Film screening & Panel discussion Hacking Justice

Poster Cinemaattic Poster: Cinemaattic

Wed, 27.09.2017

Scottish Storytelling Centre

43-45 High Street
EH1 1SR Edinburgh

When Baltasar Garzón met Julian Assange

Join us for the opening of the Catalonia festival on Wednesday 27th September with the UK premiere of the catalan-german co-production ’Hacking Justice’. A documentary following the legal defence led by Judge Baltasar Garzon to demonstrate the innocence of Wikileaks’ founder Julian Assange. The screening is followed by a panel discussion with the directors Clara Lopez Rubio and Juan Pancorbo as well as Human Rights and Legal experts frorm University of Edinburgh.

Panel Discussion: National Security VS Freedom of Expression

Cinemaattic has confirmed the attendance of the directors and part of the Wikileaks legal team. They will take part in a panel debate after the film on the contesting debate between National Security vs Freedom of Information with Human Rights and Legal experts from University of Edinburgh. Amongst them,

Renata Avila, is the Senior Digital Rights Advisor for the World Wide Web Foundation. She is a Guatemalan human rights lawyer and digital rights advocate. Specialising in Intellectual Property and Technology, she works in the intersection between human rights, information, technological change and the power disparities between the Global North and South. A Courage Foundation trustee and human rights lawyer.  She’s been advising WikiLeaks and Julian Assange under the direction of Baltasar Garzón, on human rights grounds.

Dimitros Kagiaros, He has taught on constitutional law, administrative law and human rights law courses at the University of Edinburgh and the University of Hull. He was awarded his PhD for his thesis ‘Whistle-blowing and democratic governance: Public Interest limitations in Security and Intelligence’ in 2015.

Back

Fimvorführung und Paneldiskussion Hacking Justice

Poster Cinemaattic Poster: Cinemaattic

Mi, 27.09.2017

Scottish Storytelling Centre

43-45 High Street
EH1 1SR Edinburgh

Als Baltasar Garzón Julian Assange traf

Begleiten Sie uns auf die Eröffnung des Catalonia Festivals am Mittwoch, den 27. September, mit der UK-Filmpremiere der katalanisch-deutschen Co-Produktion „Hacking Justice“. Ein Dokumentarfilm über die Rechtsverteidigung des Wikileaks-Gründers Julian Assange, angeführt von Untersuchungsrichter   Baltasar Garzon. Im Anschluss an die  Filmvorführung folgt eine Podiumsdiskussion mit den Regisseuren Clara Lopez Rubio und Juan Pancorbo sowie mit Experten im Bereich der Juristik und Menschenrechte der Universität Edinburgh.

Podiumsdiskussion: Nationale Sicherheit VS Meinungsfreiheit

Cinemaattic hat sowohl die Teilnahme der Regisseure als auch die Teilnahme von Zuständigen der Wikileaks Rechtsabteilung bestätigt. Sie werden ebenfalls Teil der Debatte sein und mit den Experten der Universität Edinburgh über den Konflikt zwischen nationaler Sicherheit und Meinungsfreiheit diskutieren. Zu ihnen gehören:

Zum einen Renata Avila, Senior Digital Rights Advisor für die World Wide Web Foundation. Sie ist Menschenrechtsanwältin und Verfechterin digitaler Rechte aus Guatemala. Avila ist Spezialistin im Bereich des Immaterialgüterrechts und der Technik, sie befasst sich im Wesentlichen mit Überschneidungen im Bereich  Menschenrechte, Information, technologischer Wandel und dem Machtgefälle zwischen dem globalen Norden und Süden. Außerdem ist sie Trustee der Courage Foundation und Menschenrechtlerin. Sie hat Wikileaks und Julian Assange unter der Leitung von Baltasar Garzón im Bereich der Menschenrechte beraten.

Zum anderen Dimitros Kagiaros, er lehrte Verfassungsrecht, Verwaltungsrecht und Menschenrechte an der Universität Edinburgh und der Universität Hull. Kagiaros schrieb im Jahre 2015 seine Dissertation mit dem Titel: „Whistle-blowing and democratic governance: Public Interest limitations in Security and Intelligence”.

Zurück