Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“

  • “Schools: Partners for the Future” (PASCH) initiative © Kai Uwe Oesterhellweg

  • “Schools: Partners for the Future” initiative © Kai Uwe Oesterhellweg

  • “Schools: Partners for the Future” initiative © PASCH-net

  • “Schools: Partners for the Future” initiative © Kai Uwe Oesterhellweg

  • “Schools: Partners for the Future” initiative © Keller

  • “Schools: Partners for the Future” initiative © PASCH-net

  • “Schools: Partners for the Future” initiative © Bernhard Ludewig

The “Schools: Partners for the Future” (PASCH) initiative creates a global network of more than 1,800 PASCH schools with particular ties to Germany. The Goethe-Institut supports around 550 PASCH schools in the national education systems of over 100 countries.

The “Schools: Partners for the Future” (PASCH) initiative was launched in February 2008 by Germany’s Federal Foreign Office. PASCH is coordinated by the Federal Foreign Office and implemented in cooperation with the Central Agency for Schools Abroad (ZfA), the Goethe-Institut, the German Academic Exchange Service and the Educational Exchange Service of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany.
 

Guiding principles and goals

PASCH is organized according to four guiding principles:
  • prospects through education,
  • broadened horizons through multilingualism,
  • access to language and education and
  • joint tackling of future problems as an international community of learners

"Schools: Partners for the Future" initiative


The “Schools: Partners for the Future” (PASCH) initiative was launched in February 2008 by Germany’s Federal Foreign Office. PASCH strengthens and creates a global network of more than 1,800 PASCH schools with particular ties to Germany. The Goethe-Institut supports around 550 PASCH schools in the national education systems of over 100 countries.

The initiative is coordinated by the Federal Foreign Office and implemented in cooperation with the Central Agency for Schools Abroad (ZfA), the Goethe-Institut, the German Academic Exchange Service and the Educational Exchange Service of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany.

The network of German schools abroad and schools offering the German Language Certificate is being strengthened. Furthermore, cooperation with schools is being stepped up with a view to anchoring German as a foreign language more firmly within national education systems. In addition, scholarships for pursuing a course of study in Germany and opportunities for school exchanges and twinning programmes are made available.

Goals of PASCH

The initiative is designed to arouse and sustain young people’s interest in and enthusiasm for modern-day Germany, German society and the German language. A global network of partner schools of the Federal Republic of Germany is being created; the schools become part of an international community of learners through shared activities and exchange. 

PASCH offers attractive training courses that help give pupils and teachers qualifications that will serve them well in the longer term, thereby building upon the skills that the young people will need to study in Germany and in their later professional lives. It additionally aims to establish lively and long-lasting ties to Germany and to encourage schools, teachers and pupils to share their thoughts and ideas openly with one another and to work together. Furthermore, PASCH is linked to other foreign cultural relations and educational policy initiatives such as the “Kulturweit” voluntary service.

Role and activities of the Goethe-Institut

The Goethe-Institut helps the more than 550 schools it supports to include or expand German teaching on their curricula. It offers teachers further training in pedagogical methods and language courses, and equips schools with modern multimedia-friendly teaching, learning and cultural studies materials. Within the framework of the initiative, the Goethe-Institut has additionally sent teaching experts out to assist the partner schools around the world. Youth programmes are run in Germany for pupils from participating schools, allowing them to improve their language proficiency, develop their intercultural skills and experience Germany and its culture at first hand.

The www.pasch-net.de website is divided into three areas:
  • General area
  • Teachers’ area
  • Students’ area
The general area

The general area features information about the participating institutions and their activities. These include projects within the framework of the PASCH initiative, blogs from staff working in different regions of the world, PASCH youth courses in Germany and a forum where schools can find international twinning partners. An interactive world map provides an overview of the network of partner schools, and the participating schools present brief portraits of themselves.

The teachers’ area

In this area, teachers can find ideas about how to use PASCH-net in their German lessons, download teaching materials and obtain information about pedagogical methods. The PASCH learning platform allows teachers to set up their own virtual classrooms or to use existing courses.

In the community, teachers can share material or find partners for their project ideas. Thanks to the community, the learning platform and blogs, teachers can realize international projects such as regional online school newspapers or podcasts.

On its PASCH learning platform, PASCH-net offers tutored online further training courses for teachers. In the PASCH-net-Führerschein online course, teachers learn about the website’s advantages for German lessons, such as the communities, learning platform and PASCH-Global school newspaper. In the Moodle-Führerschein online course they learn how the PASCH learning platform, which is based on Moodle software, can be used in school lessons or during a teaching training course.

