Across the sea - why the fate of refugees concerns us all

Wolfgang Bauer Photo: Hein Heiss Suhrkamp

Tue, 23.08.2016

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Author Wolfgang Bauer in conversation

Wolfgang Bauer discusses his book Crossing the Sea: with Syrians on the Exodus to Europe with Daniel Trilling and his publisher Stefan Tobler.  The book was published in English translation in April 2016 by And Other Stories.
 
A twofold catastrophe is taking place before our eyes: the Syrian civil war is still claiming countless human lives. Millions of Syrians are fleeing their homes. Some of them risk the crossing from Egypt to Europe. Each year hundreds of people die in the course of this endeavour; the Mediterranean is the world’s most dangerous sea border.

Wolfgang Bauer, a journalist on DIE ZEIT newspaper, has accompanied Syrian refugees in their hideouts in Egypt, on the boats, on the streets of Europe. He describes the fates concealed behind the abstract numbers, and the dramatic circumstances of their flight. An authentic documentary work and at the same time a passionate appeal for a more humanitarian refugee policy.
 
‘I’m a journalist, not an activist,’ says Wolfgang Bauer. ‘I’m a storyteller and I try to tell these stories so precisely and so authentically that readers can empathise with my protagonists, that they really believe that they have been thrust into these people’s bodies, into their minds. It’s important to highlight these individual cases, to understand why people flee and what they hope for here. In journalism this is only possible in the form of reportage. And as a reporter one has to be on location to do this. When I am looking for topics I rarely start with a theory, but instead with the stories of individual people.’
 

This talk is part of the global debate series Kritikmaschine, organised by the Goethe-Institut and Kursbuch, one of Germany’s leading intellectual magazines.  Contributions include journalist Meredith Haaf on the new feminism, architect Friedrich von Borries on political design, author Wolfgang Bauer on refugees, historian Sabine Donauer on work in the digital society, and Kursbuch editor Armin Nassehi on social criticism. Intellectuals from the respective host countries will respond to the lectures. The event series seeks to bring together a range of diverse perspectives; it aims to search for new answers – and new questions.

Eventbrite - Across the sea - why the fate of refugees concerns us all

Back

Über das Meer – warum das Schicksal der Flüchtlinge uns alle angeht

Wolfgang Bauer Foto: Hein Heiss Suhrkamp

Di, 23.08.2016

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Der Autor Wolfgang Bauer im Gespräch

Wolfgang Bauer spricht mit Daniel Trilling und seinem Verleger Stefan Tobler über sein Buch Über das Meer, das im April dieses Jahres in englischer Übersetzung beim Verlag And other Stories erschienen ist.
 
Vor unseren Augen spielt sich eine doppelte humanitäre Katastrophe ab: Der syrische Bürgerkrieg fordert nach wie vor zahllose Menschenleben. Millionen Syrer sind auf der Flucht. Einige von ihnen wagen von Ägypten aus die Überfahrt nach Europa. Bei diesem Unterfangen sterben Jahr für Jahr Hunderte Menschen, das Mittelmeer ist damit die gefährlichste Seegrenze der Welt. 

Der ZEIT-Reporter Wolfgang Bauer hat syrische Flüchtlinge begleitet. In ihren Verstecken in Ägypten, im Boot, auf den Straßen Europas. Er schildert die Schicksale, die sich hinter den abstrakten Zahlen verbergen, und die dramatischen Umstände der Flucht. Ein authentisches Dokument und zugleich ein leidenschaftlicher Appell für eine humanitärere Flüchtlingspolitik.
 
„Ich bin Journalist, nicht Aktivist“, sagt Wolfgang Bauer. „Ich bin ein Geschichtenerzähler und ich versuche, so genau und - wenn man so will - auch so wahrhaftig zu erzählen, dass sich der Leser in meine Protagonisten einfühlen kann, dass er wirklich glaubt, in ihrem Körper, in ihren Köpfen zu stecken. Es ist wichtig, diese Einzelschicksale zu zeigen, begreiflich zu machen, warum Menschen fliehen und was sie hier erhoffen. Das kann im Journalismus nur die Form der Reportage. Und dafür muss man als Reporter vor Ort sein. Ich gehe bei meiner Themensuche selten von Thesen aus, sondern von den Geschichten Einzelner.“ 
 

Dieser Vortrag ist Teil der globalen Debattenreihe „Kritikmaschine“. Veranstalter sind das Goethe-Institut und das Kursbuch, eine der wichtigsten intellektuellen Zeitschriften Deutschlands. Unter anderen spricht die Journalistin Meredith Haaf über den neuen Feminismus, der Architekt Friedrich von Borries über politisches Design, der Autor Wolfgang Bauer über Flüchtlinge, die Historikerin Sabine Donauer über Arbeit in der digitalen Gesellschaft und der Soziologe und Kursbuch-Herausgeber Armin Nassehi über Gesellschaftskritik. Intellektuelle aus dem jeweiligen Gastland antworten auf den Vortrag. Die Veranstaltungsreihe will fremde Perspektiven miteinander konfrontieren, sie will nach neuen Antworten suchen – und nach neuen Fragen.

Eventbrite - Across the sea - why the fate of refugees concerns us all

 

Zurück