Lecture Stages of Violence. Antigone by Straub/Huillet, between theatre and film

Film poster Antigone © BELVA Film

Sat, 13.04.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

The event is part of a weekend dedicated to Jean-Marie Straub and Danièle Huillet’s engagement with the work of the German philosopher and poet Friedrich Hölderlin. When you purchase a ticket for this event you will receive a promotional code to enjoy a discount of 50% on any Hölderlin event at the Goethe-Institut on 12.4. and 13.4. Further events are the screenings of Der Tod des Empedokles + Schwarze Sünde, O Somma Luce + Cézanne... and Der Bräutigam... + Die Antigone... on 13 April.

In his lecture the theatre expert Patrick Primavesi will discuss the question of violence in Sophokle's Antigone translated by Hölderlin in the version by Brecht and the adaptation by Huillet and Straub.

Patrick Primavesi is professor and head of department at the Institute of Theatre Studies at the University of Leipzig. He wrote his PhD on Walter Benjamin’s theories about commentary, translation and theatre and published widely on Bertolt Brecht and Heiner Müller, on contemporary theatre, dance and performance art. Current research projects focus on body politics, movement in urban space and archives of cultural heritage in digital environments. For decades, he has also been writing on the work of Danièle Huillet and Jean-Marie Straub, in particular on their films Antigone, The Death of Empedocles / Black Sin, From Until Tomorrow, Sicilia!, Workers, Peasants.

 
The lecture will be followed by a screening of The Bridegroom, the Actress and the Pimp + The Antigone of Sophocles after Hölderlin’s Translation Adapted for the Stage by Brecht 1948 at 6.30pm.


Book tickets through Eventbrite

Presented as part of The Films of Jean-Marie Straub and Danièle Huillet
 

Back

Vortrag Stages of Violence. Antigone by Straub/Huillet, between theatre and film

Film poster Antigone © BELVA Film

Sa, 13.04.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Dieser Vortrag ist Teil eines Wochenendes mit Veranstaltungen, die sich auf Jean-Marie Straubs und Danièle Huillets Auseinandersetzung mit dem Dichter und Philosophen Friedrich Hölderlin konzentrieren. Beim Kauf eines Tickets für diese Veranstaltungen erhalten Sie automatischen eine Ermäßigung von 50% auf die Tickets für alle anderen Veranstaltungen im Goethe-Institut am 12.4. und 13.4.2019. Weitere Veranstaltungen der Straub-Huillet und Hölderlin Reihe sind die Filmvorführungen von Der Tod des Empedokles + Schwarze Sünde, von O Somma Luce + Cézanne... sowie von Der Bräutigam... + Die Antigone... am 13.4.

In seinem Vortrag wird sich der Theaterexperte Patrick Primavesi speziell mit dem Thema der Gewalt im Stoff der Antigone auseinandersetzen und sich dabei sowohl  auf  die Tragödie von Sophokles als auch auf deren Übersetzung von Hölderlin, die  Version von Brecht sowie  die Adaption von Huillet und Straub beziehen.

Patrick Primavesi ist Professor und Geschäftsführender Direktor des Instituts für Theaterwissenschaft an der Universität Leipzig. Seine Doktorarbeit schrieb er über Walter Benjamins Theorien zu Kommentar, Übersetzung und Theater. Er ist Autor zahlreicher Veröffentlichungen über Bertolt Brecht und Heiner Müller, über zeitgenössisches Theater und Peformance Kunst. Der Schwerpunkte seiner aktuellen Forschungen sind Körperpolitik, Bewegung im urbanen Raum und Archive des kulturellen Erbes in digitalen Umgebungen. Seit Jahrzehnten beschäftigt er sich darüber hinaus mit der Arbeit von Danièle Huillet und Jean-Marie Straub, insbesondere mit Antigone, Der Tod des Empedokles / Schwarze Sünde, Von heute auf morgen, Sicilia! sowie Operai contadini.

 
Dem Vortrag folgt eine Filmvorführung von Der Bräutigam, die Komödiantin und der Zuhälter + Die Antigone des Sophokles nach der Hölderlinschen Übertragung für die Bühne bearbeitet von Brecht 1948 (Suhrkamp Verlag), um 18:30 Uhr.

Book tickets through Eventbrite

Präsentiert im Rahmen von The Films of Jean-Marie Straub und Danièle Huillet

Zurück