Contact: lernplattform@pasch-net.de

The students’ area

Pupils learning German at PASCH schools can share ideas and opinions with other pupils in the community. They can also upload texts, photos and videos there, set up groups and join forum discussions.

Competitions and projects encourage pupils to get involved. Texts with different levels of difficulty provide information about Germany, including options for studying there.

Discussion topics, activities and language games for learners of German. 

Anyone who wants to play an active role in the communities or the learning platform on PASCH-net has to register and then log in using their e-mail address and password.
  Contact: service@pasch-net.de

 

The PASCH network encompasses more than 1,800 schools worldwide. The Goethe-Institut supports over 550 schools in the national education systems of over 100 countries. Within the framework of the "Schools: Partners for the Future“ initiative, these schools have included or expanded German teaching on their curricula. For the most part, German is offered as a second foreign language at the schools. The PASCH network additionally includes the 142 German schools abroad supported by the Central Agency for Schools Abroad (ZfA), as well as around 1,000 national schools which offer the German Language Certificate of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany.

School portraits

The PASCH initiative in the United Kindom

Partner Schools


Tomlinscote School & Sixth Form College is one of four partner schools in the UK. Founded in 1970 as a comprehensive, co-educational school, Tomlinscote School & Sixth Form College in Frimley in Surrey has around 1600 pupils.

As a designated Language College, Tomlinscote School considers modern languages a basis for pupils’ carreer chances and aims to offer as wide a choice of languages as possible.

We were delighted to learn that German is offered as a first foreign language and that all students are expected to take at least one foreign language to GCSE examination.

The German Department at Tomlinscote School is currently working on increasing the take-up of German. To ensure that pupils receive an authentic impression of German-speaking countries, the school has joined various partnerships such as with the Robert Bosch Gymnasium in Wedlingen.

An intensive and constantly developing exchange programme benefits in particular pupils in Key Stages 3 and 5. Those in KS 5 are offered the option to do a one-week work experience in Germany.

Tomlinscote School already has some experience in Content and Language Integrated Learning Projects (CLIP). As a member of the “Schools, Partners for the Future” project the school hopes to play a part in further developing cross-curricular teaching in the UK.


Tomlinscote School

Leighton Academy is situated in Crewe, Cheshire and with over 500 children currently on its roll ranks it is one of the larger primary schools in England. In April 2009 it was selected along with five other primary schools for the prestigious TES Primary School of the Year award for the most outstanding primary school in England and Wales.

The school had already been involved in a number of CLIL projects (Content Language Integrated Learning) and it has been able to intensify and extend these projects. Since the start of the partner school initiative a number of primary and secondary schools in the Crewe area have been motivated to choose German as their foreign language and these schools are also currently engaged in a number of CLIL projects.

Leighton Academy

Since June 2008 Bishopbriggs Academy has been the German Partnerschool in Scotland as part of the German government initiative “Schulen: Partner der Zukunft”. Bishopbriggs is a comprehensive secondary school near Glasgow. The school has 1.200 pupils and has moved in 2010 to a modern, well equipped and spacious new building.

Over the last years a great number of projects as well as educational and cultural events have made Bishopbriggs Academy a nationally acclaimed example of excellence (i.e.: Modern Languages Excellence Report 2011). This partnership project has had a significant impact with teaching colleagues, education authorities and elected political members at both a local and national level with responsibility for education. It has aided and positively influenced promoting the teaching and learning of German in Scottish education and increased the interest in German society.


Bishopsbriggs Academy

Colyton Grammar School is a co-educational state school where an aptitude test is required prior to enrolment. The school is located in rural Colyford in Colyton, Devon and is around three and a half hours from London. 826 pupils attend the school, which has acquired academy status with a specialisation in science.

Colyton Grammar School is regarded as one of the best schools in the country with Ofsted rating the school as ‘Outstanding’.

As a progressive school it has the most advanced technology, including a languages lab and a video conferencing system. The school offers its students a wide range of extra-curricular activities and operates through the "Leading Edge Partnership" scheme with seven other selective secondary schools in its local area as well as with the University of Exeter.

German is offered as a second foreign language after French from Year 8. The German department has a total of five teaching staff and has carried out successful collaborative projects with sixth-form students in primary schools. 

