60 Years Goethe-Institut London

© Michael Friedel

A lot happened in the 1960s: Beatlemania was taking over, skirts were getting shorter, hair was getting longer, and flares were getting wider.

In 1962, the Goethe-Institut London opened its doors in South Kensington to become the first home for Germany’s cultural institute in the UK. Since then, we’ve grown to become the hub of ideas, support, education and exchange that exists today - building a community of cultural collaborators and forging innovative connections along the way.

Much like the fashion trends, our role and our work has continued to shift and adapt. As we celebrate our past, we’re already thinking about our future – what will the next 60 years look like for the Goethe-Institut London?

Anniversary Events

To mark our anniversary, we have a full programme of special events that will feature a variety of voices, ideas and opportunities, to allow you to also share your stories with us. We look forward to welcoming you!
 


Goethe Annual Lectures 2022

As part of the Goethe-Institut London's 60th anniversary, we are celebrating with 3 Goethe Annual Lectures this year featuring author Mithu Sanyal, professor Mercedes Bunz and musician Matthew Herbert.




Top

60 Jahre Goethe-Institut London

© Michael Friedel

In den 1960er-Jahren ist viel passiert: Der Hype um die Beatles begann, die Röcke wurden kürzer, die Haare wurden länger, die Schlaghosen weiter.

1962 öffnete das Goethe-Institut London in South Kensington die Türen und wurde zur ersten britischen Heimat des deutschen Kulturinstituts. Seitdem haben wir uns zu einem Ort für Ideen, Unterstützung, Bildung und Austausch entwickelt, eine Gemeinschaft von Kulturschaffenden aufgebaut und innovative Verbindungen geknüpft.

Ähnlich wie die Modetrends haben sich auch unsere Rolle und unsere Arbeit stetig verändert und angepasst. Und während wir unsere Vergangenheit feiern, denken wir bereits über unsere Zukunft nach - wie werden die nächsten 60 Jahre für das Goethe-Institut London aussehen?

Jubiläums-Veranstaltungen

Anlässlich unseres Jubiläums haben wir ein umfangreiches Programm mit besonderen Veranstaltungen zusammengestellt, bei denen eine Vielzahl von Stimmen und Ideen zu Wort kommen. Feiern Sie mit uns - und teilen Sie dabei Geschichten aus unseren letzten 60 Jahren.


Goethe Annual Lectures 2022

Im Rahmen des 60. Jubiläums des Goethe-Instituts London veranstalten wir in diesem Jahr drei Goethe Annual Lectures mit Autorin Mithu Sanyal, Professorin Mercedes Bunz und Musiker Matthew Herbert.




Top