Workshop and Film Screenings Looking and Being Looked at: A workshop on Jürgen Böttcher’s Early Films

Jürgen Böttcher: In the Pergamon Museum Jürgen Böttcher: In the Pergamon Museum © DEFA-Stiftung, Christian Lehmann

Sat, 26.10.2019

King's College

S.-1.04, Strand Building (first basement),
Strand
WC2R 2LS London

Jürgen Böttcher’s early works are extraordinarily diverse. In this afternoon workshop, Franziska Nössig and Martin Brady will screen and discuss three very different films from the 1960s. Barefoot and Without a Hat (Barfuß und ohne Hut, 1964) is an upbeat portrait of young people on the beach making music and thinking about their future. Seemingly innocuous, the film was not well-received by the censors, who felt its free-wheeling, faintly anarchic tone – at one point a car goes round and round in pointless, faintly absurd circles – was potentially subversive. In the Pergamon Museum (Im Pergamonmuseum, 1962) is an atmospheric, wordless study of looking, of sculptures in the famous Berlin museum looking at the visitors and vice-versa. Finally, Zoo Film (Tierparkfilm, 1967) is also about spectatorship – animals pace back and forth endlessly in their cages, birds fly free overhead, and the camera captures the visitors staring at the exhibits. All three films have remarkable musical accompaniment and we will discuss Gerhard Rosenfeld’s scores, the cinematography of Christian Lehmann, and the ambiguous iconography of these beautiful and potentially subversive studies of looking and being looked at and the boundaries between the public and the private.
 
Barefoot and Without a Hat (Barfuß und ohne Hut)
GDR 1964, b/w, DCP (35mm), 26 mins. With English subtitles.

 
Im Pergamon-Museum (In the Pergamon Museum)
GDR 1962, b/w, DVD (35mm), 19 mins. With English subtitles.

 
Zoo Film (Tierparkfilm)
GDR 1967 - 1968, b/w, DVD (35mm), 18 mins. Without dialogue.

 
Totally Running Time of the Films: 63 minutes
 
 
Martin Brady is Emeritus Reader in German and Film Studies at King’s College London. He has published on European film, music, literature, disability, architecture, and the visual arts. He translated Victor Klemperer’s LTI (The Language of the Third Reich) and works as a freelance interpreter and visual artist.
 
Franziska Nössig teaches in the German Department at King's College London, where she recently completed her PhD on Jürgen Böttcher. She has published on his experimental trilogy Transformations and has presented his films at the German Embassy London and the Weimar Art Society.

The workshop is staged in association with the German Screen Studies Network and King’s College London. 

Tickets * * Please note this link will lead to external booking website Eventbrite

Back

Workshop und Filme ‘Looking and Being Looked at’: Ein Workshop zu Jürgen Böttchers frühen Filmen

Jürgen Böttcher: Im Pergamonmuseum Jürgen Böttcher: Im Pergamonmuseum © DEFA-Stiftung, Christian Lehmann

Sa, 26.10.2019

King's College London

S.-1.04, Strand Building (first basement)
Strand
WC2R 2LS London

Jürgen Böttchers Frühwerke sind außerordentlich vielfältig. In diesem Workshop werden Franziska Nössig und Martin Brady drei sehr unterschiedliche Filme aus den 1960er Jahren zeigen und näher analysieren. Barfuß und ohne Hut (1964) ist ein heiteres Porträt junger Menschen am Strand, die musizieren und über ihre Zukunft nachdenken. Der völlig harmlos erscheinende Film stieß bei der Zensur auf Kritik. Der unbekümmerte, leicht anarchische Ton des Films - irgendwann fährt ein Auto scheinbar unmotiviert und sinnlos im Kreis – wurde als potentiell subversiv verstanden. Im Pergamonmuseum (1962) ist eine atmosphärische, wortlose Studie des Sehens, der Skulpturen und Besucher im berühmten Berliner Museum und ihres scheinbar gegenseitigen Betrachtens. Auch in Tierparkfilm (1967) geht es ums Zuschauen: Tiere laufen endlos in ihren Käfigen hin und her, Vögel fliegen frei über sie hinweg und die Kamera fängt die BesucherInnen ein, die auf die ‚Exponate‘ starren. Alle drei Filme haben einen außergewöhnlichen musikalischen Soundtrack. Der Workshop wird die Kompositionen von Gerhard Rosenfeld, die Kameraarbeit von Christian Lehmann sowie die mehrdeutige Ikonographie dieser schönen und möglicherweise subversiven Studien des Sehens und Gesehen-Werdens und die Grenzen zwischen Öffentlichkeit und Privatshäre diskutieren.
 
Barfuß und ohne Hut
DDR 1964, s/w, DCP (35mm), 26 Min.

 
Im Pergamonmuseum
DDR 1962, s/w, DVD (35mm), 19 Min.

 
Tierparkfilm
DDR 1967 - 1968, s/w, DVD (35mm), 18 Min.

 
Dauer der Filme: 63 Minuten
 
Martin Brady ist emeritierter Dozent für Germanistik und Filmwissenschaft am King's College London. Er hat zum europäischen Film, zu Musik, Literatur, Behinderung, Architektur und bildender Kunst publiziert. Er ist Übersetzter von Victor Klemperers LTI – Notizbuch eines Philologen.
 
Franziska Nössig unterrichtet im German Department am King’s College London, wo sie Anfang des Jahres über Jürgen Böttcher promovierte. Sie hat zu Böttchers Experimentalfilm-Trilogie Verwandlungen veröffentlicht und seine Filme u.a. bei der Deutschen Botschaft in London und der Weimarer Kunstgesellschaft vorgestellt.

Der Workshop wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit dem German Screen Studies Network und King’s College London organisiert.

Tickets * * Dieser Link führt zu der externen Webseite von Eventbrite

Zurück