Exhibition Serpentine Pavilion 2017
Designed by Francis Kéré

Serpentine Pavilion 2017, Designed by Francis Kéré, Design Render, Exterior © Kéré Architecture

Fri, 23.06.2017 -
Sun, 08.10.2017

Serpentine Gallery

Kensington Gardens
W2 3XA London

We are proud to be supporting the Serpentine Pavilion 2017, designed by Berlin-based Diébédo Francis Kéré. The award-winning architect from Burkino Faso has designed a bold, innovative structure that brings his characteristic sense of light and life to London.

Inspired by the tree that serves as a central meeting point for life in his home town of Gando, Francis Kéré has designed a responsive Pavilion that seeks to connect its visitors to nature – and each other. An expansive roof, supported by a central steel framework, mimics a tree’s canopy, allowing air to circulate freely while offering shelter against London rain and summer heat.

 
  • Gando Primary School; Gando, Burkina Faso, 2001 © Simeon Duchoud
  • Gando Primary School; Gando, Burkina Faso, 2001 © Enrico Cano
  • Gando Primary School Extension; Gando, Burkina Faso, 2008 © Erik Jan Ouwerkerk
  • Camper Pop-up Shop at Vitra; Weil am Rhein, Germany, 2015 © Vitra. Photography by Eduardo Perez
  • Serpentine Pavilion 2017, Designed by Francis Kéré, Design Render, Exterior ©Kéré Architecture
  • Serpentine Pavilion 2017, Designed by Francis Kéré, Design Render, Interior © Kéré Architecture
  • National Park of Mali; Bamako, Mali, 2010 © Kéré Architecture
Kéré is the seventeenth architect to accept the Serpentine Galleries’ invitation to design a temporary Pavilion in its grounds. Since its launch in 2000, this annual commission of an international architect to build his or her first structure in London at the time of invitation has become one of the most anticipated events in the global cultural calendar and a leading visitor attraction during London’s summer season. Serpentine Artistic Director Hans Ulrich Obrist and CEO Yana Peel made their selection of the architect, with advisors David Adjaye and Richard Rogers.

 
Francis Kéré Francis Kéré © Erik Jan Ouwerkerk Diébédo Francis Kéré is the principal architect at Kéré Architecture based in Berlin, founded in 2005. Kéré was born in 1965 in Gando, Burkina Faso, west Africa and trained at the Technical University of Berlin. Kéré Architecture has been recognised nationally and internationally with awards including the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (2004) for his first building, a primary school in Gando, Burkina Faso; LOCUS Global Award for Sustainable Architecture (2009); Global Holcim Award Gold (2011 and 2012); Green Planet Architects Award (2013); Schelling Architecture Foundation Award (2014) and the Kenneth Hudson Award – European Museum of the Year (2015).

Kéré’s work has recently been the subject of solo exhibitions: Radically Simple at the Architecture Museum in Munich (2016) and The Architecture of Francis Kéré: Building for Community, Philadelphia Museum of Art (2016). His work has also been selected for group exhibitions Small Scale, Big Change: New Architectures of Social Engagement, Museum of Modern Art, New York (2010) and Sensing Spaces, Royal Academy, London (2014).

Back to event series
 

Back

Ausstellung Serpentine Pavilion 2017
Designed von Francis Kéré

Serpentine Pavilion 2017, Designed by Francis Kéré, Design Render, Exterior © Kéré Architecture

Fr, 23.06.2017 -
So, 08.10.2017

Serpentine Gallery London

Kensington Gardens
W2 3XA London

Wir freuen uns, den Serpentine Pavilion 2017, gestaltet von dem in Berlin lebenden Diébédo Francis Kéré, zu unterstützen. Der preisgekrönte Architekt aus Burkino Faso hat ein schwungvolles, innovatives Gebäude gestaltet, das seinen charakteristischen Sinn für Licht und Leben nach London bringt.

Inspiriert durch den Baum, der als zentraler Treffpunkt in seiner Heimatstadt Gando dient, hat Francis Kéré einen reaktionsfähigen Pavillon entworfen, der seine Besucherinnen und Besucher mit der Natur verbinden möchte. Ein weites Dach ahmt, getragen durch ein zentrales Stahlgerüst, die Krone des Baumes nach und ermöglicht dabei der Luft frei zu zirkulieren, während es gleichzeitig Schutz vor Londons Regen und Sommerhitze bietet.   

 
  • Gando Primary School; Gando, Burkina Faso, 2001 © Simeon Duchoud
  • Gando Primary School; Gando, Burkina Faso, 2001 © Enrico Cano
  • Gando Primary School Extension; Gando, Burkina Faso, 2008 © Erik Jan Ouwerkerk
  • Camper Pop-up Shop at Vitra; Weil am Rhein, Germany, 2015 © Vitra. Photography by Eduardo Perez
  • Serpentine Pavilion 2017, Designed by Francis Kéré, Design Render, Exterior ©Kéré Architecture
  • Serpentine Pavilion 2017, Designed by Francis Kéré, Design Render, Interior © Kéré Architecture
  • National Park of Mali; Bamako, Mali, 2010 © Kéré Architecture
Kéré ist der siebzehnte Architekt, der der Einladung der Serpentine Galleries zur Gestaltung eines temporären Pavillons auf ihrem Gelände folgt. Seit dem Start im Jahr 2000 ist die jährliche Beauftragung einer Architektin oder eines Architekten zum Bau ihres oder seines ersten Gebäudes in London zum Zeitpunkt der Einladung eine der populärsten Veranstaltungen im globalen Kulturkalender und eine der führenden Besucherattraktionen in Londons Sommersaison. Die Auswahl des Architekten trafen Serpentine Artistic Director Hans Ulrich Obrist und CEO Yana Peel mit den Beratern David Adjaye und Richard Rogers.

 
Francis Kéré Francis Kéré © Erik Jan Ouwerkerk Diébédo Francis Kéré ist Hauptarchitekt bei dem 2005 gegründeten Büro Kéré Architecture in Berlin. Kéré wurde 1965 in Gando, Burkina Faso, in Westafrika geboren und studierte an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Kéré wurde national und international mit Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter der Aga Khan Award for Architecture (2004) für sein erstes Gebäude, eine Grundschule in Gnado, Burkina Faso, der LOCUS Global Award for Sustainable Architecture (2009), der Global Holcim Award Gold (2011 und 2012), der Green Planet Architects Award (2013), der Schelling Architecture Foundation Award (2014) und der Kenneth Hudson Award – European Museum oft he Year (2015).

Kérés Arbeiten wurden zuletzt auch in Einzelausstellungen präsentiert: Radically Simple im Architekturmuseum in München (2016) und The Architecture of Francis Kéré: Building for Community, Philadelphia Museum of Art (2016). Seine Arbeit wurde auch für die Gruppenausstellungen Small Scale, Big Change: New Architectures of Social Engagement, Museum of Modern Art, New York (2010) und Sensing Spaces, Royal Academy, London (2014) ausgewählt.

Zurück zur Veranstaltungsreihe
 

Zurück