Film Screening Klassenverhältnisse + Jean-Marie Straub and Danièle Huillet at Work on a Film...

Klassenverhältnisse © BELVA Film

Wed, 01.05.2019

Close-Up Film Centre

97 Sclater Street
E1 6HR London

A screening celebrating International Workers’ Day.

‘Capitalism is a system of dependencies’ said Kafka, and his unfinished novel The Man Who Disappeared a.k.a. Amerika, on which Class Relations is based, chronicles ‘a world where a sense of justice has no place’ (D. Huillet). The film was shot in Germany (with one sequence filmed in the United States) and follows the path of the young German bourgeois Karl Rossman, who, forced by his parents to emigrate to America, an idealised land of opportunity, keeps finding himself involved in strange adventures, in situations of injustice and oppression, pushed around, defenceless yet still striving forward. ‘Kafka, for us, is the only major poet of industrial civilisation, I mean, a civilisation where people depend on their work to survive. That’s why there is this permanent fear of losing your job, there are traces left by the fact of having been afraid, and there is constantly misery that appears and is threatening’, said Straub.

Jean-Marie Straub and Danièle Huillet at Work ... shows, how Harun Farocki, an admirer and, for a period, a student of Jean-Marie Straub, is rehearsing his part of "Delamarche" in Klassenverhältnisse under Straub's direction.

Class Relations is presented in a new digital restoration.

The screening is introduced by Kirill Adibekov.


 
Kirill Adibekov is as a film curator, essay filmmaker and independent distributor based in London and Moscow. He is currently working at the V-A-C Foundation as a film curator, while doing MA dissertation at Roehampton University. He has curated several programmes featuring works of Danièle Huillet & Jean-Marie Straub, namely Fascination: sound (2012), a retrospective of Peter Nestler films (2013) and a film programme accompanying Expanding Space project exhibition (2016). He also contributed to the collection of texts L’internationale straubienne: à propos des films de Danièle Huillet et Jean-Marie Straub (Les éditions de l’Œil, 2016).


Klassenverhältnisse, Class Relations, Dirs: Danièle Huillet and Jean-Marie Straub, West Germany, 1984,  35mm/DCP, b&w, 130 min. In German with English subtitles.

Jean-Marie Straub und Danièle Huillet bei der Arbeit an einem Film nach Franz Kafkas Romanfragment Amerika, Jean-Marie Straub and Danièle Huillet at Work on a Film based on Franz Kafka’s Amerika, Harun Farocki, West Germany, 1983, 16mm/Digital, 26 min., In German with English subtitles.



Presented as part of The Films of Jean-Marie Straub and Danièle Huillet
 

Back

Filmvorführung Klassenverhältnisse + Jean-Marie Straub und Danièle Huillet bei der Arbeit ...

Klassenverhältnisse © BELVA Film

Mi, 01.05.2019

Close-Up Film Centre

97 Sclater Street
E1 6HR London

Vorführung anlässlich des Internationalen Tags der Arbeit

‚Der Kapitalismus ist ein System der Abhängigkeiten', so Kafka, und sein unvollendeter Roman Der Verschollene (auch unter dem Titel Amerika bekannt), der als Ausgangspunkt für Klassenverhältnisse dient, zeichnet die Chronik einer ‚Welt, in der Sinn für Gerechtigkeit keinen Raum hat' (D. Huillet). Der Film wurde in Deutschland gedreht (mit einer Sequenz, die in den Vereinigten Staaten gefilmt wurde) und verfolgt den Weg des jungen Deutschen aus einer gutbürgerlichen Familie, Karl Rossman, der von seinen Eltern gezwungen wird, nach Amerika, einem idealisierten Land der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten, auszuwandern. Immer wieder wird er in seltsame Abenteuer, in Situationen der Ungerechtigkeit und Unterdrückung verwickelt, wehrlos herumgestoßen, und dennoch strebt er stets nach vorne. ‚Kafka ist aus unserer Sicht der einzige große Dichter der industriellen Zivilisation, ich meine, einer Zivilisation, in der die Menschen zum Überleben auf ihre Arbeit angewiesen sind.’

Jean-Marie Straub und Danièle Huillet bei der Arbeit ... zeigt, wie Harun Farocki, ein Bewunderer zun zeitweiger Schüler von Jean-Marie Straub unter dessen Regie für den Film Klassenverhältnisse seine Rolle als "Delamarche" probt.

Klassenverhältnisse wird in einer neuen digital restaurierten Fassung gezeigt.

Mit einer Einführung von Kirill Adibekov.


Kirill Adibekov
ist als Filmkurator, Regisseur von Essay-Filmen und unabhängiger Filmverleiher in London und Moskau tätig. Zurzeit arbeitet er als Filmkurator bei der V-A-C Foundation und schreibt seine Master-Arbeit an der Roehampton University. Er kuratierte mehrere Programme mit Werken von Danièle Huillet und Jean-Marie Straub, u.a. Fascination: sound (2012), eine Retrospektive mit Filmen von Peter Nestler (2013) und ein Filmprogramm zur Ausstellung zum Expanding Space-Projekt (2016). Er trug auch zur Textsammlung L’internationale straubienne: à propos des films de Danièle Huillet et Jean-Marie Straub (Les éditions de l’Œil, 2016) bei.

 
Klassenverhältnisse, Regie: Danièle Huillet und Jean-Marie Straub, BRD, 1984, 35mm/DCP, s&w, 130 Min., Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln.

Jean-Marie Straub und Danièle Huillet bei der Arbeit an einem Film nach Franz Kafkas Romanfragment Amerika, Regie: Harun Farocki, BRD, 1983, 16mm/Digital, 26 Min., Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln.

Präsentiert im Rahmen von The Films of Jean-Marie Straub und Danièle Huillet
 

Zurück