German Screen Studies Network Festival of Ideas

GSSN Symposium

Living Pasts, Moving Present- Three days of screenings, workshops and panel discussions on cinema as a resource for reshaping a crisis-ridden global present.
 
This research forum and two-day symposium begins by taking a historical view, examining how projects including the Berlin Arsenal’s Living Archive, the DIY Film Project Labor Berlin, and the historical documentary Dreams Rewired/Mobilisierung der Träume (Manu Luksch, Martin Reinhart, Thomas Tode, 2015) reinvigorate the lost heritage of archive and early silent film. Day 3 shifts to the contemporary moment with panels and screenings on modernist experiments in film time (Straub-Huillet); on neoliberal future visions (Fictions and Futures #1. Happiness in the Abstract, 2013); and on activist projects including the short film compilation Research Refugees, and the Nigerian archive and curatorial project Reclaiming History, Unveiling Memory (Didi Cheeka, Lagos Film Society). 
 
Organised by King’s College London (German Department), Queen Mary University of London (Film Studies), University College London (SELCS). With support from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD London), Goethe-Institut London, Close-Up Film Centre, Birkbeck Institute for the Moving Image.

The German Screen Studies Network promotes research and debate on German-language film amongst researchers, educators, film professionals and interested members of the public. The GSSN’s main event is its annual symposium; the network also conducts in-house research, and organizes screenings, film talks, workshops and schools events. Partners include the Goethe-Institut, London; the DAAD London; the German Embassy; Austrian Cultural Forum.

German Screen Studies Netzwerk Festival der Ideen

GSSN Symposium

Drei Tage mit Filmvorführungen, Workshops und Podiumsdiskussionen rund um das Kino als Mittel zur Neugestaltung einer krisengeplagten globalen Gegenwart.
 
Dieses Rechercheforum und zweitägige Symposium wirft zuerst einen historischen Blick auf Initiativen und Arbeiten, wie das vom Arsenal in Berlin kuratierte Living Archive-Projekt, das DIY- Filmprojekt Labor Berlin und den historischen Dokumentarfilm Mobilisierung der Träume (Manu Luksch, Martin Reinhart, Thomas Tode, 2015), und untersucht, inwieweit diese das verloren gegangene Erbe früher Stummfilme und Archive wiederbeleben. Der dritte Tag widmet sich mit Podiumsdiskussionen, Filmvorführungen modernistischer Experimente in Filmzeit (Straub-Huillet); neoliberalen Zukunftsvisionen (Fictions and Futures #1. Happiness in the Abstract, 2013) und mit aktivistischen Projekten der Gegenwart. Hier angesiedlet sind auch die Kurzfilm-Kompilation Research Refugees und das nigerianische Projekt Reclaiming History, Unveiling Memory mit seinem Archivaufbau und kuratorischen Aktivitäten (Didi Cheeka, Lagos Film Society).
Organisiert vom King’s College London (German Department), Queen Mary University of London (Film Studies), University College London (SELCS). Mit Unterstützung des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD), dem Goethe-Institut London, Close-Up Film Centre und dem Birkbeck Institute for the Moving Image.

Das German Screen Studies Netzwerk fördert Forschung und Austausch über deutschsprachigen Film unter Wissenschaftlern, Lehrenden, Filmfachkräften und interessierten Mitgliedern der Öffentlichkeit. Die Hauptveranstaltung des GSSNs ist das jährliche Symposium; das Netzwerk betreibt außerdem interne Forschungen und organisiert Filmvorführungen, Gesprächsrunden, Workshops und Schulveranstaltungen. Zu den Partnern des GSSN gehören das Goethe-Institut London, der DAAD London, die Deutsche Botschaft und das Austrian Cultural Forum.