Competition German debating competition 2019

Debating Competition Finals
© Goethe-Institut / Martina Case

A project of the Goethe-Institut with 16 secondary schools in the United Kingdom.
Since October 2018 British pupils aged between 16 and 17 have been engaging with future challenges.

From October 2018 to March 2019 sixteen schools, each with a team of 4 pupils from Year 11 and 12, took part in a debating competition organised by the Goethe-Institut London. The teams dealt with current questions about the future of Europe.

The topics of the different rounds were:

1st round:
A year abroad in Europe should be compulsory during school time.

2nd round:
The use of plastic should be banned in Europe.

3rd round:
Only electric cars should be allowed in Europe from 2025.

On 27th March the final, which was also joined by the general secretary of the Goethe-Institut Johannes Ebert, took place at the British Council.

Dr Challoner's Grammar School's team and Hampton School's team debated the pros and cons of the thesis:

The subject “Europe” should be introduced in schools.

Both teams convinced the jury and the audience with their strong arguments and counter-arguments. Dr Challoner’s Grammar eventually brought the trophy home. Congratulations to both teams for their impressive performances and their enthusiasm for German! This was a great experience for everyone involved.

The debating competition offers students the opportunity to further develop their foreign language and professional skills. Through a specific occasion, they also learn to speak freely in front of others, to overcome inhibitions and thus broaden their personal and social horizons and strengthen their self-esteem. Moreover the competition offers the opportunity to meet German learners from the United Kingdom, exchange ideas and establish longstanding contacts. Here you can read a report of a participant.

The debating competition in the United Kingdom will take place again in autumn. It is worth joining in! Subscribe to our newsletter to make sure you don’t miss the registration period!

Wettbewerb Deutscher Debattierwettbewerb 2019

Debattierwettewerb Finale
© Goethe-Institut / Martina Case

Ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts mit 16 Sekundarschulen im Vereinigten Königreich.
Seit Oktober 2018 gingen britische Sekundarschüler/Innen im Alter von 16 – 17 Jahren gemeinsam Zukunftsprobleme an.

Von Oktober 2018 bis März 2019 nahmen 16 Schulen mit jeweils einem Team von 4 Schüler/innen aus den Klassenstufen 11 und 12 am Debattierwettbewerb des Goethe-Instituts London teil. Dabei setzten sich die Teams mit aktuellen Fragen über die Zukunft Europas auseinander.

Die Themen der verschiedenen Runden waren:

1. Runde:
Während der Schulzeit sollte ein Auslandsjahr in Europa verpflichtend sein.

2. Runde:
In Europa sollte die Verwendung von Plastik verboten werden.

3. Runde:
In Europa sollten ab 2025 nur noch Elektroautos erlaubt sein.

Am 27. März fand schließlich das Finale im British Council statt, an dem auch der Generalsekretär Johannes Ebert des Goethe-Institutes teilnahm.

Hier debattierte das Team der Dr Challoner’s Grammar School und das Team der Hampton School über die Pro und Kontra Position der These:

In der Schule sollte ein Unterrichtsfach „Europa“ eingeführt werden.

Beide Teams konnten die Jury und das Publikum durch ihre starken Argumente und Widerlegungen überzeugen. Dr Challoner’s Grammar trug den Pokal schließlich nach Hause. Herzlichen Glückwunsch an beide Teams für ihre beeindruckenden Leistungen und ihre Motivation für das Fach Deutsch! Dies war ein tolles Erlebnis für alle Beteiligten.

Der Debattierwettbewerb bietet den Schüler/innen eine besondere Gelegenheit, ihre fremdsprachlichen und auch fachlichen Fähigkeiten weiterzuentwickeln. Durch einen konkreten Anlass, lernen sie darüber hinaus, vor anderen frei zu sprechen, Hemmschwellen zu überwinden  und somit auch ihre persönlichen und sozialen Horizonte zu erweitern und das Selbstbewusstsein zu stärken. Außerdem bietet der Wettbewerb die Chance, Deutschlernende aus dem Vereinigten Königreich kennenzulernen, sich auszutauschen und langfristige Kontakte zu knüpfen. Lesen Sie hier einen Erfahrungsbericht einer Teilnehmerin.

Auch im Herbst wird es wieder einen Debattierwettbewerb im Vereinigten Königreich geben. Es lohnt sich, mitzumachen! Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter, um den Anmeldezeitraum nicht zu verpassen!