Festival Bristol CrimeFest
With Mario Giordano, Merle Kröger, Volker Kutscher & Melanie Raabe

CrimeFest © CrimeFest

Thu, 18.05.2017 -
Sun, 21.05.2017

Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
College Green
BS1 5TA Bristol

The international Crime Fiction Convention

First organised in June 2008, CrimeFest is a convention for people who like to read an occasional crime novel as well as for die-hard fanatics. It has not only become one of the biggest crime fiction events in Europe, but is also one of the most popular dates in the international crime fiction calendar. CrimeFest draws top crime novelists, readers, editors, publishers and reviewers from around the world and gives delegates the opportunity to celebrate the genre in a friendly, informal and inclusive atmosphere.

Please find the CrimeFest programme here. On this panels you will find the German authors Mario Girodano, Merle Kröger, Volker Kutscher and/or Melanie Raabe:
  • Mario Giordano: FRI 19 May, 11.20am–12.10am, Track 2: Deadly Serious? Shades of Dark and Light In Crime Fiction
  • Mario Giordano, Merle Kröger, Volker Kutscher and Melanie Raabe, chaired by Kat Hall: FRI 19 May, 2.50pm–3.40pm, Track 1: Wunderbar! The Hidden Wonders Of The German Krimi
  • Volker Kutscher: FRI 19 May, 5.10pm–6pm, Track 3: The Good Old Days: The Rich Tapestry Of Historical Crime Fiction
  • Melanie Raabe: SAT 20 May, 10.10am–11am, Track 2: Mavericks, Misfits And Miscreants
 
Mario Giordano Foto: Mario Giordano © CrimeFest Mario Giordano, the son of Italian immigrants, was born 1963 in Munich. He lives in Cologne and has written numerous novels and YA books, as well as screenplays for the German TV crime series Tatort. In 2001, he wrote the screenplay for the award-winning film The Experiment, directed by Oliver Hirschbiegel. Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions is his first crime novel, and his first novel to be translated into English.

 
 
Merle Kröger Foto: Merle Kröger © CrimeFest Novelist, script writer and film producer Merle Kröger lives in Berlin. She produces films and documentaries for international arthouse cinema, and also writes scripts for independent cinema in India. Since 2003, Kröger has published four novels, which combine documentary research, personal history and political analysis with elements of crime fiction. For Grenzfall (2012) and Havarie (2015), she received the German Crime Fiction Prize. Collision will be published in the US in 2017.
 
 
Volker Kutscher Foto: Volker Kutscher © CrimeFest Volker Kutscher was born 1962 in Lindlar, West Germany. Before writing novels he worked as a journalist. His award-winning Gereon Rath series consists of Der nasse Fisch (2007), Der stumme Tod (2009), Goldstein (2010), Die Akte Vaterland (2012), Märzgefallene (2014) and Lunapark (2016), all using 1920s and 1930s Berlin as a historical backdrop. Three more will follow. The Rath novels are translated into ten languages, two in English: Babylon Berlin and The Silent Death (Sandstone Press). They are currently being adapted for television by ARD/Sky, with Tom Tykwer directing.
 
Melanie Raabe Foto: Melanie Raabe © CrimeFest Melanie Raabe grew up in eastern Germany, and attended the Ruhr University Bochum, specialising in media studies and literature. After graduating, she moved to Cologne to work as a journalist by day and secretly write books by night. Her novel, The Trap, won the Stuttgart Crime Fiction Prize for best crime debut of the year, has been sold to more than 20 countries, and has been optioned for a film by TriStar Pictures. 

 
 
Kat Hall Foto: Kat Hall © CrimeFest Kat Hall is the editor of Crime Fiction in German: Der Krimi (2016), an Honorary Research Associate at Swansea University, and runs the Mrs. Peabody Investigates international crime fiction blog.






 



The Goethe-Institut London is delighted to be supporting the authors Mario Girodano, Merle Kröger, Volker Kutscher and Melanie Raabe at the Bristol CrimeFest 2017.

Book Tickets
Back to event series

Back

Festival Bristol CrimeFest
Mit Mario Giordano, Merle Kröger, Volker Kutscher & Melanie Raabe

CrimeFest © CrimeFest

Do, 18.05.2017 -
So, 21.05.2017

Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
College Green
BS1 5TA Bristol

Internationale Crime Fiction-Versammlung

Zum ersten Mal wurde das CrimeFest 2008 in Bristol organisiert. Die Convention richtet sich sowohl an LeserInnen, die gelegentlich zum Krimi greifen als auch an Krimi-FanatikerInnen. In den letzten Jahren hat sich das CrimeFest nicht nur zu einem der größten Crime Fiction-Events in Europa entwickelt sondern wurde auch zu einem der wichtigsten Termine im internationalen Crime Fiction-Kalender. Das CrimeFest bringt bekannte Krimi-AutorInnen, LeserInnen, RedakteurInnen, HerausgeberInnen und KritikerInnen aus der ganzen Welt zusammen und gibt den Deligierten die Möglichkeit, das Genre in einer freundlichen, informalen und integrativen Atmosphäre zu erleben.

