Online Discussion Berlin Alexanderplatz (2020): Burhan Qurbani in Conversation with Myria Georgiou

Two men in clown masks Berlin Alexanderplatz

Tue, 01.03.2022

19:00

Online

We are pleased to team up with London Migration Film Festival to present an online conversation between Burhan Qurbani, the director of Berlin Alexanderplatz (2020) and Myria Georgiou, Professor of Media and Communications at the London School of Economics (LSE). You still can watch the film online until Wed 2 March.

To find out more about our film screenings of Berlin Alexanderplatz please click on “Goethe-Kino 2022” on the side of this page.

Book tickets through Eventbrite

About the Speakers

Burhan Qurbani was born in Erkelenz in 1980 as the son of Afghan emigrants. He gained his first experience in the media sector after graduating from high school. He worked as an editorial assistant at the women's magazine "Elle" in Stuttgart, as an assistant director at the Stuttgart State Theatre and as a camera assistant at the Stuttgart film production company teamWerk. 
From 2002 he studied directing at the Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg. His full-length graduation film Shahada about three young Muslims living in Berlin celebrated its premiere in 2010 in the Berlinale competition and subsequently won several awards. Burhan Qurbani's second long feature film We Are Young. We Are Strong (Wir sind jung. Wir sind stark, 2014), which chronicles the arson attacks on a home for asylum seekers in Rostock-Lichtenhagen in 1992, received much attention In 2018, Qurbani began shooting Berlin Alexanderplatz, which received several German Film Awards including one in Silver for Best Film. (based on filmportal.de)

Myria Georgiou is Professor in the Department of Media and Communications at LSE, where she also serves as Research Director. She researches and teaches on migration and urbanisation in the context of intensified mediation. Adopting comparative and interdisciplinary approach, she has been studying communication practices and media representations and how they shape meanings and experiences of citizenship and identity. She is the author and editor of four books and more than sixty peer reviewed publications covering subjects such as racism and the media, the “European refugee crisis”, the city as a place of refuge, or the role of the digital for human connectedness but also in the realm of real and symbolic control. Professor Georgiou has also worked as a consultant for a number of regional and international organisations, most importantly the Council of Europe. Apart from that she has written for and been interviewed by a number of national and international media and worked as a journalist for BBC World Service, Greek press, and the Cyprus Broadcasting Corporation before becoming a full time academic.

About the Migration Film Festival

Founded in 2016, the London Migration Film Festival seeks to challenge the narrow mainstream rhetoric on migration. In doing so, the festival hopes to restore the humanity, and dignity, inherent within migration.

 

Back

Berlin Alexanderplatz (2020): Burhan Qurbani im Gespräch with Myria Georgiou (Online)

Zwei Männer in Clown-Masken Berlin Alexanderplatz

Di, 01.03.2022

19:00

Online

Zusammen mit dem Migration Film Festival freuen wir uns begleitend zu unserer aktuellen Filmvorführung von Berlin Alexanderplatz (2020) ein Online-Gespräch zwischen dem Regisseur des Films, Burhan Qurbani, und Myria Georgiou, Professor of Media and Communications at the London School of Economics (LSE) präsentieren zu können.

Um zu den Filmvorführungen von Berlin Alexanderplatz zu kommen, klicken Sie bitte am Rand auf den „Goethe-Kino 2022“.

Tickets über Eventbrite buchen
Über die Gesprächsteilnehmer*innen

Burhan Qurbani wurde 1980 in Erkelenz als Sohn afghanischer Emigranten geboren. Nach dem Abitur sammelte er erste Erfahrungen im Medienbereich und arbeitete als Redaktionsassistent bei der Frauenzeitschrift "Elle" in Stuttgart, als Regieassistent am Stuttgarter Staatstheater und als Kameraassistent bei der Stuttgarter Filmproduktionsfirma teamWerk. Ab 2002 studierte er Regie an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg. Sein abendfüllender Abschlussfilm Shahada über drei junge Muslim*innen in Berlin feierte 2010 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale Premiere und erhielt mehrere Preise. Viel Beachtung und überaus positive Kritiken erhielt auch Burhan Qurbanis zweiter langer Spielfilm Wir sind jung. Wir sind stark (2014), eine Chronik der Brandanschläge auf ein Asylbewerberheim in Rostock-Lichtenhagen im Jahr 1992. Im Mai 2018 begann Qurbani mit den Dreharbeiten zu Berlin Alexanderplatz, der u.a. den deutschen Filmpreis in Silber in der Kategorie Bester Film erhielt. (basierend auf filmprotal.de)

Myria Georgiou ist Professorin in der Abteilung für Medien und Kommunikation an der LSE, wo sie auch Forschungsdirektorin ist. Sie forscht und lehrt zu Migration und Urbanisierung im Kontext intensivierter medialer Vermittlung. Mit einem vergleichenden und interdisziplinären Ansatz untersucht sie Kommunikationspraktiken und mediale Repräsentationen und wie sie Bedeutungen und Erfahrungen von Staatsbürgerschaft und Identität prägen. Sie ist Autorin und Herausgeberin von vier Büchern und mehr als sechzig begutachteten Publikationen zu Themen wie Rassismus und Medien, die „europäische Flüchtlingskrise“, die Stadt als Zufluchtsort oder die Rolle des Digitalen für menschliche Vernetzung auch im Bereich realer und symbolischer Kontrolle. Professor Georgiou hat auch als Berater für eine Reihe regionaler und internationaler Organisationen gearbeitet, vor allem für den Europarat. Abgesehen davon hat sie für eine Reihe von nationalen und internationalen Medien geschrieben und wurde von diesen interviewt und arbeitete als Journalistin für den BBC World Service, die griechische Presse und die Cyprus Broadcasting Corporation, bevor sie Vollzeitakademikerin wurde.

Über das Migration Film Festival

Seit seiner Gründung 2016 ist bemüht sich das Migration Festival darum, die der Migration innewohnenden Menschlichkeit und Würde darum, wieder Teil des limitierten Mainstream-Diskurses zum Thema Migration werden zu lassen.
 

Zurück