Goethe-Kino Special Conny Plank – The Potential of Noise

Conny Plank in the Studio © Conny Plank - The Potential of Noise

Wed, 29.08.2018

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Fully Booked!

A personal journey into the world of the legendary sound designer Conny Plank. Stephan Plank takes us along as he is getting to know his late father via a soundtrack that made music history and has influenced millions over three decades.
 
Join us for the journey and a post-screening conversation between Stephan Plank and Rob Young, the author of All Gates Open: The Story of Can (May 2018).
 
Konrad “Conny” Plank is undoubtedly one of the most innovative sound designers of his time. The recordings realized in his sound studio near Cologne between the 60s and 80s, revolutionized the music world. He was the pioneer of “Kraut-rock”, “neue deutsche welle” and paved the way for the revolutions of electronic and pop music respectively. Bands and artists who were fathered by the sound wizard (mostly before they became world famous) all agree that their careers would have been different without the talents of Conny Plank; Dave Stewart (Eurythmics), Annette Humpe, Michael Rother (Neu!), Les Rita Mitsoukou, Daniel Miller (Founder of Mute Records), Whodini, Scorpions, Midge Ure (Ultravox), Karl Hyde (Underworld), DAF and Gianna Nannini are just some of those featured on screen. Conny Plank died much too young, aged 47. For his wife, the actress Christa Fast, and his 13 year old son Stephan, he left behind a world renowned sound studio. This is a story that begins 25 years on, with Stephan embarking on a journey to rediscover his father’s impact and his importance in music history. Because of the family connection, this film brings an unusually intimate and emotional insight to the artists and their work with Conny Plank, and all that defines music production. 
 
Germany 2017, colour, 92mins. With English subutitles. Directors: Reto Caduff & Stephan Plank. With: Conny Plank, Michael Rother, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Karl Hyde, Gianna Nannini, Dave Stewart, Whodini.
 

Stephan Plank was born in Wolperath, near Cologne in 1974. After he graduated from secondary school he managed his father’s sound studio until 2002, working with Bands such as Die Fantastischen Vier, Einstürzende Neubauten and Die Ärzte. At the same time he worked as a reporter, assistant director and realised film productions for the regional TV station WDR. In 2002 he founded the record label Krautpop. From 2006 – 2010 he was the manager of Nina and Cosma Shiva Hagen. Since 2010 has worked as media consultant and has developed film projects as director. Conny Plank – The Potential of Noise is his directorial debut. 

Rob Young is an English writer and journalist, specialising in music, film and art. He is a Contributing Editor of The Wire and also writes for Uncut, Sight & Sound, The Guardian, Frieze and Artforum. His books include All Gates Open: The Story of Can (2018), Electric Eden: Unearthing Britain’s Visionary Music (2010), Rough Trade (2006) and Warp (2005). He lives in Oslo and is currently writing an occult history of British film and television.

Conny Plank – The Potential of Noise is distributor by Burning Bridges / Lowlight in the UK. We would like to thank them for organising this event with us.

Book tickets trough Eventbrite

Presented as part of the Goethe-Kino.

 

Back

Goethe-Kino Special Conny Plank – The Potential of Noise

Conny Plank im Studio © Conny Plank - The Potential of Noise

Mi, 29.08.2018

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Ausverkauft!

Eine persönliche Reise in die Welt des legendären Sound-Designers Conny Plank. Sein Sohn Stephan Plank lädt uns ein, dabei zu sein, wenn er sich seinem verstorbenen Vater und dessen Arbeit mittels eines Soundtracks nähert, der Musikgeschichte schrieb und Millionen von Menschen über drei Jahrzehnten hinweg beeinflusst hat.

Begleiten Sie uns auf diese Reise und bleiben Sie im Anschluss an den Film für ein Gespräch zwischen Stephan Plank und Rob Young, dem Autor von All Gates Open: The Story of Can (Mai 2018).

Konrad "Conny" Plank ist zweifellos einer der innovativsten Sounddesigner seiner Zeit. Die in den 60er bis 80er Jahren in seinem Tonstudio bei Köln realisierten Aufnahmen revolutionierten die Musikwelt. Er war der Pionier von "Kraut-Rock", "Neue Deutsche Welle" und ebnete den Weg für die Revolutionen, die sich im Bereich der elektronischen Musik und im Pop ereignen sollten. So sind sich die Bands und KünstlerInnen, deren Sound Plank kreierte (zumeist bevor sie weltberühmt wurden), einig, dass ihre Karriere ohne das Talent des Sound-Magiers anders verlaufen wäre; Dave Stewart (Eurythmics), Annette Humpe, Michael Rother (Neu!), Les Rita Mitsoukou, Daniel Miller (Gründer von Mute Records), Whodini, Scorpions, Midge Ure (Ultravox), Karl Hyde (Underworld), DAF und Gianna Nannini sind nur einige, die auf der Leinwand zu sehen sind. Conny Plank starb viel zu früh im Alter von 47 Jahren. Sein weltbekanntes Tonstudio hinterließ er seiner Frau, der Schauspielerin Christa Fast, und seinem 13-jährigen Sohn Stephan. Der Film setzt 25 Jahre später ein, als Stephan sich auf die Reise begibt, um den Einfluss seines Vaters und seine Bedeutung für die Musikgeschichte neu zu entdecken. Aufgrund der familiären Verbindung ermöglicht dieser Film einen ungewöhnlich intimen und emotionalen Einblick in die Arbeit Conny Planks mit den verschiedenen MusikerInnen und all das, was Musikproduktion ausmacht.

Deutschland 2017, Farbe, 92 min. Mit englischen Untertiteln. Regisseure: Reto Caduff & Stephan Plank. Mit Conny Plank, Michael Rother, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Karl Hyde, Gianna Nannini, Dave Stewart, Whodini.

Stephan Plank wurde 1974 in Wolperath bei Neuenkirchen nahe Köln geboren. Nach dem Abitur war Plank bis 2002 Manager im alten Tonstudio seines Vaters und arbeitete dabei mit Bands wie Die Fantastischen Vier, Einstürzende Neubauten und Die Ärzte zusammen. Parallel war er als Realisator, Reporter und Regieassistent für den WDR tätig. 2002 gründete er das Plattenlabel Krautpop. 2006–2010 Künstlermanager von Nina und Cosma Shiva Hagen. Seit 2010 ist er Medienberater und entwickelt als Regisseur eigene Filmprojekte. Conny Plank – The Potential of Noise ist sein Regiedebüt.

Rob Young ist ein englischer Autor und Journalist, spezialisiert auf Musik, Film und Kunst. Er ist freier Redakteur beiThe Wire und schreibt für Uncut, Sight & Sound, The Guardian, Frieze und Artforum. Zu seinen Büchern gehören All Gates Open: The Story of Can (2018), Electric Eden: Unearthing Britain’s Visionary Music (2010), Rough Trade (2006) und Warp (2005). Er lebt in Oslo und schreibt gerade eine okkulte Geschichte des britischen Films und Fernsehens.

Conny Plank – The Potential of Noise ist in Grobritannien bei Burning Bridges / Lowlight im Verleih. Wir danken Ihnen für die Zusammenarbeit bei der Organisation dieser Veranstaltung.

Tickets über Eventbrite buchen

Präsentiert im Rahmen des Goethe-Kinos.


 

Zurück