Festival Newcastle Noir 2017: Elisabeth Herrmann, Cay Rademacher & Wulf Dorn

Newcastle Noir Newcastle Noir Cover Image © Nick Banks

Fri, 28.04.2017 -
Sat, 29.04.2017

The Lit & Phil

The Lit & Phil
23 Westgate Road
NE1 1SE Newcastle upon Tyne

The North East’s only book festival devoted exclusively to crime fiction brings together bestselling crime writers and the new ones to watch. The line-up has always been international and this year, for the first time, authors from Germany have been invited. It all happens at the Lit & Phil’s historic 1825 building, where the Festival is now an established part of their busy events programme.
 
Panel 6: German Noir, Saturday 29. April, 6.30pm–7.30pm
with Elisabeth Herrmann, Cay Rademacher and Wulf Dorn.
Chaired by Kat Hall.
 
 
Elisabeth Herrmann ©Random House/Isabelle Grubert In England, Elisabeth Herrmann is a new voice in crime fiction. Her novels have captivated German readers since the publication of The Sitter in 2005 and have reached a broader audience with the subsequent adaptation into TV movies of The Sitter and The Cleaner.




 
 
Cay Rademacher © Newcastle Noir | Fotografie Donna-Lisa Healy Cay Rademacher is the author of several crime novels including the trilogy featuring Oberinspektor Frank Stave, who is fighting crime in the ruins of 1940s British-occupied Hamburg. Many of Cay’s books are available in English. His latest work A Provence Mystery will be available in September 2017.



 
 
Wulf Dorn © Newcastle Noir | Fotografie Donna-Lisa Healy Wulf Dorn's first novel Trigger became an international bestseller. Since then he has published six more novels that have been translated into ten languages. He has won numerous awards, including the French Prix Polar for Best International Author. Wulf has also translated texts by David Bowie, David Lynch and Francis Ford Coppola.



 

+ + + Due to unforeseen circumstances, Sascha Arango is unfortunately not able to participate in the event + + +
 
Sascha Arango © Newcastle Noir | Fotografie Donna-Lisa Healy Sascha Arango is one of Germany’s most prominent screenplay writers and a two-time winner of the Grimme prize for his work on Tatort. His first novel The Truth and Other Lies was published in 2015.






 
 
Kat Hall Foto: Kat Hall © CrimeFest Kat Hall is the editor of Crime Fiction in German: Der Krimi (2016). She is also a crime fiction reviewer at  ‘The Mrs Peabody investigates’ blog.







 


The Goethe-Institut London is delighted to be supporting the German authors Elisabeth Herrmann, Cay Rademacher and Wulf Dorn at Newcastle Noir 2017.

Book Tickets
Back to Event Series

Back

Festival Newcastle Noir 2017: Elisabeth Herrmann, Cay Rademacher & Wulf Dorn

Newcastle Noir Newcastle Noir Cover Image © Nick Banks

Fr, 28.04.2017 -
Sa, 29.04.2017

The Lit & Phil

The Lit & Phil
23 Westgate Road
NE1 1SE Newcastle upon Tyne

Das Newcastle Noir ist das einzige nord-östliche Literaturfestival, das sich exklusiv der Kriminalliteratur verpflichtet hat. Hier kommen Bestseller-AutorInnen und Neulinge zusammen. Das Programm war stets international und in diesem Jahr wurden zum ersten Mal auch AutorInnen aus Deutschland eingeladen. Die Veranstaltung findet in Newcastles historischem Lit&Phil-Gebäude von 1825 statt, wo das Festival mittlerweile einen etablierten Bestandteil des Veranstaltungsprogramms darstellt.
 
Panel 6: German Noir, Samstag 29. April, 18.30–19.30 Uhr
mit Elisabeth Herrmann, Cay Rademacher und Wulf Dorn
Moderation: Kat Hall
 
Elisabeth Herrmann ©Random House/Isabelle Grubert Elisabeth Herrmann erlebte mit ihrem Roman Das Kindermädchen (2005) ihren Durchbruch. Seitdem sind zahlreiche Krimis von ihr erschienen, von denen fast alle verfilmt wurden oder derzeit werden. So läuft die Reihe um den Berliner Anwalt Vernau, gespielt von Jan Josef Liefers, erfolgreich im ZDF. Elisabeth Herrmann erhielt den Radio-Bremen-Krimipreis und den Deutschen Krimipreis 2012.


 
 
Cay Rademacher © Newcastle Noir | Fotografie Donna-Lisa Healy Cay Rademacher ist Autor zahlreicher Kriminalromane, darunter der Dreiteiler Oberinspektor Frank Stave, der gegen die Kriminalität in den Ruinen des britisch besetzten Hamburgs der 1940er Jahre vorgeht. Viele von Cays Büchern sind auf Englisch zu erhalten. Seine letzte Arbeit A Provence Mystery wird ab September 2017 zu erhalten sein.


 
 
Wulf Dorn © Newcastle Noir | Fotografie Donna-Lisa Healy Wulf Dorns erste Novelle Trigger wurde zum internationalen Bestseller. Seitdem hat er sechs weitere Novellen publiziert, die in zehn Sprachen übersetzt wurden. Er gewann zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter der French Prix Polar für Best International Author. Wulf übersetzte auch Texte von David Bowie, David Lynch und Francis Ford Coppola.


 

+ + + Aus unvorhergesehenen Gründen kann Sascha Arango leider nicht an der Veranstaltung teilnehmen + + +
 
Sascha Arango © Newcastle Noir | Fotografie Donna-Lisa Healy Sascha Arango ist einer der prominentesten Drehbuchautoren in Deutschland und gewann zwei Mal den Grimme-Preis für seine Arbeit an der Kultserie Tatort. Seine erste Novelle The Truth and Other Lies wurde 2015 publiziert.





 
 
Kat Hall Foto: Kat Hall © CrimeFest Kat Hall ist die Redakteurin von Crime Fiction auf Deutsch: Der Krimi (2016). Sie ist auch Kritikerin für Kriminalliteratur beim The Mrs Peabody investigates-Blog.






 


Das Goethe-Institut London unterstützt die Teilnahme der deutschen AutorInnen Elisabeth Herrmann, Cay Rademacher und Wulf Dorn beim Newcastle Noir 2017.

Hier Tickets buchen
Zurück zur Veranstaltungsreihe

Zurück