In addition to this, the German department maintains an exchange program with the Gymnasium Eckental in Bavaria, as part of which sixth form students complete a work placement in Germany. Moreover, trips to Berlin are also regularly arranged in collaboration with the history department.

Colyton Grammar School

Top

Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“

  • Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ © Kai Uwe Oesterhellweg

  • Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ © Kai Uwe Oesterhellweg

  • Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ © PASCH-net

  • Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ © Kai Uwe Oesterhellweg

  • Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ © Keller

  • Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ © PASCH-net

  • Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ © Jens Sauerbrey

Die Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ (PASCH) verbindet ein weltumspannendes Netz von mehr als 1.800 PASCH-Schulen mit besonderer Deutschlandbindung. Das Goethe-Institut betreut rund 550 PASCH-Schulen in den nationalen Bildungssystemen von über 100 Ländern.

Im Februar 2008 rief das Auswärtige Amt die Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ (PASCH) ins Leben. PASCH wird vom Auswärtigen Amt koordiniert und gemeinsam mit der Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen, dem Goethe-Institut, dem Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst und dem Pädagogischen Austauschdienst der Kultusministerkonferenz umgesetzt.

Leitgedanken und Ziele

Vier Leitgedanken bestimmen die Ausrichtung von PASCH:
  • Perspektiven durch Bildung,
  • Horizonterweiterung durch Mehrsprachigkeit,
  • Zugang zu Sprache und Bildung und
  • gemeinsames Angehen von Zukunftsproblemen als internationale Lerngemeinschaft


Im Februar 2008 rief das Auswärtige Amt die Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ (PASCH) ins Leben. PASCH stärkt und verbindet ein weltumspannendes Netz von mehr als 1.800 PASCH-Schulen mit besonderer Deutschlandbindung. Das Goethe-Institut betreut rund 550 PASCH-Schulen in den nationalen Bildungssystemen von über 100 Ländern.

Die Initiative wird vom Auswärtigen Amt koordiniert und gemeinsam mit der Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen, dem Goethe-Institut, dem Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst und dem Pädagogischen Austauschdienst der Kultusministerkonferenz umgesetzt.

Das Netz von Deutschen Auslandsschulen und Schulen, die das Deutsche Sprachdiplom anbieten, wird gestärkt. Darüber hinaus wird die schulische Zusammenarbeit ausgebaut, um in den nationalen Bildungssystemen Deutsch als Fremdsprache weiter zu festigen. Zusätzlich werden die Stipendien für ein Studium in Deutschland und die Möglichkeiten für Schüleraustausch und Schulpartnerschaften angeboten.

Ziele von PASCH

Bei jungen Menschen soll mit dieser Initiative nachhaltiges Interesse und Begeisterung für das moderne Deutschland, seine Gesellschaft und die deutsche Sprache geweckt werden. Ein weltweites Netzwerk von Partnerschulen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland entsteht; die Schulen werden durch gemeinsame Aktivitäten und Austausch zu einer internationalen Lerngemeinschaft. 

PASCH trägt mit attraktiven Bildungsangeboten zur nachhaltigen Qualifizierung sowohl von Schülerinnen und Schülern als auch von Lehrkräften bei und erweitert damit die Kompetenzen der jungen Menschen für ein Studium in Deutschland und im späteren Berufsleben. Ziele sind außerdem der Aufbau lebendiger und langfristiger Bindungen zu Deutschland sowie die Anregung der Schulen, ihrer Lehrkräfte und Schülerinnen und Schüler zum offenen Gedankenaustausch und zur Zusammenarbeit untereinander. PASCH ist zudem mit anderen Initiativen der Auswärtigen Kultur- und Bildungspolitik vernetzt, etwa dem Freiwilligendienst „Kulturweit“.

Aufgaben und Maßnahmen des Goethe-Instituts

Das Goethe-Institut unterstützt die mehr als 550 von ihm betreuten PASCH-Schulen darin, Deutsch als Schulfach einzuführen oder auszubauen. Es bietet Lehrkräften methodisch-didaktische Fortbildungen und Sprachkurse an und stattet die Schulen mit modernen, multimedial verwendbaren Lehr-, Lern- und Landeskundematerialien aus. Außerdem hat das Goethe-Institut im Rahmen der Initiative weltweit Unterrichtsexperten zur Betreuung der Partnerschulen entsandt. Jugendkurse in Deutschland für Schülerinnen und Schüler der beteiligten Schulen verbessern die Sprachkenntnisse, stärken die interkulturelle Kompetenz und machen Landeskunde lebendig.

