Going Green

GoingGreen © Luke O'Donovan

Our increased attention to nature became a much discussed topic during the COVID-19 pandemic. During the lockdowns we left nature more in peace and had more time to observe whatever it was doing in our surroundings. The origin of the virus also made us more aware of how far we humans have intruded into Nature’s realm. The knowledge about our negative impact on the climate and on eco systems, of course, far predates the pandemic. COP26, the climate summit in Glasgow in November this year has been planned for a long time and we know that is has to bring about decisive changes.

Many of us, including we at the Goethe-Institut, would like us to emerge from the pandemic with a different attitude to nature, one that values repair, protection, and care over exploitation and destruction and we are excited to launch a series of artworks and collaborations on this topic.

#SouthKenGreenTrail Installations from July 23rd on: South Kensington Green Trail @EXRD

Exhibition Road Luke O'Donovan

Following a competition in May by Discover South Kensington, the V&A, the Science Museum and the London Festival of Architecture, three different design teams will be invited to create innovative installations that will “un-pave” the way for introducing more biodiversity into the cultural district of South Kensington and support local eco-initiatives, such as the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea’s Bee Superhighway. The installations under the name #SouthKenGreenTrail are installed from July 23rd on and will welcome visitors to explore and enjoy them throughout the summer and autumn just until the Great Exhibition Rood Festival, which will take place from October 9th to 15th.
#rediscoversouthken #goinggreen #SouthKenGreenTrail

The winners of the "Three green interventions" are: 


Partners:

#Windflower Intervention @EXRD: Urban Radicals with Adam Harris

Windflower © Luke O'Donovan

Windflower outside the Goethe-Institut London by Urban Radicals with Adam Harris features a modified and re-purposed decommissioned wind turbine blade bringing the scale and surprising beauty of this mega-structure into the city centre. This is planted with wildflowers to attract pollinators while allowing visitors to walk through, sit on or enjoy it.

Statements by Urban Radicals:

"A mysterious forest creature, an opaque cloud expanding the gardens presence into the public realm."

“An absolutely wonderful project implemented in the area, which aims to bring together a beautiful sculpture - architecture, engineering, landscape, people under the theme of care. Carefully rethinking and redesigning possibilities for our future green infrastructure and our cities.”

"Raising awareness and ultimately offering a solution for the afterlife of a wind turbine the installation will modify and re-purpose the decommissioned blade and reconfigure it as a “stepping stone”, an interactive sculpture. Planted with herbs and vegetation the installation will attract biodiversity and bees whilst allowing the visitor to walk through, sit on and enjoy."

"With COP26 on the horizon and almost two centuries down the line since the Great Exhibition, the 2050 global climate action foresees a clean, lean and efficient future in the way we build our cities and our environments. Not only do we need to follow new protocols for putting new infrastructures and homes up, but we need to radically rethink how to re-use our buildings and upcycle components."


Urban Radicals and Adam Harris
© Urban Radicals and Adam Harris
Urban Radicals started out in 2019 as a duo between architect Nasios Varnavas and designer Era Savvides with the ambition to form a network of collaborators, to solve problems across contexts and scales. The studio has grown through projects, competitions, workshops, stories, painting, parties, dinners, fishing trips, walks, gatherings and conversations. Nasios and Era believe that by working across disciplines and through the broad skillset and perspectives of its expansive team, the studio is able to generate rich, impactful projects, rooted in place and context. As a collective, Urban Radicals examines architecture from a variety of perspectives – economy, ecology, storytelling, community, and craft. More recently, Nasios and Era have been selected to design and co-curate the National Participation for Cyprus at the 17th Architecture Biennale in Venice.

For our #SouthKenGreenTrail #Goinggreen initiative, Urban Radicals is collaborating with Adam Harris – landscape architect and project manager at Millimetre. Adam is passionate about native wildflower species and creating spaces that increase biodiversity in an urban setting and believes that by developing our connection to natural processes, we benefit both our cities and well-being. The team is also working with specialist wind energy consultants – Aerotrope, founded by Chris Hornzee-Jones.

