Counterflows: Mazen Kerbaj

Mazen Kerbaj Portrait

Mazen Kerbaj - the Interview

Mazen Kerbaj interviews the experimental musician and filmmaker... Mazen Kerbaj - and succeeds in delivering, on top of his short movie about Mazen Kerbaj, by Mazen Kerbaj, an accurate and amusing self-portrait. Discover exciting insights into the making of the video - as well as more information about Mazen Kerbaj - by watching the interview:
 

Mazen Kerbaj – the Musical

His short movie follows an imaginary day in the life of experimental musician Mazen Kerbaj. In more than 15 apparitions, Kerbaj delves into activities as varied as sleeping, talking, praying, playing, or fighting, sometimes alone and sometimes with himself. The result is an accurate yet amusing self-portrait, exploring both the unique music practice of the artist and his humorous approach to megalomania. The film is available until the end of April 2021 at the Counterflows website.

The film and any additional material was created for the 10th edition of the Counterflows festival in 2021 – “Counterflows at home”.

About Mazen Kerbaj

Mazen Kerbaj is a Lebanese comics author, visual artist, and musician born in Beirut in 1975. He also works on selective illustration and design projects and has taught at the American University of Beirut. Kerbaj is the author of more than 15 books, and his short stories and drawings have been published in anthologies, newspapers, and magazines. His work has been translated into more than ten languages in various local and international publications. His paintings, drawings, videos, live performances and installations have been shown as part of numerous solo and collective exhibitions, in galleries, museums and art fairs around the world.

His visual art is heavily influenced by his musical improvisation practice; this is apparent in his long standing “four hands” collaborations with other visual artists, such as Laure Ghorayeb (his mother) and Hatem Imam, as well as his live visual performances, such as Wormholes. Mazen Kerbaj is widely considered as one of the initiators and key players of the Lebanese free improvisation and experimental music scene and as a trumpet player, whether in solo performances or with long-lasting groups like “A” Trio, Kerbaj pushes the boundaries of the instrument and continues to develop a personal sound and an innovative language.

Previous Editions

Counterflows: Soundportrait by Mark Vernon and Barry Burns

Sound protrait shows the musicality of language and urban noises. The beauty of this collage inspires optimism. Echos from sound archives unfold their full diversity in this time of crisis and deceleration. A collaboration by Mark Vernon and Barry Burns, experimental musicians, sound artists, radio producers and co-managers of Glasgow’s art radio station Radiophrenia and the Berlin based sound and radio artist Antje Vowinckel.
  Soundportrait Antje Vowinckel ©Counterflows


Vernon & Burns are a duo of sound makers who create radio plays, records and performances through an innovative mix of samples, field recordings, voice and music. They have produced programmes for radio stations including VPRO, Resonance FM, WFMU and The Audible Picture Show and have had records released on Felix Kubin’s Gagarin Records, Akashic Records, Staalplaat’s Mort Aux Vaches series and two LP’s with Lied Music released on Ultra Eczema and Shadazz. Together, they also manage Glasgow based art radio station, Radiophrenia.

Antje Vowinckel is a Berlin based sound and radio artist. She studied literature and music and wrote a thesis on „Collage in radio play“. Her works include  sound art, radioplay and compositions for a variety of public radio stations such as (Deutschlandfunk, WDR, SWR, Radio France) as well as for foreign stations and festivals. In recent years, she has created also live performances, installations in public space and a video composition. Her focus is on the musicality of the spoken word, for example in compositions with dialect melodies or in pieces based on automatic speaking.

Vernon & Burns

The project began with a series of questions and actions devised by Vernon and Burns for Vowinckel to respond to remotely from her home in Berlin. This consisted of queries about her practice and relationship with sound and music, requests for descriptions and recordings of her immediate sound environment, domestic chores, singing, lists, sound memories and an analysis of the qualities of her own voice. All of the resultant material was combined with extracts of Vowinckel’s work and excerpts from field recordings and other compositions by all three artists. The eccentric approach in the resultant audio collage is not intended as an accurate portrait of Vowinckel, more as an impressionistic overview with interventions and twists on the conventional form; thoughts and meditations on the act of purposeful listening and sound creation.

The raw material provided by Vowinckel was cut up, processed, manipulated and recontextualised by Vernon and Burns. The piece, with its playful approach to assemblage and composition, combines the personalities and working methods of all three artists.

Top

Counterflows: Mazen Kerbaj

Mazen Kerbaj Portrait

Mazen Kerbaj - THE Interview

Mazen Kerbaj interviewt den experimentellen Musiker und Filmemacher... Mazen Kerbaj - und schafft es, zusätzlich zu seinem Kurzfilm über Mazen Kerbaj, von Mazen Kerbaj ein genaues und amüsantes Selbstportrait zu liefern. Spannende Einblicke in die Entstehung des Videos - sowie weitere Informationen über Mazen Kerbaj - finden Sie hier:

 
© Mazen Kerbaj

Mazen Kerbaj – the Musical

Der Kurzfilm folgt einem imaginären Tag im Leben des experimentellen Musikers Mazen Kerbaj. In mehr als 15 Erscheinungen widmet sich Kerbaj so unterschiedlichen Aktivitäten wie Schlafen, Reden, Beten, Spielen oder Kämpfen, manchmal allein und manchmal mit sich selbst. Das Ergebnis ist ein genaues und zugleich amüsantes Selbstporträt, das sowohl die einzigartige Musikpraxis des Künstlers als auch seinen humorvollen Umgang mit Größenwahn beleuchtet. Der Film ist bis Ende April 2021 auf der Counterflows-Website verfügbar.

