Farlingaye High School, Woodbridge

Presentation of the PASCH Award © Photo: Mark Witter Photography

In 2017 Farlingaye High School joined the PASCH initiative.

Dr. Susanne Frane, head of culture in the German Federal Foreign Office, highlighted the engagement of Farlingaye High School: “Schools like Farlingaye High with a whole-school approach to German play an essential part in supporting the exchange between different countries and they teach their students the skills they require as citizens of a globalised world.” Farlingaye High School uses a local network of partners and international co-operations to achieve this. In co-operation with the Bergische Universität Wuppertal, Farlingaye High School offers internships abroad, to German teaching students. Moreover, as part of the network ‘Think German’ of the University of East Anglia, the school trains local German teachers for free.

Farlingaye High School encourages young people to find an interest in modern Germany and the German language while connecting German learners around the world. Intercultural dialogue and exchange are key aspects shared among 1800 PASCH schools worldwide.

While the opening ceremony included a reception and speeches, German rapper ‘Chefket’ and his band gave a bass-loaded concert in the school’s gym in front of 400 pupils. After the concert Chefket and his band offered a workshop, explaining the technical backgrounds of rap music and their technical devices.

Farlingaye High School, Woodbridge

Presentation of the PASCH Award © Foto: Mark Witter Photography

2017 trat die Farlingaye High School der PASCH-Initiative bei.

Dr. Susanne Frane, Leiterin der Kulturabteilung des Auswärtigen Amtes, hob die Bereitschaft und das Engagement der Farlingaye High School hervor: „Schulen wie die Farlingaye High, mit einem ganzheitlichen Ansatz in Deutsch, spielen eine große Rolle beim Austausch zwischen verschiedenen Ländern. Sie bringen ihren Schülern die Fähigkeiten bei, die sie als Bürger einer globalisierten Welt brauchen.“ Die Farlingaye High School greift dazu auf ein lokales Netzwerk an Partnern und internationale Kooperationen zurück. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal etwa, bietet die Farlingaye High School Auslandspraktika für deutsche Lehramt Studierende an. Innerhalb des Netzwerks ‚Think German‘ der University of East Anglia, organisiert sie zudem kostenlose Weiterbildungen für Deutschlehrer aus der Region.

Die Farlingaye High School versteht es, Interesse und Freude für das moderne Deutschland und die deutsche Sprache in jungen Menschen zu wecken und zu erhalten, aber auch gleichzeitig Deutschlerner weltweit miteinander zu verbinden. Interkultureller Dialog und Austausch ist der gemeinsame Nenner der 1800 PASCH Schulen weltweit zu Grunde liegt.

So fand parallel zur Eröffnungsfeier ein, mit lauten Bässen und stimmungsgeladenem Publikum versehenes, Konzert des Deutschrappers ‚Chefket‘ vor 400 Schülern in der Turnhalle der Schule statt. Nach dem Konzert veranstalteten Chefket und seine Band einen Workshop, bei dem den Schülern die technischen Hintergründe zur Rapmusik und den Geräten erklärt wurden.