Urban Radicals

Instagram Icon
Instagram
 

Natalie Taylor: Foodbank for Pollinators. Seeding for the Future from July 23rd on @Prince's Gardens, SW7 2PH

Flower meadow with lettering rewild © TAU



Edinburgh-based artist Natalie Taylor has seeded a small public site in Weimar with wildflowers to symbolically re-wild it. Closely associated with Goethe and the Classical Period in German culture, the town in the East of Germany is also famous for its UNESCO World Heritage sites including a number of cultivated, historic parks.  While the artwork is designed to raise awareness of biodiversity loss and our exploitative relationship to nature, it invites us to consider how we can reimagine and re-shape urban areas and possibly even parks to enter into a harmonious existence with the natural world. But Taylor’s insertion of a small area of wildflowers into the city context is not merely a symbolic act. The flowers will also provide a new habitat for insects in a location flanked by roads and normally covered exclusively by grass. With her artwork, Taylor not only reacts to the wider climate and ecological emergency we are facing, but also specifically to a 2017 report, the re-analysis of the so-called 2013 Krefeld study, that states a 75% loss in insect biomass over 27 years (1989 – 2016) in selected areas that were already protected nature areas. Millions of insect “foodbanks” are needed and we can create them in more places than we think. Taylor’s flower bed spells out the word REWILD and is a call for action.
 
The first context for this project was the Kultursymposium Weimar 2021 organised by the Goethe-Institut in Germany (16 - 17 June 2021). The main theme of the 2021 edition of this biennial event was “Generations” and Natalie Taylor’s project has been conceived very much in the spirit of this thematic focus. The plan for the urban wild flower bed harks back to the experience and knowledge of past generations and suggests a template for how present and future generations can find a more harmonious co-existence with nature on a daily basis and also in our built environment. The second setting for the "Rewild" project will be Prince's Gardens in SW7 2PH, London from July 23rd on.


Natalie Taylor
Natalie Taylor | © Kevin Dagg
Natalie Taylor is an artist, designer, gardener, activist and mother using tools of visual communication to challenge our harmful relationship to plants and by extension all of nature. Using research based methods and responding to many scientific reports in recent years she has addressed ecological subjects in a visually arresting and sometimes light-hearted way. Recently included in Royal Scottish Academy and Palace of Holyrood House Visitor Centre exhibitions, she has also been part of award winning teams for creative urban regeneration projects in Edinburgh.

Natalie Taylor
Instagram Logo
 natalietaylorartist
 

Ann-Kristin Jakubek: A Toothless Grin

Ann-Kristin Jakubek: A Toothless Grin © Ann-Kristin Jakubek



Acknowledging the digital framework of this year's edition of the Kultursymposium Weimar, we have commissioned another work to respond to Natalie Taylor’s artwork Foodbank for Pollinators. Seeding for the Future in a digital format. Winning a competition among students of the Bauhaus-University Weimar, artist and filmmaker Ann-Kristin Jakubek has produced an artwork that will explore what Natalie Taylor seeks to stop - our growing detachment from nature.

While Taylor’s work consists of a physical site in Weimar and proposes a countermeasure to biodiversity loss in our natural environment, Jakubek uses a video format to explore how the digital has been shaping our relation to nature, its representation and experience by humans.  Drawing on art forms and genres like performance, fashion, spatial sound, documentary, and music video she develops a narrative of human alienation from nature and absorption into the digital. In her work the natural world becomes increasingly mechanised, deformed and abstracted, emulating computer generated images produced through the employment of drone photography and machine learning in the form of generative adversarial network (GAN) technology.
 
Ann-Kristin Jakubek has worked with fellow students of diverse expertise to produce her video, which in a further rendition is ultimately intended for a fulldome /planetarium immersive projection. A Toothless Grin was presented as a video artwork during the Kultursymposium Weimar (16 – 17 June 2021) and thus found its congenial context in this two-day online event, which due to the COVID-19 pandemic has been conceived in a digital format. The short film is still available on Youtube.


Ann-Kristin Jakubek
Ann-Kristin Jakubek | © Leon Brandt
Ann-Kristin Jakubek is a young, award-winning media artist and film director, specialising in cinematic
moving image and virtual world building. Guided by her background in art direction, branding and film-making at the Amsterdam Fashion Institute, Kristin experiments with new media forms of storytelling, centred around immersive, digital moving-image formats. At the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, she currently explores avenues to further enhance her visual storytelling by bringing both, virtual and sculptural forms of ‘worldbuilding’ together.

Ann-Kristin Jakubek
Vimeo 30x30
Vimeo

Instagram Icon
Instagram
 

Top

Going Green

GoingGreen © Luke O'Donovan

Unsere erhöhte Aufmerksamkeit für die Natur wurde während der COVID-19-Pandemie zu einem viel diskutierten Thema. Während der „Lock Downs“ ließen wir die Natur in Frieden und hatten mehr Zeit, um zu beobachten, was sie sich in unserer Umgebung verhielt. Der Ursprung des Virus hat uns auch bewusster gemacht, wie weit wir Menschen in das Reich der Natur eingedrungen sind. Das Wissen über unsere negativen Auswirkungen auf das Klima und die Ökosysteme geht natürlich weit vor der Pandemie zurück. COP26, der Klimagipfel in Glasgow im November, ist schon lange geplant, und muss, das wissen wir, entscheidende Veränderungen bringen.