Der Film sowie Zusatzmaterialien wurden für die 10. Ausgabe des Counterflows Festivals im Jahr 2021 erstellt - "Counterflows at home".

About Mazen Kerbaj

Mazen Kerbaj ist ein libanesischer Comic-Autor, bildender Künstler und Musiker, geboren 1975 in Beirut. Er arbeitet an ausgewählten Illustrations- und Designprojekten und hat an der American University of Beirut unterrichtet. Kerbaj ist Autor von mehr als 15 Büchern, und seine Kurzgeschichten und Zeichnungen wurden in Anthologien, Zeitungen und Magazinen veröffentlicht. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehr als zehn Sprachen übersetzt und in verschiedenen lokalen und internationalen Publikationen veröffentlicht. Seine Gemälde, Zeichnungen, Videos, Live-Performances und Installationen wurden im Rahmen zahlreicher Einzel- und Kollektivausstellungen, in Galerien, Museen und auf Kunstmessen auf der ganzen Welt gezeigt.

Seine visuelle Kunst ist stark von seiner musikalischen Improvisationspraxis beeinflusst; dies zeigt sich in seinen langjährigen "Vier-Hände"-Kollaborationen mit anderen visuellen Künstlern, wie Laure Ghorayeb (seine Mutter) und Hatem Imam, sowie in seinen visuellen Live-Performances, wie z.B. Wormholes. Mazen Kerbaj gilt weithin als einer der Initiatoren und Schlüsselfiguren der libanesischen freien Improvisations- und experimentellen Musikszene. Als Trompeter, ob in Soloauftritten oder mit langjährigen Gruppen wie dem "A" Trio, verschiebt Kerbaj die Grenzen des Instruments und entwickelt ferner einen persönlichen Sound und eine innovative Sprache.

Bisherige Ausgaben

Counterflows: Klangportrait von Mark Vernon und Barry Burns

Soundportrait Antje Vowinckel ©Counterflows
Das Klangportrait, zeigt die Musikalität von Sprache und urbanen Geräuschen. Eine Art Nachrauschen aus Soundarchiven, das durch die krisenbedingte Entschleunigung erst seine ganze Diversität entfalten kann. Eine Zusammenarbeit von Mark Vernon und Barry Burns, Experimentalmusiker, Klangkünstler, Radioproduzenten und Co-Manager von Glasgows Kunstradiostation Radiophrenia und der in Berlin lebenden Klangkünstlerin Antje Vowinckel.
 


Vernon & Burns sind Klangkünstler, die Hörspiele, Platten und Performances durch eine innovative Mischung aus Samples, Feldaufnahmen, Stimme und Musik kreieren. Sie haben Programme für Radiosender wie VPRO, Resonance FM, WFMU und The Audible Picture Show produziert und haben Platten auf Felix Kubins Gagarin Records, Akashic Records, Staalplaats Mort Aux Vaches Serie und zwei LPs mit Lied Music auf Ultra Eczema und Shadazz veröffentlicht. Gemeinsam leiten sie auch den in Glasgow ansässigen Kunstradiosender Radiophrenia.
 
Antje Vowinckel ist eine in Berlin lebende Klang- und Radiokünstlerin. Sie studierte Literatur und Musik und schrieb eine Diplomarbeit über "Collage im Hörspiel". Ihre Arbeiten umfassen Klangkunst, Hörspiel und Kompositionen für verschiedene öffentlich-rechtliche Radiosender wie (Deutschlandfunk, WDR, SWR, Radio France) sowie für ausländische Sender und Festivals. In den letzten Jahren hat sie auch Live-Performances, Installationen im öffentlichen Raum und eine Videokomposition geschaffen. Ihr Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Musikalität des gesprochenen Wortes, zum Beispiel in Kompositionen mit Dialektmelodien oder in Stücken, die auf automatischem Sprechen basieren.

Vernon & Burns

Die eigentlich als Festivalbeitrag geplante Kooperation ist durch die Pandemie neu ausgelegt worden. Die Klangwelt von Antjes Heimatstadt Berlin wird erweitert durch Reiseaufnahmen. Die Schönheit dieser Collage flößt Optimismus ein. Eine Art Nachrauschen von Antjes Soundarchiven, das durch die Krisenbedingte Entschleunigung erst seine ganze Diversität entfalten kann.

Das Portrait ist eine Kooperation zwischen den Glasgower Künstlern und Radiomachern Vernon & Burns und der Klangkünstlerin Antje Vowinckel.

Top