Dramatic Episodes

Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

Dramatic Episodes is a workshop series initiated in 2019 and focussing on the future role of theatre in civil society. In recent years, global political events and health crises have shaken up certain assumptions of theatre spaces. Societal structures have changed rapidly in the cities and the rise of right-wing parties in many countries around the world has created a level of mistrust and misunderstanding in established cultural institutions.

Against the backdrop of these current global politics we ask:
How could theatres and festivals continue to engage with the public or reach out to an audience they did not appeal to before? How could the sector protect the freedom of the arts and be a safe and discursive space? How could cultural institutions act as agents of civil society?
Wir brauchen mehr Gefühl. Wir müssen einander Mut zusprechen.

The Project: an innovative discussion format

Together with LIFT, the Goethe-Institut London has invited twelve theatre and festival directors from nine countries across four continents to reflect on the role of theatre in a rapidly changing world and to engage with pressing issues such as migration, solidarity in society, climate change, sustainability and protection of resources. Together they will work on practices that will enable change.
 

Who is participating?

  • Danjel Andersson, Dansehallerne, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Antonio Araujo, São Paulo International Theatre Festival, São Paulo, Brazil
  • Delia Barker, Freelance, London, UK
  • Francis Christeller, Goethe-Institut London, UK
  • Satu Herrala, Freelance, Helsinki, Finland
  • Kee Hong Low, Manchester International Festival, Manchester, UK
  • Ismail Mahomed, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa
  • Kris Nelson, LIFT, London, UK
  • Carena Schlewitt, HELLERAU, Dresden, Germany
  • Anne-Cécile Sibué-Birkeland, Black Box Theatre, Oslo, Norway
  • Ragnheiður Skúladóttir, Arctic Arts Festival, Harstad, Norway
  • Katrin Sohns, Goethe-Institut London, UK
  • Fu Kuen Tang, Taipei Arts Festival, Taipei, Taiwan
  • Annemie Vanackere, HAU, Berlin, Germany
  • Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, Goethe-Institut London, UK
Dramatic Episodes Helsinki Group Photo © Goethe-Institut

WHERE WE ARE RIGHT NOW:

The project has existed in the changing circumstance of the recent year, with in person meetings and, of course, online sessions. Each moment of connection allows the invited arts leaders to engage in talks, visits and experiences that help to facilitate the conversation about the challenges of the future and the role theatre plays in it.

During the first meeting in London and Cambridge in November 2019, the participants reflected together on the most pressing issues for themselves and their respective institutions. The conversation focused on themes such as migration, social cohesion, climate change, sustainability and resource conservation. The public were invited to engage with our participants in the form of a Long Table event that was hosted at Cambridge Junction.

Throughout 2020, the participants came together in digital sessions, providing peer support through a challenging time for all arts leaders and delving into topics such as the climate emergency, hygiene protocols in theatres, new forms of presenting performance, new urgencies for theatres during a health crisis, systemic racism in our societies, mental health within our organisations and embodied knowledge.

In April 2022, the group came back together in Helsinki for a second in person meeting. The programme of talks and visits centred around the topic, ‘Nurturing Change’. Guest speakers included poet/researcher Helga West & artist Lada Suomenrinne as well as co-directors of Helsinki’s Baltic Circle Festival, Hanna Parry and Asta Teräväinen.

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Participants noting their thought on paper © Goethe-Institut

  • Notizen zu: What are you taking out into the world? © Goethe-Institut

  • Thoughts on Paper © Goethe-Institut

  • Thoughts on Paper 2 © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes, November 2019, Participants discuss 2 © Goethe-Institut

Partner:

LIFT Logo


Top

Dramatische Episoden

Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

Dramatische Episoden ist eine Workshop-Reihe, die 2019 ins Leben gerufen wu. Sie fokussiert sich auf die zukünftige Rolle von Theatern in der Zivilgesellschaft. In den letzten Jahren haben globale politische Ereignisse und Gesundheitskrisen viele Grundwerte etablierter Theaterhäuser erschüttert. Gesellschaftsstrukturen haben sich in den Ballungszentren stark geändert. Auch der Aufstieg von rechtsnationalen Parteien hat in vielen Ländern u.a. zu Misstrauen und Unverständnis gegenüber etablierten Kulturinstitutionen geführt.

Vor dem Hintergrund dieser aktuellen globalen politischen Lage fragen wir uns:
Wie können Theater und Festivals mit Zielgruppen ins Gespräch kommen, die bislang nicht zu ihren Besucher*innen zählten? Wie kann dieser Sektor, weiterhin für die Freiheit der Künste stehen und ein sicherer und diskursiver Raum sein? Und wie können kulturelle Institutionen als Akteure der Zivilgesellschaft auftreten?
Wir brauchen mehr Gefühl. Wir müssen einander Mut zusprechen.

