Residency Artists in Residency 2017-2018:
Stephanie Müller & Klaus Erich Dietl

Stephanie Müller & Klaus Erich Dietl © Stephanie Müller & Klaus Erich Dietl

Fri, 01.09.2017

Birmingham Repertory Theatre

Broad St
B1 2EP Birmingham

The Visual Arts programme at BE FESTIVAL explores a particular theme over two festival editions. In 2017–18, they invited artists to respond to the shifting attitudes toward physical and imaginary borders. Considering the increased tensions relating to freedom of movement in Europe’s borders, they’ve worked with artists pondering the ways in which cultural identities are contested.
 
An enormous number of people continue to risk travel to Europe, seeking refuge from war and persecution. Following the Brexit vote and the Trump presidency in the USA, nationalistic sentiments are rising – bringing internal conflicts over sovereignty to the fore. Inviting six artists to be involved in our visual arts programme across these two years, BE FESTIVAL looks forward to seeing those debates imaginatively re-framed within their work.
 
The European artists in residency for 2017–18, Stephanie Müller & Klaus Erich Dietl, will collaborate over a 12 month period to produce work especially for BE FESTIVAL. Stephanie is a visual artist and sociological researcher, with an interest in experiments and improvisation. Klaus is a visual artist with a background in literature and cinematography.

The Goethe-Institut London is delighted to see Stephanie Müller and Klaus Erich Dietl, newcomers on the international stage, selected to join BE FESTIVAL as visual artists in residence.


Back to event series
 

Back

Residency Residenzkünstler 2017-2018:
Stephanie Müller & Klaus Erich Dietl

Stephanie Müller & Klaus Erich Dietl © Stephanie Müller & Klaus Erich Dietl

Fr, 01.09.2017

Birmingham Repertory Theatre

Broad St
B1 2EP Birmingham

Das Visual Arts Programme des BE FESTIVAL nimmt über zwei Festival-Editionen ein bestimmtes Thema in den Fokus. Für 2017/18 wurden KünstlerInnen eingeladen, um auf die veränderten Einstellungen gegenüber physischen und imaginären Grenzen zu antworten. Sie betrachten die zunehmenden Spannungen, die mit der Bewegungsfreiheit innerhalb der Grenzen Europas zusammenhängen und haben mit KünstlerInnen gearbeitet, die darüber reflektieren, wie kulturelle Identität infragegestellt werden kann.

Auf der Suche nach Schutz vor Krieg und Verfolgung, riskiert noch immer eine große Zahl an Menschen die Fahrt nach Europa. Mit dem Brexit-Votum und der Trump-Präsidentschaft in den USA nehmen nationalistische Sentiments zu – was interne Konflikte über Souveranität in den Vordergrund rückt. Das BE FESTIVAL hat sechs KünstlerInnen eingeladen, in diesen beiden Jahren Teil des Kunstprogramms zu werden, um diese Debatten in deren Arbeiten neu zu rahmen.

Die europäischen Residenz-KünstlerInnen für 2017/18, Stephanie Müller & Klaus Erich Dietl, werden für 12 Monate zusammenarbeiten und Arbeiten für das BE FESTIVAL entwerfen. Stephanie ist Künstlerin und Soziologin mit Interesse an Experimenten und Improvisation. Klaus ist ein Künstler mit literarischem und kinematografischem Hintergrund.

Das Goethe-Institut freut sich, dass Stephanie Müller und Klaus Erich Dietl, Newcomer auf der internationalen Bühne, ausgewählt wurden, als ResidenzkünstlerInnen am BE FESTIVAL teilzunehmen.


Zurück zur Veranstaltungsreihe
 

Zurück