Film Screening Evelyn Schmidt: The Bicycle

The Bicycle © DEFA-Stiftung Dietram Kleist

Tue, 12.11.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

A sympathetic portrait of a single mother and unskilled worker who rejects her dehumanising work and commits insurance fraud to survive, Evelyn Schmidt's film shows a keen eye for milieu and that the class divisions also existed in East Germany's socialist society. The film was never released in the GDR as it did not correspond with the GDR officials’ idea of the worker and responsible motherhood.

With an introduction by Helen Hughes, University of Surrey.

Susanne is a single mother. As an unskilled labourer, she is on the lower end of the professional and social hierarchy, even in theoretically egalitarian East Germany. Her friends and acquaintances are all from the margins of society. She finds her job as a punch press operator burdensome and quits. As her money starts to dwindle, she sees a way out. Urged on by a friend, she reports her bicycle stolen and collects the insurance. But just as she seems to be doing better and enjoying a relationship with ambitious engineer Thomas, her fraud is discovered and she is threatened with prosecution … Evelyn Schmidt portrays her protagonist’s emotional crisis with empathy and understanding. With a keen eye for the milieu, her film exposes the class divide in East German society, which reaches all the way down to romantic relationships. A story of emancipation, the narrative ellipses and concise storytelling make it feel very modern, even today. Dismissed by critics and the studio heads as “confusing” and “flawed”, The Bicycle offers up a realistic depiction of East Germany – its hardened social mores as well as its alternative breathing spaces – without idealising them. (Berlinale)

GDR 1982, colour, DCP, digitally restored version 2018, (35mm), 90 mins. With English subtitles.
Directed by Evelyn Schmidt, Script: Evelyn Schmidt, based on a scenario by Ernst Wenig, Director of Photography: Roland Dressel, Editor: Sabine Schmager, Music: Peter Rabenalt, Sound: Gerhard Baumgarten, Brigitte Pradel, Production Design: Marlene Willmann, Costumes: Ursula Strumpf. With With Heidemarie Schneider, Roman Kaminski, Anke Friedrich, Gertrud Brendler, Birgit Edenharter, Heidrun Bartholomäus, Gisela Bestehorn, Johanna Clas, Detlef Plath, Andrej Hoffmann
.


Helen Hughes teaches film studies at the University of Surrey. She has published a number of journal articles and chapters on German-language cinema as well as the book Green Documentary. She is currently finishing a book with the title Radioactive Documentary: Filming the nuclear environment after the Cold War.

Book tickets through Eventbrite
 

Back

Film Evelyn Schmidt: Das Fahrrad

Das Fahrrad © DEFA-Stiftung Dietram Kleist

Di, 12.11.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Evelyn Schmidts einfühlsames Portrait einer alleinerziehenden Mutter und ungelernten Arbeiterin, die ihre entmenschlichende Arbeit ablehnt und Versicherungsbetrug begeht, um zu überleben. Der Film zeigt viel Gespür für das soziale Umfeld der Protagonistin und verdeutlicht, dass es auch im Sozialksmus Klassenunterschiede gab. Der Film kam in der DDR nie in die Kinos, entsprach er doch nicht der offiziellen Vorstellung von einer Arbeiterin und verantwortungsvollen Mutter.

Mit einer Einführung von Helen Hughes, University of Surry.

Susanne ist alleinerziehende Mutter. Als ungelernte Arbeiterin steht sie auch in der DDR am unteren Ende der beruflichen und sozialen Hierarchie. Freundinnen und Bekanntschaften sucht sie unter Außenseitern. Nachdem sie eine als bedrückend empfundene Arbeitsstelle als Stanzerin gekündigt hat, wird ihr Geld immer knapper. Von einer Freundin ermuntert, meldet sie ihr Fahrrad als gestohlen und kassiert die Versicherungssumme. Gerade als sie sich zu fangen scheint und in einer Beziehung mit dem strebsamen Ingenieur Thomas glücklich zu werden hofft, fliegt der Betrug auf. Susanne droht ein Strafverfahren … Mit Empathie und Verständnis beschreibt Evelyn Schmidt die emotionalen Krisen ihrer Protagonistin. Sozial stimmig enthüllte ihr Film die Kluft zwischen den Klassen in der DDR-Gesellschaft, die bis in die Liebesbeziehungen reicht. Mit ihren elliptischen Auslassungen und der lakonischen Erzählweise wirkt die Emanzipationsgeschichte noch heute modern. Von Kritikern und der Studioleitung als „verwirrend“ und „misslungen“ eingestuft, zeichnete Das Fahrrad ein realistisches Bild der DDR – ihrer sozialen Verkrustungen wie ihrer alternativen Freiräume, ohne diese zu idealisieren. (Berlinale)

DDR 1982, Farbe, DCP, digital restaurierte Version 2018, (35mm), 90 Min. Mit englischen Untertiteln.
Regie: Evelyn Schmidt, Buch: Evelyn Schmidt, nach einem Szenarium von Ernst Wenig, Kamera: Roland Dressel, Schnitt: Sabine Schmager, Musik: Peter Rabenalt, Sound: Gerhard Baumgarten, Brigitte Pradel, Szenenbild: Marlene Willmann, Kostüm: Ursula Strumpf. Mit Heidemarie Schneider, Roman Kaminski, Anke Friedrich, Gertrud Brendler, Birgit Edenharter, Heidrun Bartholomäus, Gisela Bestehorn, Johanna Clas, Detlef Plath, Andrej Hoffmann.



Helen Hughes unterrichtet Filmwissenschaften an der University of Surrey. Sie ist Autorin mehrerer Zeitschriftenartikel und Buchkapitel zum deutschsprachigen Film sowie des Buchs Green Documentary. Zur Zeit beendet sie ein Buch mit dem Titel Radioactive Documentary: Filming the nuclear environment after the Cold War.
Tickets über Eventbrite buchen
 

Zurück