Viele von uns, darunter auch wir beim Goethe-Institut, wünschen uns, dass wir Menschen mit einem anderen Verhältnis zur Natur aus der Pandemie hervorgehen, einem Verhältnis, dass Wiederherstellen, Schutz und Fürsorge über Ausbeutung und Zerstörung stellt. Wir freuen uns daher, eine Reihe von Kunstprojekten und Kooperation zu diesem Thema zu präsentieren.

#SouthKenGreenTrail Installations from July 23rd on: South Kensington Green Trail @EXRD

Exhibition Road Luke O'Donovan

Im Mai diesen Jahres hat das Goethe-Institut London zusammen mit Discover South Kensington, dem V & A, dem Science Museum, das Goethe-Institut und dem London Festival of Architecture drei Designteams ausgewählt, die mit innovativen Installationen mehr Raum für Biodiversität im Kulturviertel South Kensington schaffen werden und bestehende lokale ökologische Initiativen wie den Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea’s Bee Superhighway unterstützen sollen. Die Installationen unter dem Motto #SouthKenGreenTrail sind seit dem 23. Juli in der Exhibition Road über den ganzen Sommer und Herbst hinweg bis zum Great Exhibition Road Festival (9. - 15. Oktober) zu sehen. Besucher und Besucherinnen des Viertels sind eingeladen, neuartige Konstruktionen und speziell ausgesuchte Pflanzen und Architektur zu erkunden und zu genießen.
#Rediscoversouthken #Goinggreen #SouthKenGreenTrail

Die Gewinner des Wettbwewerbs und gezeitgen Installationen sind:


Partner:  

#Windflower Intervention @EXRD: Urban Radicals with Adam Harris

Windflower © Luke O'Donovan

Windflower (zu Deutsch: Windblume) von Urban Radicals und Adam Harris gegenüber des Goethe-Insituts London besteht aus Teilen eines modifiziertes, ausrangiertes und wiederverwerteten Rotorblatts einer Windturbine. Aufgearbeitet und umfunktioniert vermittelt es die unglaubliche Größe von Windturbinen und bringt uns ihre überraschende Schönheit inmitten der  Londoner Innenstadt näher. Die Teile des Rotorblatts sind mit Wildblumen bepflanzt, um Bienen und Insekten anzulocken und gleichzeitig Besucher*innen zum Erkunden, Verweilen und Genießen einzuladen.

Statements von Urban Radicals:

"Eine mysteriöse Waldkreatur, eine undurchsichtige Wolke, die gartenähnliche Zustände in den öffentlichen Raum überträgt."

"Ein absolut wundervolles, in seiner Umgebung eingebundenes Projekt, das eine wunderschöne Skulptur entstehen lässt, in der sich Architektur, Ingenieurkunst, Landschaftsbau und Menschen unter dem Thema der Pflegens und Sorgens verbinden. Erdacht und entworfen, um Möglichkeiten für zuküntige grüne Infrastrukturen und für unseren Städtebau aufzuzeigen."

"Um Bewusstsein zu schaffen und Lösungsansätzen für das Weiterleben einer Windturbine zu bieten, modifiziert die Installation das ausrangierte Rotorblatt und verwandelt es in eine treppenartige, interaktive Skulptur. Mit Kräutern und anderer Vegetation bepflanzt wird die Installation Biodiversität fördern und Bienen anziehen. Besucher und Besucherinnen können zwischen den Teilen lustwandeln, sich setzen und das ganze einfach genießen."

"Mit COP26 in den Startlöchern und fast zwei Jahrhunderte nach der Great Exhibition gehen die Klimaziele für 2050, was die Gestaltung unserer Städte und unserer Umwelt angeht,  von einer saubereren, nachhaltigeren und effizienteren Zukunft aus. Wir brauchen nicht nur neue Strukturen und Protokolle, um neue Infrastukturen und Wohnmöglichkeiten zu schaffen, wir müssen auch radikal umdenken, um bestehende Gebäude "wiederzuverwenden" und ausgediente Komponenten aufzuwerten - upzucyclen."


