Film Screening Sicilia! + 6 Bagatelles

Sicilia! © BELVA Film

Sat, 04.05.2019

ICA

The Mall
St. James's
SW1Y 5AH London

‘Sometimes / one confuses the pettiness of the world / with the offences of the world. / Ah! / If there were / knives and scissors, awls, picks and harquebuses, / mortars, sickles and hammers, cannons, cannons, dynamite!’
 
The first part of a trilogy of films based on the work of Elio Vittorini, Sicilia! (1999) is adapted from the author’s anti-fascist novel Conversations in Sicily (1939). After many years away, Silvestro returns from northern Italy to the Sicilian countryside of his childhood to visit his mother. The film, shot in black and white, retains the musicality of Vittorini’s language and is made up of a series of conversations the protagonist has with strangers in a port, fellow passengers on a train, his mother, and a knife-sharpener.
 
Sicilia! will be shown on a new 35mm print

In Six Bagatelles Pedro Costa takes unused scenes of Where Lies your Hidden Smile?, for which he filmed Huillet and Straub while editing Sicilia!, and combines them in a new edit.

This screening will be followed by a talk by Daniel Fairfax and a conversation moderated by curator and researcher Nicolas Helm-Grovas.

Daniel Fairfax is Assistant Professor in Film Studies at Goethe-Universität Frankfurt/Main and editor of the online film journal Senses of Cinema. His study of the transformation of Cahiers du cinéma and film theory in the wake of 1968 is forthcoming from Amsterdam University Press.
 

Sicilia!, Dirs: Jean-Marie Straub and Danièle Huillet, France/Italy, 1999, 35mm, b&w, 66 mins., Italian with English subtitles.

6 Bagatelles. Six Bagatelles, Dir. Pedro Costa, 2001, Portugal / France, HD on DCP, 18 mins., French with English subtitles.

 

Back

Filmvorführung Sicilia! + 6 Bagatelles

Sicilia! © BELVA Film

Sa, 04.05.2019

ICA - Institute of Contemporary Arts

The Mall
St. James's
SW1Y 5AH London

Sicilia! ist der erste Teil einer Filmtrilogie basierend auf den Werken von Elio Vittorini, adaptiert nach dem antifaschistischen Roman des Autors mit dem Titel Gespräch in Sizilien (1939) Nach vielen Jahren kehrt Silvestro aus Norditalien in das ländliche Gebiet seiner Kindheit auf Sizilien zurück, um seine Mutter zu besuchen. Der in Schwarz-Weiß gedrehte Film bleibt der in Vittorinis Roman verwendeten Sprache sehr treu; er besteht aus einer Reihe von Dialogen, die Silvestro mit Fremden an einem Hafen, Mitreisenden in einem Zug, mit Constanza, der Mutter des Protagonisten, und mit einem Messerschleifer führt.

Sicilia! wird in einer neuen 35mm-Kopie gezeigt.
 
In 6 Bagatelles verwendet Pedro Costa ungenutzte Szenen aus Where Lies your Hidden Smile?, für den er Huillt und Straub während des Schnitts von Sicilia! filmte, und montierte sie für einen neuen Kontext anders zusammen.

Im Anschluss an die Filmvorführung folgt eine Vortrag von Daniel Fairfax und ein Gespräch moderiert von dem Kurator und Filmwissenschaftler Nicolas Helm-Grovas.

Daniel Fairfax ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Bereich Filmwissenschaft an der Goethe-Universität in Franfurt/Main and Redakteur des Online-Filmjournals Senses of Cinema. Seine Publikation über die Veränderungen bei Cahiers du cinema und in der Filmtheorie infolge der 1968-Bewegung wird in Kürze bei der Amsterdam University Press erscheinen.
 

Sicilia!, Regie: Jean-Marie Straub und Danièle Huillet, Frankreich/Italien, 1999, 35mm, b&w, 66 Min., Italienisch mit englischen Untertiteln.

6 Bagatelles, Six Bagatelles, Regie: Pedro Costa, 2001, Portugal/Frankreich, MiniDV, 18 Min., Französisch mit englischen Untertiteln.

 

Zurück