Book Launch 'The Eighth Life' by Nino Haratischvili

The Eighth Life by Nino Haratischvili book cover © Scribe UK

Thu, 28.11.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Book Launch

To celebrate the launch of Nino Haratischvili's The Eighth Life in English translation, we are delighted to present a discussion with Nino Haratischvili, and the translators, Charlotte Collins and Ruth Martin. The evening is hosted by Rosie Goldsmith, director of the European Literature Network, and will begin with singing from Chela, the Cambridge Georgian Choir.

Nino Haratischvili is an award-winning novelist, playwright, and theatre director, originally from Georgia. Born in Tbilisi in 1983, Nino now lives in Germany and writes in German. Her new novel is The Eighth Life, hailed as ‘the book of the year’ in Germany and winner of numerous literary prizes.

Charlotte Collins was an actor and radio journalist in both Germany and the UK before becoming a literary translator. She was awarded the 2017 Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator’s Prize for her translation of A Whole Life by the Austrian author Robert Seethaler.

Ruth Martin’s recent translations include Volker Weidermann’s Dreamers, Michael Köhlmeier’s novels Two Gentlemen on the Beach and Yiza, short fiction by Joseph Roth and essays by Hannah Arendt. 




Book tickets through Eventbrite
You may also be interested in the screening of In Georgia (1987) by Jürgen Böttcher, a fascinating and stunningly beautiful travelogue by one of East Germany's most important documentary filmmakers, on Friday 8 November 2019. More information here.
 

Back

Buchvorstellung 'Das achte Leben' von Nino Haratischvili

The Eighth Life von Nino Haratischvili Buchcover © Scribe UK

Do, 28.11.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Buchvorstellung

Aus dem Anlass der Veröffentlichung des neuen Buches von Nino Haratischvili­ The Eighth Life („Das achte Leben“) in englischer Übersetzung laden wir zu einer Diskussion mit der Autorin und den Übersetzerinnen Charlotte Collins und Ruth Martin ein. Der Abend wird von Rosie Goldsmith, Direktorin des European Literature Network, moderiert,
und beginnt mit dem Gesang von Chela, dem Cambridge Georgian Choir.

 
Nino Haratischvili ist eine preisgekrönte Schriftstellerin, Dramatikerin und Theaterregisseurin. Die 1983 in Tiflis geborene Autorin lebt heute in Deutschland und schreibt in deutscher Sprache. Ihr neuster Roman ist „Das achte Leben“, der in Deutschland u.a. als das Buch des Jahres ausgezeichnet wurde.
 
Charlotte Collins war Schauspielerin und Radiojournalistin in Deutschland und Großbritannien, bevor sie Literaturübersetzerin wurde. Für ihre Übersetzung von „Ein ganzes Leben“ („A Whole Life“), vom österreichischen Autor Robert Seethaler, wurde sie 2017 mit dem Helen und Kurt Wolff Übersetzerpreis ausgezeichnet.
 
Ruth Martins neuste Übersetzungen umfassen Volker Weidermanns „Träumer“ („Dreamers“), Michael Köhlmeiers Romane „Zwei Herren am Strand“ („Two Gentlemen on the Beach“) und „Yiza“, Erzählungen von Joseph Roth und Essays von Hannah Arendt.




Tickets über Eventbrite buchen
Vielleicht interessiert Sie auch der Film in In Georgien (1987) von Jürgen Böttcher, ein faszinierendes und wunderschön fotografiertes filmisches Reisetagebuch eines der wichtigsten Dokumentaristen der DDR. Wir zeigen den Film am Freitag, 8. November 2019. Nähere Informationen finden Sie hier.


 

Zurück