Sehen Sie sich die Video-Playliste auf unserem Youtube-Kanal an!

"Ealaín Means Art" – Aoife O’Reilly: Irish Language Workshop at the Disappearing Wall Belfast © Catalyst Arts | Goethe-Institut

Workshopreihe „Verschwindende Wand“ Belfast
„Ealaín means Art“ – Aoife O’Reilly

Der Workshop stellte einen weniger konventionellen künstlerischeren Ansatz für das Erlernen der irischen Sprache vor. Das Video vom 19. September 2020 zeigt, wie sich die Teilnehmenden der irischen Sprache durch Bewegung, Basteln und Musik annähern.

"Tales of Embodiment" - Janie Doherty: Exploring the Narrative of the Body Workshop, Disappearing Wall © Catalyst Arts | Goethe-Institut

Workshopreihe „Verschwindende Wand“ Belfast
„Tales of Embodiment“ – Janie Doherty

In diesem Ausstellungsprojekt und Workshop unter der Leitung von Künstlerin Janie Doherty in der Catalyst Art Gallery am 1. Oktober 2020 untersuchte eine Gruppe von Frauen aus New Lodge Estate die Narrative des Körpers. Zusammen mit den Teilnehmenden des Workshops füllten sie den Galerieraum mit Geschichten, Gesang und vielen Runden Bingo.

"Listen to My Ears" – John D’Arcy: #7 Exploring the Hearing Workshop, Disappearing Wall © Catalyst Arts | Goethe-Institut

Workshopreihe „Verschwindende Wand“ Belfast
„Listen to My Ears“ – John D’Arcy

Die Teilnehmer*innen des Workshops erkundeten unter der Leitung von John D’Arcy ihr eigenes Gehör durch Zuhören und Klangerzeugung. Das Video vom 3. Oktober 2020 zeigt, wie Geräusche von Körpern, Objekten und der Stadt im Galerieraum und in der Stadt Belfast untersucht wurden.

"Jaunt" - Phillip McCrilly: Fermantation and Foraging Workshop Disappearing Wall © Catalyst Arts | Goethe-Institut

Workshopreihe „Verschwindende Wand“ Belfast
„Jaunt“ – Phillip McCrilly

Eine queere Perspektive auf die Geschichte von Belfast und eine alternative Kartierung von Süd-Belfast bot der Künstler Phillip McCrilly in seinem Fermentations- und Futtersuchworkshop an. Das Video vom 6. Oktober 2020 zeigt, wie Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen mit Fahrrädern durch die Stadt fahren und unbekannte und unbemerkte Ecken im Süden von Belfast erkunden.

Eindrücke aus den sozialen Medien

Instagram

Kooperationspartner

Catalyst Arts

Catalyst Arts
Catalyst Arts (CA) ist eine von Künstler*innen geführte Organisation mit Sitz in Belfast. 1993 gegründet hat sich CA durch Galerieprogramme, öffentliche Projekte, Künstler*innen-Aufträge und wegweisende Live Art Biennalen einen Namen als innovativer und experimenteller Raum für zeitgenössische Kunst gemacht. Mit ihrem innovativen Programm hat die Organisation durchweg hochkarätige Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen und Produzent*innen aus ganz Nordirland und aus dem internationalen Ausland angezogen. Ihre Mission ist es, die künstlerische Praxis und Produktion aufstrebender Künstler*innen, von solchen in der Mitte ihrer Karriere und von bereits etablierten Künstler*innen durch das Bereitstellen von Ressourcen, Ausstellungen, Residenzen und Veranstaltungen zu unterstützen. Darüber hinaus zielen sie darauf ab, die Ausbildung von Kulturschaffenden in Nordirland durch kritischen Dialog und Mentoring innerhalb unseres Programms voranzutreiben.

Urban Scale Interventions (USI)

Urban Scale Interventions (USI)
Urban Scale Interventions (USI) unterstützt öffentliche und private Organisationen bei menschenbezogenen Designinnovationen. Entlang der individuellen Herausforderungen erarbeitet USI so ganzheitliche Ansätze, die die Räume in denen wir leben, arbeiten und spielen besser machen.

Top