Discussion Translating Brecht, a poet for our times

David & Tom plus book cover © David Constantine

Tue, 01.10.2019

Goethe-Institut London Library

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

To celebrate International Translation Day 2019 we are delighted to present a discussion of Brecht's poetry in translation. This event is part of an international project called Der gläserne Übersetzer (The Transparant Translator) initiated by the Weltlesebühne in cooperation with Goethe-Institutes worldwide.

Tonight's discussion features the award-winning translators and Brecht experts, David Constantine and Tom Kuhn who recently published 'The Collected Poem of Bertolt Brecht' which gave English-language readers access to many previously untranslated Brecht poems:

Translating Brecht – around 1200 of his poems – we knew him to be a poet as vitally important in our times as he was in his own. In any number of voices, moods and poetic forms he asks the critical question:  how do we live? And the further questions that come of it: how should we, how might we, live? We shall present both the problems and pleasures of translating him, some of the ways of going about it, something of what we learned. (David Constantine)


The Collected Poems of Bertolt Brecht © Liveright David Constantine was for thirty years a university teacher of German language and literature. He has published a dozen volumes of poetry; two novels; and five  collections of short stories. He is an editor and translator of Hölderlin, Goethe, Kleist and Brecht. For his stories he won the BBC National and the Frank O’ Connor International Awards (2010, 2013). With Helen Constantine he edited 'Modern Poetry in Translation', 2003-12. In 2018 Bloodaxe published his new and greatly enlarged 'Selected Poetry of Hölderlin' and Norton published 'The Collected Poems of  Bertolt Brecht' translated by Tom Kuhn and him.


Tom Kuhn teaches German language and literature at the University of Oxford, where he is a Fellow of St Hugh’s College. With David Constantine he is the editor and translator of 'The Collected Poems of Bertolt Brecht' (Norton 2018). He is also the series editor of the principal English-language edition of Brecht’s plays and other writings, with Bloomsbury Methuen Drama, and has numerous publications on Brecht and twentieth-century drama and exile literature.

 
  Book tickets through Eventbrite
 
 

Back

Diskussion Translating Brecht, a poet for our times

The Collected Poems of Bertolt Brecht Book Cover © Cover image of The Collected Poems of Bertot Brecht" published 2018 by Liveright Publishing

Di, 01.10.2019

Goethe-Institut London Bibliothek

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Anlässlich des Internationalen Übersetzertages 2019 freuen wir uns die beiden preisgekrönten Übersetzer und Brecht-Experten David Constantine und Tom Kuhn für eine Diskussionsrunde zu Gedicht-Übersetzungen im Hause zu haben.Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil eines internationalen Projekts namens Der gläserne Übersetzer, welches von der Weltlesebühne in Zusammenarbeit mit Goethe-Instituten weltweit.

Die Diskussion fokussiert sich auf das Lyrikband 'The Collected Poems of Bertolt Brecht', mit Übersetzungen von Constantine und Kuhn, die den englischsprachigen Lesern Zugang zu vielen, bisher nicht übersetzten Brecht-Gedichten, ermöglichen:

Als wir lyrische Werke von Brecht übersetzten, war uns eine Sache völlig klar: Brecht ist für die heutige Zeit ebenso relevant wie zu seiner Zeit. In unzähligen Stimmen und Stimmungen, sowie poetischen Formen stellt er die kritische Frage: wie leben wir? Und die weiteren Fragen, die sich daraus ergeben: wie sollten bzw. könnten wir leben? Wir werden sowohl die Probleme als auch die Freuden der Übersetzer-Arbeit an Brechts Werken erörtern, unsere Methoden und Lernerfahrungen. (David Constantine)

The Collected Poems of Bertolt Brecht © Liveright David Constantine war über 30 Jahre ein Dozent der deutschen Sprache und Literatur. Er veröffentlichte dutzende Bände von Gedichten sowie zwei Romane und fünf Sammlungen von Kurzgeschichten. Er ist Herausgeber und Übersetzer von Hölderlin, Goethe, Kleist und Brecht. Für seine Erzählungen gewann er den "BBC National" Award und den internationalen "Frank O’ Connor Award" (2010, 2013). Zusammen mit Helen Constantine gab er 2003-12 'Modern Poetry in Translation' heraus. Bloodaxe Verlag veröffentlichte 2018 seine neue erweiterte Ausgabe von Hölderlin-Gedichten und Norton Verlag eine Ausgabe von Brecht gesammelten Gedichten, die er zusammen mit Tom Kuhn übersetzt hat.
 
Tom Kuhn unterrichtet deutsche Sprache und Literatur an der Universität Oxford. Zusammen mit David Constantine ist er der Herausgeber und Übersetzer der gesammelten Gedichte von Bertolt Brecht (erschienen im Norton Verlag 2018). Außerdem ist er Herausgeber der englischen Ausgabe von Brechts Theaterstücken und anderen Werken in der Bloomsbury Methuen Drama Reihe. Zudem veröffentlichte er zahlreiche Publikationen über Brecht, das Drama im 20. Jahrhundert und Exil-Literatur.



Tickets über Eventbrite buchen


 
 
 
 

Zurück