The Smart Choice: German
at secondary schools in the UK


Why should British students actually learn German if English is "lingua franca" already?
The answer is simple: Germany is one of the UK’s leading trading partners and British companies need professionals with a good knowledge of German. This statement is also strongly supported by a report Learning to Grow: What Employers need from Education and Skills published by the CBI, the UK's premier business lobbying organisation. The findings portray German as the most useful foreign language for organisations in the UK.

Learning to Grow: What Employers need from Education and Skills Learning to Grow: What Employers need from Education and Skills

According to a recent article in The Guardian, “head teachers say strategy to promote languages is overdue” (Jeevan Vasagar, education editor, guardian.co.uk, Thursday 16 August 2012). This is why we are happy to provide you with a tool to make a strong case for German at your school.

The video The Smart Choice German includes input from a range of identifiable brands as well as prominent figures from the UK who support the case for learning German. The key message of the clip is that pupils who learn German will have improved career opportunities because the German economy is among the strongest in the world, and many British companies are looking for staff able to communicate in German.

The video is ideal for parents’ evenings, language days and all occasions promoting career opportunities.
You can order the six minute video as a free DVD in our online shop for teachers.

Besides the promotional video we also offer the booklet Learn German. Benefits and Facts. free of charge. The brochure is a great tool to make the case for German on parent evenings, option days and language days. You can order individual copies or whole class sets in our online shop.

The Smart Choice: German
at secondary schools in the UK

The Smart Choice: German at Secondary Schools in the UK



 


Warum sollen britische Schüler Deutsch lernen, wenn Englisch schon die "Lingua Franca" ist? Die Antwort ist einfach: Deutschland ist einer der wichtigsten Handelspartner Großbritanniens und britische Unternehmen brauchen MitarbeiterInnen mit guten Deutschkenntnissen. Dieses wird auch in der Studie Learning to Grow: What Employers need from Education and Skills der britischen Lobbyorganisation CBI belegt. Diese Studie zeigt Deutsch als die gefragteste Sprache für Unternehmen in Großbritannien.

Learning to Grow: What Employers need from Education and Skills Learning to Grow: What Employers need from Education and Skills

In einem kürzlich erschienenen Artikel in The Guardian sagen Schulleiter, „Sprachen zu fördern ist überfällig" (Jeevan Vasagar, education editor, guardian.co.uk, Thursday 16 August 2012). Daher freuen wir uns, Ihnen ein Werkzeug an die Hand geben zu können, mit dem sie sich für Deutsch an Ihrer Schule einsetzen können.

Der Film The Smart Choice German zeigt eine Reihe bekannter Firmen und Personen aus dem Vereinigten Königreich, die sich für Deutsch stark machen. Die zentrale Botschaft des Videos ist, dass Schülerinnen und Schüler, die Deutsch lernen, ihre Karrierechancen aufgrund der sehr guten wirtschaftlichen Leistung Deutschlands deutlich verbessern, da viele britische Unternehmen MitarbeiterInnen suchen, die sich in deutscher Sprache verständigen können.
Das Video ist ideal für Elternabende, Sprachentage und für alle Gelegenheiten, bei der es um die Förderung von Karrierechancen geht. 

Sie können das sechsminütige Video als kostenlose DVD in unserem Onlineshop für Lehrer bestellen.

Begleitend zu dem Video können Sie bei uns auch die Broschüre Learn German. Benefits and Facts. kostenlos bestellen. Sie eignet sich ebenfalls hervorragend für Elternabende, Option Days und Sprachentage. Dieses Heft können Sie einzeln oder als Klassensatz in unserem Online Shop bestellen.