Urban Radicals and Adam Harris
© Urban Radicals and Adam Harris
Urban Radicals ist ein seit 2019 bestehendes Künstlerkollektiv, gegründet vom Architekten Nasios Varnavas und der Designerin Era Savvides mit dem Ziel ein Netzwerk aus Beteiligten zu formen, um Probleme über bestehende Kontexte und festgefahrene Maßstäbe hinaus zu bewältigen. Das Studio hat sich durch unzählige Projekte, Wettbewerbe, Workshops, Storys, Gemälde, Partys, Dinner, Angelausflüge, Spaziergänge, Zusammenkünfte und Diskurse einen Namen in der Kunstszene gemacht. Nasios und Era sind davon überzeugt, dass das disziplinübergreifende Arbeiten mit Hilfe eines breiten Skillsets und eines erfahrenen Teams mit breit gefächerten Perspektiven dazu beiträgt, nachhaltige und tiefgründige Projekte in passenden Kontexten zu realisieren.
Als Kollektiv betrachtet Urban Radicals das Themenfeld Architektur aus vielen verschiedenen Perspektiven - Wirtschaft, Ökologie, Storytelling, Gemeinschaft und Handwerk. Außerdem wurden sie jüngst dazu auserkoren die National Participation für Zypern bei der 17. Architektur Biennale in Venedig zu designen und zu co-kuratieren.

Für die #SouthKenGreenTrail #Goinggreen Intervention mit dem Goethe-Institut London arbeitet Urban Radicals mit Adam Harris, Landschaftsarchitekt und Projektmanager bei Millimetre, zusammen. Harris, der eine Passion für lokale Wildblumenarten hat und sich für Raumentwicklung zu Biodiversität im urbanen Raum interessiert, glaubt, dass das Fördern und Entwickeln der Vebindung von Urbanität zu natürlichen Prozessen dazu führt, dass wir mehr von unseren Städten und Metropolen profitieren können. Das Team arbeitet zudem mit den Windenergiespezialisten Aerotope, gegründet von Chris Hornzee-Jones, zusammen.

Urban Radicals

Instagram Icon
Instagram
 

Natalie Taylor: Foodbank for Pollinators. Seeding for the Future from July 23rd on @Prince's Gardens, SW7 2PH

Blumenwiese mit Schriftzug Rewild © TAU



Die in Edinburgh lebende Künstlerin Natalie Taylor hat in Weimar auf einer kleinen städtischen Grünfläche eine Beet mit Wildblumen anlegen alssen, um es in einem symbolischen Akt zu re-naturieren. Die eng mit Goethe und der deutschen Klassik verbundene Stadt im Osten Deutschlands, ist auch berühmt für ihr UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe, darunter eine Reihe von sehr gepflegten historischen Parks. Während das Taylors Kunstwerk das Bewusstsein für den Verlust an Biodiversität und unser ausbeuterisches Verhältnis zur Natur schärfen soll, lädt es uns auch dazu ein, darüber nachzudenken, wie wir städtische Gebiete und möglicherweise sogar Parks neu imaginieren und umgestalten können, um eine harmonische Existenz mit der natürlichen Welt aufzubauen. Aber Taylors Intervention in den Stadtkontext mit einer kleinen Fläche mit Wildblumen ist nicht nur ein symbolischer Akt. Die ausgesäten Blumen bieten auch einen neuen Lebensraum für Insekten an einem Ort, der von Straßen flankiert wird und normalerweise ausschließlich von Gras bedeckt ist. Taylor reagiert mit ihrem Kunstwerk nicht nur auf die Klimakrise und das Artensterben im allgemeinen, speziell auf einen Bericht aus dem Jahr 2017, eine Neuanalyse der sogenannten Krefeld-Studie von 2013. Der Bericht konstatiert einen Verlust von 75% an Insektenbiomasse über einen Zeitraum von 27 Jahre (1989 - 2016) in ausgewählten Gebieten, die bereits Naturschutzgebiete waren. Millionen von Foodbanks for Pollinators – „Tafeln für Insekten“ -  sind notwendig, um diesen Verlust entgegenzuwirken. Wir können sie an mehr Orten schaffen, als wir denken. Taylors Blumenbeet buchstabiert das Wort „REWILD“ und ist ein Aufruf zum Handeln.
 
Der Kontext für dieses Projekt war zuerst das Kultursymposium Weimar 2021 (16. - 17. Juni 2021), das vom Goethe-Institut in Deutschland organisiert wurde. Das zentrale Thema der diesjährigen Ausgabe des alle zwei Jahre stattfindenden Symposiums ist "Generationen", und Natalie Taylors hat ihr Projekt im Geiste dieses Themas konzipiert. Das Konzept für ihr städtisches Wildblumenbeet bezieht sich auf die Erfahrungen vergangener Generationen und entwirft ein Modell dafür, wie gegenwärtige und zukünftige Generationen täglich und auch in unserer gebauten Umwelt harmonischer mit der Natur zusammenleben können. Das zweite Setting für das "Rewild" Blumenbeet ist ab dem 23. Juli 2021 der Park hinter dem Goethe-Institut London: Prince's Gardens, SW7 2PH, London.


