Goethe-Kino Five Last Days

Still: Fünf Letzte Tage, Director Percy Adlon Still: Fünf Letzte Tage, Director Percy Adlon

Wed, 28.02.2018

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Synopsis
The film shows the five days between Sophie Scholl’s arrest and her execution on 22 February 1943 as experienced by her cell neighbour Else Gebe. Brother and sister Scholl and their friends had started distributing leaflets - "The leaflets of the White Rose" - in protest against the Nazis. Though the film does not depart from the subjective narrative point of view of Else Gebel, the stripped-down, theatre-like approach gives room to Scholl’s thoughts, her convictions and joys.

Director Percy Adlon was interested in the moment of hope that still exists in the "madness of the exercise of power then and now", and which alone is the "daily chance of sympathy and helpfulness, for affection and human warmth."

West Germany 1982, 112 mins. Director: Percy Adlon

Percy Adlon was born in Munich in 1935. From 1954 to 58 he studied theatre studies, German philology, art history and drama. He worked for Bayerischer Rundfunk among other things as radio announcer, actor, editor of literature and author of documentary films. 1978 foundation of the company "pelemele". Awarded numerous national and international prizes. 

Complementing the screening of Five Last Days, we are showing the documentary The Resisters—Testimony of the White Rose (Die Widerständigen. Zeugen der Weißen Rose) on Tuesday, 27  February 2018. Please find more information here.

Tickets
Presented as part of the Goethe-Kino.

Back

Goethe-Kino Fünf letzte Tage

Still: Fünf Letzte Tage, Regie Percy Adlon Still: Fünf Letzte Tage, Regie Percy Adlon

Mi, 28.02.2018

19:00

Goethe-Institut London

Synopsis
Der Film schildert die fünf Tage zwischen der Verhaftung von Sophie Scholl und ihrer Hinrichtung am 22. Februar 1943 aus der Sicht ihrer Mitgefangenen Else Gebe. Mit Flugblattaktionen - "Die Flugblätter der Weißen Rose" - hatten die Geschwister Scholl und ihre Freunde zum Widerstand gegen das Nazi-Regime aufgerufen. Auch wenn der Film Else Gebels Erzählerperspektive übernimmt, stellt die zurückhaltende Behandlung im Stil eines Kammerspiels Scholls Gedanken, Gesinnung und Freuden in den Vordergrund.

Für Regisseur Percy Adlon war das Moment der Hoffnung interessant, das es noch im "Wahnsinn der Machtausübung von damals und heute" gebe. Dieses Moment beschreibt Adlon als die "tagtäglich gegebene Möglichkeit der Anteilnahme und Hilfsbereitschaft, der Zuneigung und Herzlichkeit".

Bundesrepublik Deutschland 1982, 112 Min. Regie: Percy Adlon

Percy Adlon wurde 1935 in München geboren; 1954-58 Studium der Theaterwissenschaft, Germanistik, Kunstgeschichte und Schauspiel in München. Mitarbeiter beim Bayerischen Rundfunk, u.a. als Sprecher, Darsteller, Bearbeiter von Literatur und Autor von Dokumentarfilmen. 1978 Gründung der Firma „pelemele“. Ausgezeichnet mit zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Preisen.

Ergänzend zur Vorführung von Fünf Letzte Tage zeigen wir am Dienstag, den 27. Februar 2018 den Dokumentarfilm Die Widerständigen – Zeugen der Weißen Rose. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Tickets
Präsentiert im Rahmen des Goethe-Kinos.

Zurück