The Wall

The Wall © DEFA-Stiftung Thomas Plenert

Thu, 21.11.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Böttcher’s personal response to the Fall of the Berlin Wall. Impressions, voices and sounds gathered along the crumbling border between East and West in different Berlin locations give room for a reflection on how we deal with history.

The screening will be introduced by Diana Mavroleon.

 
The last film in our Jürgen Böttcher series is also the last film the director made in the GDR and in the context of the DEFA. It marks the dissolution of a country, whose ideology and rules had interfered with Böttcher’s life and art for decades, whose suffocating restrictions he had resented more and more. Yet, the film seems more like a reflection than a reckoning. Böttcher and his team filmed in 1989 and 1990 at historically significant locations in Berlin such as Potsdamer Platz, the Brandenburg Gate, the Reichstag and unused underground stations. Adopting his typical approach of observing and engaging in short spontaneous exchanges with people he meets along the way, such as enthusiastic foreign students or a couple of small children trying to sell off pieces of the wall, Böttcher captures an ambivalent image of the crumbling “anti-fascist protection wall”. To this he adds another layer by projecting archive film footage from Germany’s history on pieces of the Wall. In flickering images we see Emperor Wilhelm ride through the Brandenburg Gate, Nazis march with their torches, the Wall being built, a policeman fleeing to the West. Böttcher withholds all spoken commentary, allowing us to listen to voices and the noises of machines and small hammers trying to hack away at the past. 

The Wall (Die Mauer), GDR 1990, colour & b/w, 35mm, 99 mins. With English subtitles.
Directed by Jürgen Böttcher.


Diana Mavroleon works with experimental and documentary film; a programme maker for Resonance Radio, a founder member of European Media Arts Network and a correspondent for S.E. Asia. She is currently researching a documentary feature on: ‘The impact of globalization on the hereditary musicians of the Thar Desert in Western Rajasthan’. Diana is also a qualified bio-dynamic gardener and landscape/garden designer.
Book tickets through Eventbrite

 

Back

Die Mauer

Die Mauer © DEFA-Stiftung Thomas Plenert

Do, 21.11.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Böttchers persönliche Reaktion auf den Mauerfall. Eindrücke, Stimmen und Geräusche – eingefangen an verschiedenen Orten in Berlin entlang der bröckelnden Grenze zwischen Ost und West – geben Raum für eine Reflexion über unseren Umgang mit Geschichte.

Mit einer Einführung von Diana Mavroleon

 
Der letzte Film in unserer Jürgen-Böttcher-Reihe ist auch der letzte Film, den der Regisseur in der DDR und im Kontext der DEFA gedreht hat. Er markiert die Auflösung des Landes, dessen offizielle Ideologie und Vorschriften jahrzehntelang Böttchers Leben und Kunst eingeschränkt hatten und dessen Unterdrückung er immer weniger hatte ertragen können. Der Film scheint jedoch eher eine Reflexion als eine Abrechnung zu sein, bietet er doch ein ambivalentes Bild der Vorgänge entlang des zerbröckelnden „antifaschistischen Schutzwalls“. Böttcher und sein Team drehten 1989 und 1990 an historisch bedeutenden Orten in Berlin wie dem Potsdamer Platz, dem Brandenburger Tor, dem Reichstag und in still-gelegen U-Bahnstationen. Seinem typischen Ansatz folgend beobachtet Böttcher das Geschehen an der Mauer, stellt den Leuten, die er trifft, spontan Fragen, wie z.B ein paar enthusiastischen ausländischen Studenten oder Kindern, die versuchen, Stücke der Mauer zu verkaufen.“. Diesen Aufnahmen fügt er eine weitere Ebene hinzu, indem er historische Filmaufnahmen mit Szenen aus der deutschen Geschichte auf noch stehende Mauerteile projiziert. In den flackernden Bildern erkennen wir, wie Kaiser Wilhelm durch das Brandenburger Tor reitet, Nazis mit ihren Fackeln marschieren, die Mauer gebaut wird, ein Polizist in den Westen flüchtet. Böttcher enthält sich allen gesprochenen Kommentars, lässt uns Stimmen und Geräusche hören, vor allem die von Maschinen und von kleinen Hämmern, die langsam, aber stetig versuchen, die Vergangenheit wegzuhacken.
 
Die Mauer, DDR 1990, Farbe & s/w, 35mm, 99 Min. Mit englischen Untertiteln.
Regie: Jürgen Böttcher.


Diana Mavroleon arbeitet mit Experimental- und Dokumentarfilm. Sie macht Programme für Resonance Radio, ist Gründungsmitglied des European Media Arts Network und ist Korrespondentin für S.E. Asia. Zurzeit recherchiert sie für einen Dokumentarfilm über ‘den Einfluss der Globalisierung auf die traditionellen Musiker in der Thar Wüste im Western Rajasthan’. Daneben ist sie auch als qualifizierte biodynamische Gärtnerin und Landschafts-/Gartendesignerin tätig.
Tickets über Eventbrite buchen
 

Zurück