Conference Sohrab Shahid Saless – Exile, Displacement and the Stateless Moving Image

Sohrab Shahid Saless-Portrait _on set_Bert Schmidt_Set Willow Tree © Bert Schmidt

Fri, 19.01.2018

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Keynote speaker: Prof. Hamid Naficy (Northwestern)
 
This one-day conference brings together scholars from a range of disciplines to explore the work of Iranian filmmaker Sohrab Shahid Saless as a conduit for a wider engagement with exiled and displaced moving image practitioners: their ethics, aesthetics, modes of production as well as their precarious lives and often uncertain legacy today.
 
Confirmed guest speakers include Dr. Michelle Langford (University of New South Wales, Sydney), Dr. Christopher Gow (Glasgow), Dr. Matthias Wittmann (University of Basel, Switzerland), Naomi DeCelles (University of California); Dr. Michael Mazière (University of Westminster, UK), Nicolai S. Gütermann (Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Film, History and Society, Austria) and Pierre d'Alancaisez (Waterside Contemporary, UK).

Please note that registration is essential as seats are limited.
Please register by contacting shahidsalessretrospective2017@gmail.com


The conference is organised by Dr. Azadeh Fatehrad in partnership with the Goethe- Institut London and with support from the Visual and Material Culture Research Centre, Kingston University (London), Iran Heritage Foundation (London), Arts Council England and CHASE (Consortium for the Humanities and the Arts South-East England).
 
Zurück zur Veranstaltungsreihe

Back

Konferenz Sohrab Shahid Saless – Exil, Vertreibung und das staatenlose Bewegtbild

Sohrab Shahid Saless-Portrait _on set_Bert Schmidt_Set Willow Tree © Bert Schmidt

Fr, 19.01.2018

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Keynote: Prof. Hamid Naficy (Northwestern)
 
Auf dieser eintägigen Konferenz kommen Wissenschaftler verschiedener Fachrichtungen zusammen, um sich dem Werk des iranischen Filmemachers Sohrab Shahid Saless zu widmen – als Ausgangspunkt für eine umfassendere Würdigung exilierter und vertriebener Filmschaffender – ihrer Ethik, Ästhetik und Arbeitsweise sowie ihrer prekären Lebensumstände und ihres häufig ungesicherten Filmerbes.

Sprecher*innen: Dr. Michelle Langford (University of New South Wales, Sydney), Dr. Christopher Gow (Glasgow), Dr. Matthias Wittmann (University of Basel, Switzerland), Naomi DeCelles (University of California); Dr. Michael Mazière (University of Westminster, UK), Nicolai S. Gütermann (Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Film, History and Society, Austria) and Pierre d'Alancaisez (Waterside Contemporary, UK).


Anmeldung unter shahidsalessretrospective2017@gmail.com
Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Platzzahl begrenzt und eine Anmeldung notwendig ist.

 
Die Konferenz wird organisiert von Dr. Azadeh Fatehrad in Partnerschaft mit dem Goethe-Institut London und mit Unterstützung des Visual and Material Culture Research Centre, der Kingston University (London), der Iran Heritage Foundation (London), des Arts Council England und CHASE (Consortium for the Humanities and the Arts South-East England).
 
Zurück zur Veranstaltungsreihe

Zurück