Film Screenings Jürgen Böttcher - Short Film Programme One: Part 2

Jürgen Böttcher: Postcards / Transformations, Part 3, Woman at the Clavichord Jürgen Böttcher: Postcards / Transformations, Part 3, Woman at the Clavichord© DEFA-Stiftung Thomas Plenert

Sun, 27.10.2019

Close-Up Film Centre

97 Sclater Street
E1 6HR London

A programme focusing on the relationship between Jürgen Böttcher's films and his equally important work as a painter. Three variations of painted Transformations on film and a sensitive portrait of an older colleague, the contructivist artist Hermann Glöckner.

The screening will be introduced by Diana Mavroleon

 
Transformations - Trilogy (Postcards / Verwandlungen, 1 – 3).
 
In the early 1980s Jürgen Böttcher took a break from documentary film and embarked on what was to become the only feature-length experimental film ever to be made under the auspices of the official DEFA studios. A total anomaly in the output of the DEFA, it ignited a whole spectrum of experimentalism and underground filmmaking in the GDR. The film was shot in the privacy of Böttcher’s own very modest apartment, (he always refused to join the privileged professionals residing in the greener Berlin suburbs). Also visible in the film, the flat becomes a space of reflection and projection for a very personal, artistic self-investigation: Böttcher paints over art postcards with subjects from his favourite painters. Later animated and set to an edgy montage-soundtrack, the three films fuse the work of Böttcher, the filmmaker, and Böttcher/Strawalde, the painter, connecting it with the traditions of the film avant-garde (Stan Brakhage, Jan Švankmajer).
 
Postcards 1; Potter's Bull (Verwandlungen, Teil 1: Potters Stier)
GDR 1981, colour, DCP (35mm), 15 mins. Without dialogue.

 
Postcards II; Venus after Giorgione (Verwandlungen, Teil 2: Venus nach Giorgione)
GDR 1981, colour, DCP (35mm), 21 mins. Without dialogue.

 
Postcards III; Woman at the Clavichord (Verwandlungen, Teil 3: Frau am Klavichord)
GDR 1981, colour, DCP (35mm), 17 mins. Without dialogue.

 
(53 minutes)
 
 
A Brief Visit with Hermann Glöckner (Kurzer Besuch bei Hermann Glöckner)
 
Hermann Glöckner (1889 – 1987) was one of the outstanding loners of the fine arts community of the GDR. Never attempting to gain public recognition he pursued his ascetic-constructivist aesthetic vision without compromise over the course of decades. Filming the older, fragile, yet fully focused Glöckner working in his studio, Böttcher, clearly fascinated, is heard off-screen gently questioning the artist, and likely reflecting on his own works that for over two decades were forbidden to be publicly exhibited.
 
GDR 1984, b/w, DCP (35mm), 32 mins. With English subtitles.

 
Total Running Time: 85 minutes

Diana Mavroleon works with experimental and documentary film. She is a programme maker for Resonance Radio, a founder member of European Media Arts Network and a correspondent for S.E. Asia. She is currently researching a documentary feature on: ‘The impact of globalization on the hereditary musicians of the Thar Desert in Western Rajasthan’. Diana is also a qualified bio-dynamic gardener and landscape/garden designer.


 

Back

Filme Jürgen Böttcher - Kurzfilme Programm 1: Teil 2

Jürgen Böttcher: Verwandlungen, Teil 3: Frau am Klavichord Jürgen Böttcher: Verwandlungen, Teil 3: Frau am Klavichord © DEFA-Stiftung, Thomas Plenert

So, 27.10.2019

Close-Up Film Centre

97 Sclater Street
E1 6HR London

Ein Programm mit dem Fokus auf die Beziehungen zwischen Jürgen Böttchers Filmen und seiner ebenso wichtigen Arbeit als Maler. Drei Variationen gefilmter malerischer Verwandlungen und das einfühlsame Portrait eines älteren Kollegen, des konstruktivistischen Künstler Hermann Glöckner.

Mit einer Einführung von Diana Mavroleon.
 
 
Verwandlungen, 1 – 3
 
Anfang der 1980er Jahre pausierte Jürgen Böttcher vom Dokumentarfilm und produzierte den einzigen längeren Experimentalfilm, der jemals von der DEFA finanziert wurde und der ein ganzes Spektrum von Experimental- und Underground-FilmemacherInnen in der DDR inspirierte. Der Film entstand in Böttchers bescheidener Wohnung (er hat sich immer geweigert, anderen privilegierten Kollegen in die grünen Vororte Berlins zu folgen). Die Wohnung wird zum Reflexions- und Projektionsraum für eine sehr persönliche, künstlerische Selbstbefragung: Böttcher übermalt Kunstpostkarten mit Motiven seiner Lieblingsmaler und animiert sie später zu einem nervösen Montage-Soundtrack. In der Arbeit an den drei Filmen treffen sich der Filmemacher Böttcher und der Maler Strawalde / Böttcher und knüpfen an die Traditionen der Filmavantgarde (Stan Brakhage, Jan Švankmajer) an.
 
Verwandlungen, Teil 1: Potters Stier
DDR 1981, Farbe, DCP (35mm), 15 Min. Ohne Dialog.

 
Verwandlungen, Teil 2: Venus nach Giorgione
DDR 1981, Farbe, DCP (35mm), 21 Min. Ohne Dialog.

 
Verwandlungen, Teil 3: Frau am Klavichord
DDR 1981, Farbe, DCP (35mm), 17 Min. Ohne Dialog.

 
(53 Minuten)
 
 
Kurzer Besuch bei Hermann Glöckner
 
Hermann Glöckner (1889 - 1987) war einer der herausragenden Einzelgänger in der Kunstszene der DDR, der seine asketisch-konstruktivistische Vision konsequent über Jahrzehnte hinweg verfolgte, ohne öffentliche Anerkennung zu suchen. Böttcher filmt den greisen und fragilen, jedoch voll konzentrierten Glöckner in seinem Atelier bei der Arbeit. Man hört, wie der offensichtlich faszinierte Regisseur den älteren Künstlerkollegen aus dem Off sanft befragt, wohl mit seinen eigenen Arbeiten im Hinterkopf, die er über zwei Jahrzehnte nicht öffentlich ausstellend durfte.
 
DDR 1984, s/w, DCP (35mm), 32 Min. Mit englischen Untertiteln.
 
Dauer: 85 Minuten

Diana Mavroleon arbeitet mit Experimental- und Dokumentarfilm. Sie macht Programme für Resonance Radio, ist Gründungsmitglied des European Media Arts Network und ist Korrespondentin für S.E. Asia. Zurzeit recherchiert sie für einen Dokumentarfilm über ‘den Einfluss der Globalisierung auf die traditionellen Musiker in der Thar Wüste im Western Rajasthan’. Daneben ist sie auch als qualifizierte biodynamische Gärtnerin und Landschafts-/Gartendesignerin tätig. 


 

Zurück