Das Projekt: ein innovatives Diskussionsformat

Gemeinsam mit LIFT hat das Goethe-Institut London zwölf Theater- und Festivalleiter*innen aus neun Ländern und vier Kontinenten eingeladen, um über die Rolle des Theaters in einer sich rasch verändernden Welt nachzudenken und sich mit drängenden Fragen wie Migration, Solidarität in der Gesellschaft, Klimawandel, Nachhaltigkeit und Ressourcenschutz auseinanderzusetzen. Gemeinsam hat die Gruppe an Praktiken gearbeitet, die einen Wandel ermöglichen sollen.
 

Wer nimmt daran teil?

  • Danjel Andersson, Dansehallerne, Kopenhagen, Dänemark
  • Antonio Araujo, São Paulo International Theatre Festival, São Paulo, Brasilien
  • Delia Barker, Freelance, London, Vereinigtes Königreich
  • Francis Christeller, Goethe-Institut London, Vereinigtes Königreich
  • Satu Herrala, Freelance, Helsinki, Finnland
  • Kee Hong Low, Manchester International Festival, Manchester, Vereinigtes Königreich
  • Ismail Mahomed, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban Südafrika
  • Kris Nelson, LIFT, London, Vereinigtes Königreich
  • Carena Schlewitt, HELLERAU, Dresden, Deutschland
  • Anne-Cécile Sibué-Birkeland, Black Box Theatre, Oslo, Norwegen
  • Ragnheiður Skúladóttir, Arctic Arts Festival, Harstad, Norwegen
  • Katrin Sohns, Goethe-Institut London, Vereinigtes Königreich
  • Fu Kuen Tang, Taipei Arts Festival, Taipeh, Taiwan
  • Annemie Vanackere, HAU, Berlin, Deutschland
  • Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, Goethe-Institut London, Vereinigtes Königreich
Dramatic Episodes Helsinki Gruppenbild © Goethe-Institut

Wo stehen wir gerade?

Das Projekt hat unter den wechselhaften Bedingungen des letzten Jahres existiert, mit persönlichen Treffen und natürlich auch Online-Sitzungen. Jeder Moment der Verbindung ermöglicht den eingeladenen Kulturschaffenden Gespräche, Besuche und Erfahrungen, die dazu beitragen, das Gespräch über die Herausforderungen der Zukunft und die Rolle des Theaters darin zu erleichtern.

Während des ersten Treffens in London und Cambridge im November 2019 haben die Teilnehmer*innen gemeinsam über die drängendsten Fragen für sich und ihre jeweiligen Institutionen nachgedacht. Im Mittelpunkt der Gespräche standen Themen wie Migration, sozialer Zusammenhalt, Klimawandel, Nachhaltigkeit und Ressourcenschutz. Die Öffentlichkeit war eingeladen, mit den Teilnehmer*innen in Form der Veranstaltung The Long Table  in Cambridge Junction in Kontakt zu treten.

Während des gesamten Jahres 2020 kamen die Teilnehmer*innen in digitalen Sitzungen zusammen, um sich in einer für alle Kunstschaffenden herausfordernden Zeit gegenseitig zu unterstützen und sich mit Themen wie dem Klimanotstand, Hygieneprotokollen in Theatern, neuen Formen der Performancepräsentation, neuen Dringlichkeiten für Theater während einer Gesundheitskrise, systematischem Rassismus in unserer Gesellschaft, psychischer Gesundheit in unseren Organisationen und verkörpertem Wissen auseinanderzusetzen.

Im April 2022 kam die Gruppe in Helsinki zu einem zweiten persönlichen Treffen zusammen. Im Mittelpunkt des Vortrags- und Besuchsprogramms stand das Thema "Nurturing Change". Zu den Referent*innen gehörten die Dichterin/Forscherin Helga West und die Künstlerin Lada Suomenrinne sowie die Kodirektorinnen des Baltic Circle Festival in Helsinki, Hanna Parry und Asta Teräväinen.

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes Helsinki © Goethe-Institut

  • Teilnehmer*innen notieren ihre Gedanken auf Papier © Goethe-Institut

  • Notes on: What are you taking out into the world? © Goethe-Institut

  • Gedanken zu Papier gebracht © Goethe-Institut

  • Gedanken zu Papier gebracht 2 © Goethe-Institut

  • Dramatic Episodes, November 2019, Teilnehmer*innen diskutieren 2 © Goethe-Institut

Partner:

LIFT Logo

Die Ziffer 2 über dem Foto von Podcast-Teilnehmer Kris Nelson Foto: Sharron Wallace

Podcast "Talking Culture", Episode #2: Why Theatre Matters Right Now

In Folge 2 unseres Podcasts spricht Kris Nelson, künstlerischer Leiter und Geschäftsführer von LIFT, über die Schwierigkeiten und die Bedeutung der weltweiten Theaterszene in Krisenzeiten von Corona, Populismus - und darüber hinaus!


Top