Die Website www.pasch-net.de gliedert sich in drei Bereiche:
  • Allgemeiner Bereich
  • Lehrerbereich
  • Schülerbereich
Der allgemeine Bereich

Der allgemeine Bereich informiert über die beteiligten Institutionen und ihre Aktivitäten. Dazu gehören Projekte im Rahmen der PASCH-Initiative, Blogs von Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern aus verschiedenen Weltregionen, PASCH-Jugendkurse in Deutschland sowie eine Partnerbörse für internationale Schulpartnerschaften. Eine interaktive Weltkarte gibt einen Überblick über das Partnerschulnetz und die beteiligten Schulen präsentieren sich in kurzen Porträts.

Lehrerbereich

In diesem Bereich finden Lehrkräfte Anregungen für den Einsatz von PASCH-net im Deutschunterricht, Unterrichtsmaterialien zum Herunterladen und Informationen zu methodisch-didaktischen Themen. Auf der PASCH-Lernplattform können Lehrkräfte eigene virtuelle Kursräume einrichten oder vorhandene Kurse nutzen.

Die Community bietet die Möglichkeit Material auszutauschen oder für Projektideen auf Partnersuche zu gehen. In der Community, auf der Lernplattform oder über Blogs können Lehrende länderübergreifende Projekte realisieren, wie zum Beispiel regionale Online-Schülerzeitungen oder Podcasts.

Auf der PASCH-Lernplattform bietet PASCH-net tutorierte Online-Fortbildungen für Lehrkräfte an. Im Onlinekurs PASCH-net-Führerschein lernen Lehrkräfte die Angebote der Website für den Deutschunterricht kennen, zum Beispiel die Communitys, die Lernplattform und die Schülerzeitung PASCH-Global. Im Onlinekurs Moodle-Führerschein erfahren sie, wie sie die PASCH-Lernplattform, die auf der Software Moodle basiert, im Schulunterricht oder im Rahmen einer Lehrerfortbildung einsetzen können.

Kontakt: lernplattform@pasch-net.de

Schülerbereich

Deutschlernende an PASCH-Schulen tauschen sich in der Community mit anderen Schülerinnen und Schülern aus. Dort können sie auch Texte, Fotos und Videos hochladen, Gruppen gründen und in Foren miteinander diskutieren.

Wettbewerbe und Projekte regen zum Mitmachen an. Texte auf unterschiedlichen Sprachniveaus informieren über Deutschland, darunter auch über Studienmöglichkeiten.

Regelmäßige Diskussionsangebote, Mitmachaktivitäten und Lernspiele laden zum Deutsch üben ein.

Wer auf PASCH-net in den Communitys oder auf der Lernplattform aktiv sein möchte, muss sich registrieren und danach mit E-Mail-Adresse und Passwort anmelden. Kontakt: service@pasch-net.de

Das PASCH-Netzwerk umfasst weltweit mehr als 1.800 Schulen. Das Goethe-Institut betreut über 550 Schulen in den nationalen Bildungssystemen von über 100 Ländern. Im Rahmen der Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ haben diese Schulen den Deutschunterricht neu eingeführt oder ausgebaut. An den Schulen wird Deutsch vorwiegend als 2. Fremdsprache angeboten. Zum PASCH-Netzwerk gehören außerdem die von der Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen (ZfA) betreuten 142 Deutschen Auslandsschulen und rund 1.000 nationale Schulen, die das Deutsche Sprachdiplom der Kultusministerkonferenz anbieten.

Schulporträts

Die PASCH Initiative im Vereinigten Königreich

Partnerschulen


Tomlinscote School & Sixth Form College ist eine der vier Partnerschulen in Großbritannien.

Die 1970 gegründete öffentliche und koedukative Tomlinscote School & Sixth Form College hat ca. 1600 SchülerInnen und liegt in Frimley, im Südwesten von London liegenden Verwaltungsbezirk Surrey.
 
Mit dem formellen Status als „Language College“ versteht Tomlinscote School Fremdsprachenkenntnisse als elementare Voraussetzungen für die Karriere- und Berufsaussichten ihrer Schülerschaft und ist deshalb sehr bemüht, ihren Schülerinnen und Schülern ein breites Sprachangebot anzubieten.
 
Deutsch wird erfreulicherweise als erste Fremdsprache angeboten. Zudem wird von den SchülerInnen erwartet, dass sie in mindestens einer Fremdsprache eine GCSE-Prüfung ablegen.
 
