Discussion Knowledge Diplomacy and Crisis

Knowledge Diplomacy and Crisis © Pixabay

Wed, 25.05.2022

14:15 BST

Online

In the recent decade, crisis situations, such as violent conflicts, have increased substantially and brought more complexity to the search for solutions in addressing existing emergencies. Since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, the world has witnessed a sequence of enormous losses in regional stability and human lives that affect Asian, African, Latin America and Caribbean regions, and most recently, Eastern Europe.

The concept of Knowledge Diplomacy helps us understand the intersections between different stakeholders such as states, universities, multilateral organisations, policymakers and people in a variety of diplomatic processes that make a real impact and difference in the world, specifically in addressing crisis situations. It is a two-way process, which refers to the role that actors such as international higher education, research, and innovation play in building and strengthening international relations and, vice versa, the role that international relations play in facilitating and improving the work of these actors.

The event is an opportunity for an interdisciplinary panel of experts from academia and diplomacy to discuss the implications for the creation, exchange and sharing of knowledge in the context of the crisis situations, specifically in the context of the war in Ukraine. A particular focus will be dedicated to:
  • The support for scholars at risk and knowledge preservation;
  • The support for higher education institutions in the affected areas, research initiatives, student exchange and etc.;
  • The impact of sanctions in light of the conflict situation on research and innovation; and
  • The cancellation of student and scholar exchange programmes.
Bringing their different perspectives and expertise to the topic will be Jérémy Lachal, Executive Director of Libraries Without Borders, Matjaž Gruden, Director of Democratic Participation at the Council of Europe; Judith Lamie, Pro Vice-Chancellor for International Engagement at Swansea University. The panel will be chaired by Professor Mary Stiasny OBE, Pro-Vice Chancellor, International, Learning and Teaching, University of London.

The organising team expresses deep concerns about the present war and the loss of lives as a result of the conflict. The event would like to emphasise that the present panel discussion can be seen as a modest contribution in the search for a solution to the present crisis and highlight the potential points for consideration in the on-going and future conflict situations.

The Knowledge Diplomacy series takes place in a form of online discussions that bring leading experts and institutions together to discuss how Knowledge Diplomacy is highly relevant in both academic and policy circles in addressing pressing global issues.

This online Knowledge Diplomacy seminar series is a collaboration between the Goethe Institut, British Council (France and Germany), University of London (London and Paris) and is supported by ICR Research, SOAS, Queen Mary University of London and the NEXTEUK project.

 

Back

Diskussion Knowledge Diplomacy and Crisis

Knowledge Diplomacy and Crisis © Pixabay

Mi, 25.05.2022

14:15 BST

Online

Im letzten Jahrzehnt haben Krisensituationen wie z. B. gewaltsame Konflikte erheblich zugenommen und die Suche nach Lösungen zur Bewältigung bestehender Notlagen komplexer gemacht. Seit Beginn der COVID-19-Pandemie hat die Welt eine Reihe enormer Verluste an regionaler Stabilität und Menschenleben erlitten, die asiatische, afrikanische, lateinamerikanische und karibische Regionen und zuletzt Osteuropa betreffen.

Das Konzept der Wissensdiplomatie hilft uns, die Schnittstellen zwischen verschiedenen Interessengruppen wie Staaten, Universitäten, multilateralen Organisationen, politischen Entscheidungstragenden und Menschen in einer Vielzahl diplomatischer Prozesse zu verstehen, die einen realen Einfluss auf unsere Welt haben, insbesondere bei der Bewältigung von Krisensituationen. Es ist ein wechselseitiger Prozess, der sich auf die Rolle bezieht, die Aspekte wie internationale Hochschulbildung, Forschung und Innovation beim Aufbau und der Stärkung internationaler Beziehungen spielen, und umgekehrt auf die Rolle, die internationale Beziehungen bei der Erleichterung und Verbesserung der Arbeit dieser Bereiche spielen.

Die Veranstaltung bietet einem interdisziplinären Expertengremium aus Wissenschaft und Diplomatie die Gelegenheit, die Auswirkungen auf die Produktion, den Austausch und die gemeinsame Nutzung von Wissen im Kontext der Krisensituationen, insbesondere im Kontext des Krieges in der Ukraine, zu diskutieren. Besondere Schwerpunkte sind:
  • die Unterstützung gefährdeter Wissenschaftler*innen und Wissensbewahrung;
  • die Unterstützung von Hochschulen in den betroffenen Bereichen, Forschungsinitiativen, Student*innenaustausch usw.;
  • die Auswirkungen von Sanktionen angesichts der Konfliktsituation auf Forschung und Innovation; und
  • die Aufhebung von Austauschprogrammen für Student*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen.
Jérémy Lachal, Geschäftsführer von Libraries Without Borders, Matjaž Gruden, Direktor für Demokratische Beteiligung beim Europarat, und Judith Lamie, Pro-Vizekanzlerin für internationales Engagement an der Swansea University, bringen ihre unterschiedlichen Perspektiven und Expertisen in das Thema ein. Das Gremium wird von Professor Mary Stiasny OBE, Pro-Vizekanzlerin, International, Lernen und Lehren, University of London, geleitet.

Das Organisationsteam drückt seine tiefe Besorgnis über den gegenwärtigen Krieg und den Verlust von Menschenleben infolge des Konflikts aus. Die Veranstaltung möchte betonen, dass die bevorstehende Podiumsdiskussion als bescheidener Beitrag zur Suche nach einer Lösung für die gegenwärtige Krise angesehen werden kann, und die potenziellen Punkte für Überlegungen in aktuellen und zukünftigen Konfliktsituationen aufzeigen.

Die Wissensdiplomatie-Reihe findet in Form von Online-Diskussionen statt, die führende Expert*innen und Institutionen zusammenbringen, um zu diskutieren, wie hochrelevant die Wissensdiplomatie sowohl in akademischen als auch in politischen Kreisen ist, um drängende globale Probleme anzugehen.

Diese Online-Seminarreihe zur Wissensdiplomatie ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Goethe-Institut, dem British Council (Frankreich und Deutschland), der University of London (London und Paris) und wird von ICR Research, SOAS, der Queen Mary University of London und dem NEXTEUK-Projekt unterstützt.

Zurück