Film Screening Un Conte de Michel de Montaigne + L'Aquarium et la Nation + Où en êtes-vous...

Un Conte de Michel de Montaigne © BELVA Film

Wed, 22.05.2019

Close-Up Film Centre

97 Sclater Street
E1 6HR London

A Programme of Jean-Marie Straub's recent video works.

In Un Conte de Michel de Montaigne (A Tale by Michel de Montaigne) the philosopher recounts an incident that happened to himself, and succeeds in showing us how an experience that is painful or threatening can be transfigured and the danger that lies in salvation.

L'Aquarium et la Nation (The Aquarium and the Nation) is a reflection on history, the passage of time and the fate of man. As in previous films of Jean-Marie Straub, it assembles disparate texts and elements in a meaningful whole: a shot of a fish aquarium, the orchestral version of Joseph Haydn's Seven Last Words of Our Saviour on the Cross, a reading by psychoanalyst and film writer and sound editor Aimé Agnel of an excerpt of André Malraux's last novel The Walnut Trees of Altenburg (1948) and a sequence taken from Jean Renoir's 1938 film La Marseillaise.

With Où en êtes-vous, Jean-Marie Straub? (Where Are You, Jean-Marie Straub?), the director offers a short and personal response to a commission of the Centre Pompidou in Paris on the occasion of the 2016 retrospective dedicated to himself and Danièle Huillet.


Un Conte de Michel de Montaigne, A Tale by Michel de Montaigne, Jean-Marie Straub, France/Switzerland, 2013, HD/DCP, colour, 34 min., in French with English subtitles.

L'Aquarium et la Nation, The Aquarium and the Nation, Jean-Marie Straub, France, 2015, HD, colour, 4:3, 31 min. 18 sec., in French with English subtitles.

Où en êtes-vous, Jean-Marie Straub?, Where Are You, Jean-Marie Straub?, Dir: Jean-Marie Straub, France/Switzerland, 2016, HD, colour, 9 min.



Presented as part of The Films of Jean-Marie Straub and Danièle Huillet

Back

Filmvorführung Un Conte de Michel de Montaigne + L'Aquarium et la Nation + Où en êtes-vous...

Un Conte de Michel de Montaigne © BELVA Film

Mi, 22.05.2019

Close-Up Film Centre

97 Sclater Street
E1 6HR London

Ein Programm mit Jean-Marie Straubs neueren Videoarbeiten.

In Un Conte de Michel de Montaigne (Eine Erzählung von Michel de Montaigne) berichtet der Philosoph von einem Vorfall, der ihm selbst widerfahren ist, und er vermag erfolgreich aufzuzeigen, wie ein schmerzliches oder bedrohliches Erlebnis transfiguriert werden kann; er reflektiert auch über die Gefahr, die in der Rettung liegt.

L'Aquarium et la Nation (Das Aquarium und die Nation) ist eine Betrachtung über die Geschichte, den Verlauf der Zeit und das Schicksal der Menschheit. Wie in früheren Filmen von Jean-Marie Straub, werden auch hier unzusammenhängende Texte und Komponenten auf sinnvolle Weise zusammengefügt: eine Aufnahme eines Fischaquariums, Joseph Haydns Die sieben letzten Worte unseres Erlösers am Kreuze in der Orchesterfassung, eine Lesung eines Auszugs aus André Malraux's letztem Roman Les noyers de l'Altenbourg (Die Walnussbäume von Altenburg, 1948), rezitiert vom Psychoanalytiker, Drehbuchautor und Tonmeister Aimé Agnel, und eine Sequenz aus Jean Renoirs Film La Marseillaise (1938).

Der letzte Film in diesem Programm, Où en êtes-vous, Jean-Marie Straub? (Wo sind Sie, Jean-Marie Straub?), ist ein kurzer und persönlicher Beitrag, den Straub im Auftrag des Centre Pompidou in Paris anlässlich der ihm und Danièle Huillet gewidmeten Retrospektive 2016 drehte.


Un Conte de Michel de Montaigne, Eine Erzählung von Michel de Montaigne, Regie: Jean-Marie Straub, Frankreich/Schweiz, 2013, HD/DCP, Farbe, 34 Min., Französisch mit englischen Untertiteln.

L'Aquarium et la Nation, Das Aquarium und die Nation, Jean-Marie Straub, Frankreich, 2015, HD, Farbe, 4:3, 31 min. 18 sec., Französisch mit englischen Untertiteln.

Où en êtes-vous, Jean-Marie Straub?, Wo sind Sie, Jean-Marie Straub), Regie: Jean-Marie Straub, Frankreich/Schweiz, 2016, HD, Farbe, 9 min.


Präsentiert im Rahmen von The Films of Jean-Marie Straub und Danièle Huillet

Zurück