Natalie Taylor
Natalie Taylor | © Kevin Dagg
Natalie Taylor ist Künstlerin, Designerin, Gärtnerin, Aktivistin und Mutter. Sie setzt Mittel der visuellen Kommunikation ein, um unsere zerstörerische  Beziehung zu Pflanzen und darüber hinaus zu aller Natur in Frage zu stellen. In Reaktion auf wissenschaftlicher Berichte und unter Anwendung forschungsbasierte Methoden setzt sie sich mit ökologischen Themen auseinander. Ihre Arbeiten setzten dabei auf eine starke visuelle Wirkung, vermitteln mitunter jedoch auch eine gewisse Unbeschwertheit.  Neben der Teilnahme an Ausstellungen der Royal Scottish Academy und des Palace of Holyrood House Visitor Centre in letzter Zeit, war sie auch Mitglied preisgekrönter Teams, die kreative Stadterneuerungsprojekte in Edinburgh durchgeführt haben.

Natalie Taylor
Instagram Logo
 natalietaylorartist
 

Ann-Kristin Jakubek: A Toothless Grin

Ann-Kristin Jakubek: A Toothless Grin © Ann-Kristin Jakubek



Anlässlich des digitalen Auftritts der Kultursymposiums Weimar in diesem Jahr haben wir eine weitere Arbeit in Auftrag gegeben, die auf Natalie Taylors Kunstwerk Foodbank for Pollinators Seeding for the Future in einem digitalen Format  reagiert. Mittels eines Wettbewerbs unter Student*innen der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar haben wir die Künstlerin und Filmemacherin Ann-Kristin Jakubek ausgewählt. In ihrer Arbeit setzt sie sich mit dem Phänomen auseinander, dem Natalie Taylor entgegenwirken möchten – unsere wachsende Entfremdung von der Natur.
 
Während Taylors Arbeit an einem physischen Ort in Weimar entsteht und eine Gegenmaßnahme gegen den Verlust an Artenvielfalt darstellt, verwendet Jakubek ein Videoformat, um den Einfluss des Digitalen auf unser Verhältnis zur Natur, unsere Erfahrung und Darstellung der natürlichen Welt zu visualisieren. Unter der Verwendung von Kunstformen- und Techniken wie Performance, Modedesign, räumlichem Sound, Dokumentarfilm und Musikvideo zeigt sie einen Prozess zunehmender menschlicher Naturentfremdung und gleichzeitiger Vereinnahmung durch die digitale Sphäre. In ihrer Arbeit wird die natürliche Welt zunehmend mechanisiert, deformiert und abstrahiert. Dies geschieht mit Bildern, die durch den Einsatz von Drohnenfotografie und maschinellem Lernen in Form der GAN-Technologie (Generative Adversarial Network) erzeugt werden.
 
Ann-Kristin Jakubek hat mit anderen Student*innen aus unterschiedlichen Fachrichtungen zusammen gearbeitet, um ihr Video zu produzieren, das zukünftig in einer weiteren Version für eine immersive Projektion von Fulldome / Planetarium realisiert wird. A Tootless Grin wurde während des Kultursymposiums Weimar (16. - 17. Juni 2021) als Video-Arbeit präsentiert und fand so seinen kongenialen Kontext in der zweitägigen Online-Veranstaltung, die aufgrund der COVID-19-Pandemie in einem digitalen Format konzipiert wurde. Weiterhin ist es natürlich über Youtube streambar.


Ann-Kristin Jakubek
Ann-Kristin Jakubek | © Leon Brandt
Ann-Kristin Jakubek ist eine junge, bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnete Medienkünstlerin und Filmemacherin, die in ihren gegenwartsbezogenen Arbeiten insbesondere mit kinematischer Bildgestaltung und virtuellen Raumkonstruktionen experimentiert.
Auf der Grundlage ihrer am Amsterdam Fashion Institute erworbenen Erfahrungen in den Bereichen Art Direction, Branding und Filmgestaltung, setzt Kristin auf neue Formen des storytelling mittels immersiver Bildformate, die sie aktuell an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar durch ’Extended/Virtual-Reality’ als auch Installations -Techniken ergänzt.

Ann-Kristin Jakubek
Vimeo 30x30
Vimeo

Instagram Icon
Instagram
 

Top