Goethe-Kino Andreas Goldstein: Adam & Evelyn + Q&A

Hiding in Adam’s trunk (Florian Teichtmeister), Katja (Lena Lauzemis) passes the Hungarian border. She flees westward, accompanied by a turtle. Andreas Goldstein: Adam & Evelyn © Neue Visionen Filmverleih

Wed, 27.11.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

We are delighted that director Andreas Goldstein will be present for a Q&A after the screening. He will also be our guest for a longer conversation following the screening of his film The Communist (Der Funktionär) on the previous day.
 

It’s summer somewhere in East Germany. In Adam and Evelyn’s garden the wild flowers are in bloom, birds sing, bees buzz. It’s paradise - at least for Adam, who is a freelance tailor and perfectly happy making dresses for the women in the local town. Evelyn, however, is less content with her job as a waitress. She is looking forward to their holiday, but just before they set off something happens that makes her decide to join her friend Simone and her West German boyfriend instead. Adam follows them to Hungary, hoping to patch up his relationship with Evelyn.
Andreas Goldstein’s laconic film, based on the novel by Ingo Schulze, tells this private story against the background of the wave of GDR citizens fleeing to the West via Hungary in the summer of 1989. On the radio East and West German news report the events, which the protagonists seem to catch up with as if by accident. With the possibility of escape suddenly so close, what will they do? Quietly and with much understatement, the film takes its protagonists to the point of a potentially dramatic decision and beyond it. Along the way it has us reflect on what it means to be free and who or what determines whether we can be self-fulfilled and happy.
 
Adam & Evelyn, Germany 2018, color, DCP, 100 mins. With English subtitles.
Directed by Andreas Goldstein, Screenplay: Andreas Goldstein, Jakobine Motz, based on the novel by Ingo Schulze, Camera & Editing: Jakobine Motz, Art Director: Verena Barros de Oliveira, Lisa Geller, Maria Nickol, Costumes: Teresa Grosser, Music: Lars Voges, Producer: Heino Deckert. With Florian Teichtmeister, Anne Kanis, Lena Lauzemis, Milian Zerzawy, Christin Alexandrow, Susanne Bredehöft, Markus Lerch, Bernhard Schütz, Zoltan Paul.

 
Andreas Goldstein will be our guest for a longer conversation following the screening of his film The Communist (Der Funktionär) on Tuesday 26 November 2019. More information here.

Book tickets through Eventbrite Presented as part of the Goethe-Kino

Back

Goethe-Kino Andreas Goldstein: Adam & Evelyn + Q&A

Katja (Lena Lauzemis) wird im Kofferraum von Adam (Florian Teichtmeister) über die ungarische Grenze geschmuggelt. In Begleitung einer Schildkröte flieht sie in den Westen. © Neue Visionen Filmverleih

Mi, 27.11.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Wir freuen uns, den Regisseur Andreas Goldstein für ein Q&A nach dem Film begrüßen zu dürfen. Am Vortag wird er nach seinem Film Der Funktionär für ein längeres Gespräch ebenfalls unser Gast sein.
 
Sommer irgendwo in Ostdeutschland. Im Garten von Adam und Evelyn blühen die Wiesenblumen, Vögel zwitschern, Bienen summen. Es ist ein Paradies - zumindest für Adam. Als frei arbeitender Schneider ist das Anfertigen von Kleidern für die Frauen am Ort alles was er braucht, um glücklich zu sein. Evelyn dagegen ist mit ihrer Arbeit als Kellnerin weniger zufrieden. Sie freut sich auf den gemeinsamen Urlaub. Doch ein Vorfall kurz bevor es los gehen soll veranlasst sie dazu, stattdessen ad hoc mit ihrer Kollegin und Freundin Simone und deren aus dem Westen stammenden Freund in die Ferien zu fahren. Adam folgt ihnen nach Ungarn in der Hoffnung, mit Evelyn alles wieder ins Reine zu bringen. 

Andreas Goldsteins lakonischer Film nach dem Roman von Ingo Schulze erzählt diese private Geschichte vor dem Hintergrund der Fluchtwelle von DDR-Bürgern in den Westen über Ungarn im Sommer 1989. Die ost- und westdeutschen Nachrichten im Radio berichten von den Ereignissen, die die Protagonisten des Films fast wie unbemerkt einholen. Was werden sie tun, nun da auf einmal die Möglichkeit der Flucht so nah gerückt ist? Leise und unaufgeregt begleitet der Film seine Protagonisten an den Punkt dieser potenziell dramatischen Entscheidung und darüber hinaus. Entlang des Weges bietet er uns die Gelegenheit darüber nachzudenken, was es heißt, frei zu sein und wer oder was bestimmt, ob wir uns selbst erfüllen und glücklich sein können.
 
Adam & Evelyn, Deutschland 2018, Farbe, DCP, 100 Min. Mit englischen Untertiteln.
Regie: Andreas Goldstein, Drehbuch: Andreas Goldstein, Jakobine Motz, nach dem Roman von Ingo Schulze, Kamera & Schnitt: Jakobine Motz, Szenenbild: Verena Barros de Oliveira, Lisa Geller, Maria Nickol, Kostüm: Teresa Grosser, Musik: Lars Voges, Produzent: Heino Deckert. Mit Florian Teichtmeister, Anne Kanis, Lena Lauzemis, Milian Zerzawy, Christin Alexandrow, Susanne Bredehöft, Markus Lerch, Bernhard Schütz, Zoltan Paul.

 
Alexander Goldstein wird am Dienstag, den 26. November 2019 für ein längeres Gespräch nach seinem Film Der Funktionär im Goethe-Institut zu Gast sein. Nähere Informationen finden Sie hier.


Tickets über Eventbrite buchen Presented as part of the Goethe-Kino

Zurück