Das German Department der Tomlinscote School ist bestrebt, das Fach Deutsch auszubauen. Um möglichst viele SchülerInnen für das Fach Deutsch zu gewinnen und den deutsprachigen Raum den SchülerInnnen authentisch darzustellen, verfügt Tomlinscote bereits über eine Vielzahl an Partnerschaften wie zum Beispiel mit dem Robert Bosch Gymnasium in Wedlingen.
 
Dieser Austausch wird intensiv gepflegt und inhaltlich konstant weiterentwickelt, von dem die SchülerInnen des KS 3 und ab KS 5 im erheblichen Maße profitieren. Den Lernern ab der KS 5 wird zudem die Möglichkeit eines einwöchigen Praktikums in Deutschland gegeben.
 
Tomlinscote School hat schon in der Vergangenheit erste Erfahrungen im Bereich Content and Language Integrated Learning (CLIL) sammeln können. Mit der PASCH-Mitgliedschaft möchte sich die Schule bemühen, mit fächerübergreifenden Themen CLIL in Großbritannien methodisch-didaktisch weiterzuentwickeln.


Tomlinscote School

Die Leighton Academy ist eine Primarschule am Rande von Crewe in Cheshire. Sie gehört mit ca. 500 Schülerinnen und Schülern zu den größeren Primarschulen des Landes. Im April 2009 wurde sie zusammen mit fünf anderen Primarschulen aus Großbritannien für den TES-Preis als beste Primarschule in England und Wales nominiert (Times Educational Supplement).

Die Schule führte bereits CLIL-Projekte durch (Integriertes Fremdsprachen- und Sachfachlernen) und wurde durch unsere Partnerschaft darin bestärkt, diese Projekte zu intensivieren und auszuweiten. Für das Fach Deutsch konnten seit Beginn der Partnerschul-Initiative bereits weitere Primarschulen und weiterführende Sekundarschulen begeistert werden, die auch an den derzeit laufenden CLIL-Projekten beteiligt sind.

Leighton Academy

Seit Juni 2008 ist Bishopbriggs Academy die deutsche Partnerschule in Schottland. Die Gesamtschule in der Nähe von Glasgow hat 1.200 Schüler und ist seit 2010 in einem modernen, großzügig ausgestatteten Gebäude untergebracht.

In den letzten Jahren haben eine Vielzahl von interessanten Projekten Bishopbriggs Academy zu einem nationalen Exzellenzbeispiel für internationale Partnerschaften gemacht (siehe u.a.: Modern Languages Excellence Report 2011). Das Interesse der Bildungspolitiker und die Ausstrahlung des Projektes auf Deutschlehrer und Fremdsprachennetzwerke unterstützt Förderungsmaßnahmen für deutsche Sprache und Kultur in Schottland und beeinflusst ein positives Deutschlandimage.

Bishopsbriggs Academy

Colyton Grammar School ist eine staatliche koedukative Schule, die von ihren SchülerInnen vor der Aufnahme einen Eignungstest abverlangt. Die Schule liegt im ländlichen Colyford, Colyton/Devon und ist ca. in 3,5 Stunden von London aus zu erreichen. 826 Schüler besuchen gegenwärtig die Schule, die einen „Academy“-Status mit einer Spezialisierung auf „Science“ hat.

Colyton Grammar School gehört zu den besten Schulen im Land und wurde von der Bewertungsstelle Ofsted als „Outstanding“ bezeichnet.

Als eine fortschrittliche Schule verfügt sie über modernste Technologie wie z.B. über ein Sprachlabor und eine Videokonferenzanlage. Die Schule bietet ihren Schülern ein weites Spektrum an außercurricularen Aktivitäten an und verfügt über „Leading Edge Partnership“ mit sieben anderen selektiv operierenden Sekundarschulen in ihrer Umgebung sowie mit der University of Exeter.

Deutsch wird nach Französisch als zweite Fremdsprache ab der Jahrgangstufe 8 angeboten. Die Deutschabteilung verfügt insgesamt über vier Lehrkräfte und führte in der Vergangenheit in Zusammenarbeit mit den Oberstufenschülern erfolgreiche Projekte mit Grundschulen durch.

Zudem pflegt die Deutschabteilung ein Austauschprogramm mit dem Gymnasium Eckental in Bayern, in dessen Rahmen Schüler der Oberstufe ein Arbeitspraktikum in Deutschland absolvieren. Überdies wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit der Geschichtsabteilung Reisen nach Berlin unternommen.

Colyton Grammar School

Top