Das Programm des CrimeFest finden Sie hier. Die deutschen AutorInnen Mario Girodani, Merle Kröger, Volker Kutscher und/oder Melanie Raabe sind in folgenden Panels zu erleben:
  • Mario Giordano: FREITAG 19 Mai, 11.20–12.10 Uhr, Track 2: Deadly Serious? Shades of Dark and Light In Crime Fiction
  • Mario Giordano, Merle Kröger, Volker Kutscher und Melanie Raabe im Gespräch mit Kat Hall: FREITAG 19 Mai, 14.50–15.40 Uhr, Track 1: Wunderbar! The Hidden Wonders Of The German Krimi
  • Volker Kutscher: FREITAG 19 Mai, 17.10–18 Uhr, Track 3: The Good Old Days: The Rich Tapestry Of Historical Crime Fiction
  • Melanie Raabe: SAMSTAG 20 Mai, 10.10–11 Uhr, Track 2: Mavericks, Misfits And Miscreants
 
Mario Giordano Foto: Mario Giordano © CrimeFest Mario Giordano wurde 1963 als Sohn italienischer Migranten in München geboren und lebt derzeit in Köln. Er schrieb zahlreiche Novellen und Jugendbücher sowie Drehbücher für die deutsche Krimi-Serie Tatort. Im Jahr 2001 verfasste er das Drehbuch für den preisgekrönten Film Das Experiment, Regie führte Oliver Hirschbiegel. Tante Poldi und die sizilianischen Löwen ist sein erster Krimi und die erste Novelle, die ins Englische übersetzt wurde.
 
 
Merle Kröger Foto: Merle Kröger © CrimeFest Die Schriftstellerin, Drehbuchautorin und Filmproduzentin Merle Kröger lebt in Berlin. Sie produziert Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme für das internationale Arthouse-Kino und schreibt Skripte für das unabhängige Kino in Indien. Seit 2003 publizierte Kröger vier Novellen; für Grenzfall (2012) und Haverie (2015) erhielt sie den Deutschen Krimipreis. Collision wird in diesem Jahr in den USA publiziert.


 
 
Volker Kutscher Foto: Volker Kutscher © CrimeFest Volker Kutscher wurde 1962 in Lindlar geboren. Bevor er begann, Bücher zu schreiben, arbeitete er als Journalist. Seine preisgekrönte Serie Gereon Rath, bestehend aus aus Der nasse Fisch (2007), Der stumme Tod (2009), Goldstein (2010), Die Akte Vaterland (2012), Märzgefallene (2014) und Lunapark (2016), nutze allesamt die Berliner Kulisse der 1920er und 1930er Jahre. Drei weitere werden folgen. Die Rath-Novellen wurden in zehn Sprachen übersetzt, zwei von ihnen ins Englische: Babylon Berlin und The Silent Death. Sie werden derzeit von ARD/Sky für das Fernsehen adaptiert.
 
Melanie Raabe Foto: Melanie Raabe © CrimeFest Melanie Raabe wuchs in Ost-Deutschland auf und besuchte die Ruhr Universität Bochum, an der sie sich auf Medienstudien und Literatur spezialisierte. Nach ihrem Abschluss zog sie nach Köln, um dort tagsüber als Journalistin zu arbeiten und nachts heimlich Romane zu schreiben. Ihre Novelle The Trap, die den Stuttgarter Krimipreis für das beste Krimi-Debut des Jahres gewann, wurde in über zwanzig Ländern verkauft und für eine Filmproduktion von TriStar Pictures ausgewählt.
 
 
Kat Hall Foto: Kat Hall © CrimeFest Kat Hall ist die Herausgeberin von Crime Fiction in German: Der Krimi (2016), eine „Honorary Research Associate“ an der Swansea University. Sie betreibt außerdem den internationalen Blog für Kriminalliteratur Mrs. Peabody Investigates.





 


Das Goethe-Institut London unterstützt die AutorInnen Mario Girodano, Merle Kröger, Volker Kutscher und Melanie Raabe auf dem Bristol CrimeFest 2017.

Tickets
Zurück zur Veranstaltungsreihe

Zurück