Festival Green Thoughts in a Green Shade

Green Thoughts © Sonya Schönberger

Sun, 21.07.2019

LUX

LUX
Waterlow Park Centre
Dartmouth Park Hill
N19 5JF London

A day inspired by the work of 17th century metaphysical poet and early ecological thinker Andrew Marvell who lived in Waterlow Park, considering plant ecologies and sensibilities, and investigating the potential and limits of thoughtful human/non-human cohabitation in the face of impending environmental crisis. The afternoon will be followed by a discussion and dinner at Omved Gardens, a unique urban garden and glasshouse based in Highgate.

2:30 PM, Performance Lecture - Richard Layzell
"How to Name a Tree and See It as a Political Animal"
A performance lecture by award-winning visual artist and LUX Creative Ecologist in residence Richard Layzell. His ongoing research project "The Naming" explores the impact of identification and categorisation on our direct experience of the natural world. His work references traditional First Nations beliefs in Canada and Australia and the Deep Ecology of Norwegian philosopher Arne Naess. This animated presentation shares his recent experience of trees in Waterlow Park and internationally. He lectures at the University of the Arts London and is the author of Enhanced Performance, Cream Pages and The Artist’s Directory.
 
3:30 PM, Participatory Performance - Feral Practice
"Phytocentric"
A participatory performance by Feral Practice, thinking humans towards the plants.
This new piece draws on their research into scientific, artistic and more esoteric methods of interspecies communication. Feral Practice works with human and nonhuman beings to create art projects and interdisciplinary events that develop ethical and imaginative relations across species boundaries. Recent projects use moving image, painting, audio and participatory performance. Recent performances and exhibitions include Mycorrhizal Meditation at The Bluecoat 2019, Taipei Biennale 2018, Radical Mycology Conference 2018, Furtherfield Gallery 2017. Plant Hunting 2018 commissioned by Invisible Dust for Whitby. Ask the Wild 2018 at Whitechapel Gallery, Tate St Ives, Turner Contemporary, Whitstable Biennale. Foxing, 2017 at PEER London.
 
5:00 PM, Lecture - Sonya Schönberger
"Kenyan Roses for the Kingdom"
A lecture based on the research on the Kenyan cut flower industry by the current Goethe@LUX artist in residence.
Sonya Schönberger is a Berlin-based artist who combines her studies in social anthropology and experimental media design in her artistic practice. The tracing of historical themes in connection with memories of individual biographies marked by interruptions and shifts is of particular interest to her. Many of her projects have developed out of different archives, either found or created by her. Schönberger works across different media such as photography, theatre, film, installation or audio formats.
 
6:30 PM, Discussion and Dinner - chaired by Filipa Ramos
The day will end with a discussion and dinner at OmVed Gardens chaired by writer and editor Filipa Ramos who recently co-curated a durational festival on interspecies consciousness, The Shape of a Circle in the Mind of a Fish (2018-19) for the Serpentine Gallery.
 
"OmvedGardens" is an urban garden and Glasshouse which explores the relationship between the human and the natural environment. They will host a dinner around the topic of the space between humans and their environment and how we negotiate this relationship, particularly in view of the climate crisis. The menu and the sharing of food will be a reflection of our participation in this space using ingredients that enhance the local diversity of food ingredients, serving each other.

22 & 23 July, Phytogram Workshops
Green Thoughts in a Green Shade will be followed by a two summer workshops in the LUX garden exploring the organic chemical process of plant-based direct-on-film animation on 22 and 23 July.

Back

Festival Green Thoughts in a Green Shade

Green Thoughts © Sonya Schönberger

So, 21.07.2019

LUX, London

LUX
Waterlow Park Centre
Dartmouth Park Hill
N19 5JF London

An diesem Tag voller Aufführungen, Vorträge und Diskussionen stehen die Themen Ökologie, das gesellschaftliche und künstlerische Verständnis von Pflanzen und der geteilte Lebensraum von Menschen und nicht-menschlichen Lebewesen im Vordergrund. Inspiriert wurde die Veranstaltung von Andrew Marvell, einem Dichter und Vordenker der Ökologie. Marvell lebte im 17. Jahrhundert im Londoner Waterlow Park, wo das Programm stattfindet. Es wird abgerundet von einem Abendessen bei OmVedGardens, einem Garten und Glashaus in Highgate.

14:30 Uhr, Performativer Vortrag - Richard Layzell
"How to Name a Tree and See It as a Political Animal"

Der preisgekrönte bildende Künstler in Residenz bei LUX, Richard Layzell, beschäftigt sich in seinem Projekt "The Naming" damit, wie unser Bestreben nach Identifikation und Klassifikation beeinflusst, wie wir Natur erleben. Seine Arbeit bezieht sich auf traditionelles Gedankengut aus Kanada und Australien, sowie auf das intellektuelle Erbe des norwegischen Philosophen Arne Naess, der die Theorie der Deep Ecology begründete. Layzells animierte Präsentation stellt seine Erlebnisse mit Bäumen in Waterlow Park und weltweit dar. Der Künstler doziert an der University of Arts London und ist Autor der Werke Enhanced Performance, Cream Pages und The Artist’s Directory.

15:30 Uhr, partizipative Aufführung - Feral Practice
"Phytocentric"

In dieser partizipativen Aufführung denkt Feral Practice Mensch und Pflanze zusammen. Das Stück ist von ihrer Forschung über die künstlerische, wissenschaftliche und esoterische Kommunikation zwischen den Spezien inspiriert. Practice erstellt Kunstwerke und interdisziplinäre Veranstaltungen, die auf ethische und erfinderische Weise die Beziehung zwischen den Spezien reflektieren. Dazu arbeitet sie mit Menschen und nicht-menschlichen Lebewesen zusammen. Momentan nutzt sie dafür Bewegtbild, Malerei, Ton und partizipative Präsentationen. Kürzlich hat Practice zur Taipei Biennale 2018, der Radical Mycology Congerence 2018 und der Furtherfield Gallery 2017 beigetragen.

17:00 Uhr, Vortrag - Sonya Schönberger
"Kenyan Roses for the Kingdom"

In ihrem Vortrag beschäftigt Sonya Schönberger, aktuell Residenzkünstlerin von Goethe@LUX mit der kenianischen Schnittblumenindustrie. Sonya Schönberger ist eine in Berlin lebende Künstlerin, die ihre Studien im Bereich Sozialanthropologie und experimentelles Mediendesign in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis kombiniert. Die Nachverfolgung historischer Themen in Verbindung mit durch Brüche gekennzeichneten individuellen Erinnerungen ist für sie von besonderem Interesse. Viele ihrer Projekte haben sich aus verschiedenen Archiven entwickelt, die sie entweder gefunden oder selbst erstellt hat. Schönberger arbeitet in verschiedenen Medien wie u.a. Fotografie, Theater, Film, Installation und Audioformaten.

18:30 Uhr, Abendessen und Gespräch - moderiert von Filipa Ramos
Abgerundet wird das Programm von einem Gespräch bei OmVedGardens, welches von der Autorin und Herausgeberin Filipa Ramos moderiert wird. Ramos kurierte kürzlich das Festival The Shape of a Circle in the Mind of a Fish (2018-19) für die Serpentine Gallery, welches sich ebenfalls mit dem Bewusstsein über die Verbindung der Spezien beschäftigte.
 
"OmvedGardens" ist ein urbaner Garten mit Glashaus, in dessen Areal die Verbindung zwischen Mensch und Umwelt erforscht werden kann. Hier findet ein abschließendes Abenessen statt, bei dem ebenjenes Verhältnis im Vordergrund steht, speziell im Lichte des Klimakrise. Im Menü wird die menschliche Teilhabe an der Umwelt reflektiert, da die Speisen aus Zutaten bestehen, mit deren Anbau der lokale Artenreichtum nicht eingeschränkt wird.

22. und 23. Juli, Phytogram Workshops
Anschließend an Green Thoughts in a Green Shade finden im Garten von LUX zwei Sommerworkshops statt. In ihnen wird der Prozess erschlossen, wie man durch den Einsatz von Pflanzen physisch fotografisches Filmmaterial bearbeiten kann.

Zurück